We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Maven Gypsy was wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages to your Saves list
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
41682 Cabot Trail, Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% OFF 3RD NIGHT!
Ranked #1 of 1 Wreck Cove B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Maven Gypsy was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband picked the Mayven Gypsy from an internet search. I had my reservations but once we arrived at the cabins I was delighted! The cabin was a rustic retreat located in the woods but wihtin walking distance to the coastline. It was quiet and secluded and I found myself never wanting to leave. The owners were wonderful and the breakfasts were superb!!!
We missed seeing a moose one morning but only because we strolled down to watch the tide come in as the sun was coming up!!! What a view and what a wonderful experience.
We loved their dog too and it allowed me to get my "dog fix' since I missed my own dog.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay in one of the Maven Gypsy cottages. The cottage was adorable and perfectly clean and Christine and Devin couldn't have been better hosts. They were beyond sweet, made amazing food and were really helpful and full of advice when we told them that our sister and brother-in-law are interested in opening a B&B in the area. Such lovely people!

Definitely stay at The Maven Gypsy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We arrived at the Maven Gypsy late one night and were instantly impressed with the accommodations. We had a cottage around the back which was well appointed and set up with everything we needed for the night. The food was amazing and Christine and Devin were probably two of the nicest people we met during our entire trip through NS, PEI and NB. I would recommend the Gypsy with 100% enthusiasm for anybody traveling through the Cape! Next time, we'll be using this as our base of operations and spend a few days there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, ON
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at Christine and Devin's Maven Gypsy after completing the Cabot Trail. The house is an older house with lots of character. Our room was big and the bed comfy. We did not have an ensuite, but we had the bathroom all to ourselves. There was lots of hot water and fluffy towels.
The view from our bedroom window was incredible, looking for miles out to sea. It was a nice walk across the field to the beach, we watched a beautiful sunset. It's a compliment to say we were deafened by the silence - so peaceful.
Christine served us coffee and cake in the evening and we had a delicious and plentiful breakfast the next morning, delicious tasting fresh eggs from their own hens. Devin is a very good cook and Christine is a very gregarious and welcoming hostess.
They have cottages to rent also, they will bring your breakfast to you, and they looked very comfortable. We would definitely recommend the Maven Gypsy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

On our tour of Cape Breton Island, my Dad and I enjoyed a memorable stay at the Maven Gypsy. We felt immediately welcomed by our friendly and hospitable host and hostess, who showed us to a very clean and tastefully decorated room. All grounds were well kept, and all facilities were impeccably clean. In the evening we enjoyed some time and a scenic, pebbly beach just a three minute walk away. The next morning, our breakfast was a choice of among three possible home-made meals (they all sounded delicious, and I had some difficulty picking one). In the end I enjoyed the "Granola Head" option - a healthy meal of fresh fruit and yogurt, granola, and super home-baked goods. My Dad's "Lumberjack" breakfast looked equally appetizing! For all this we paid an extremely reasonable fee; we found it to be among the best deals for B&B's around. I would have no hesitation in recommending this business to travelers of all ages.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We spent a week at the Maven Gypsy and really enjoyed it! It is a short walk from a very quiet romantic rocky beach, about 20 minutes from the Cape Breton National Park and Ingonish, and right on the Cabot trail. The cabin that we stayed in was small, but for the price we paid it was really great value. The best asset though are the owners, who were genuinely loving their job! They could not do more to make our stay perfect. If we ever go back to NS, this is definitely where we will stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Christine and Devin take a lot of pride in their gem, The Maven Gypsy. They make you feel so welcome. Devin's home made meals were terrific and we wish we could have experienced another day just to be able to eat more! The cottages are quiet and cozy. If we drive the Cabot Trail for a 4th time, we would call Christine and Devin again. Their level of service in hosting is rare but was sincerely appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Address: 41682 Cabot Trail, Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Wreck Cove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wreck Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maven Gypsy B&B and Cottages (formerly Goodwill House) is situated in one of the most scenic areas in Canada. You will be surrounded by untouched, unspoiled wilderness with the ocean just a 5 min walk away. There are four quaint guestrooms in the main house and four detached, self catering cottages with mountain views. Your hosts, Cody and Shain are lifelong hospitality professionals who have traveled and worked all over the world and look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.