We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scenery but not luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maguga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piggs Peak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maguga Lodge
Save
You added Maguga Lodge to your Saves list
Maguga Dam | Eveni, Piggs Peak, Swaziland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Lovely scenery but not luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent one night at this place after booking a luxury rondavel.
The location is lovely and the reception area and veranday is lovely. however, there is an expectation that luxury means that. the rondavel was basic but comfortable, it wasn'rt spotless clean as there were bit under chairs that werw dusty.
There was a lovely walk in shower and it was nice to have a tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries.
It was also good to have free WiFi. the satellite channels were good once you got the right remote contol. we were given the wrong one and fiddled for an hour until the maintenabce guy came and told us that it was the wrong remote.
The evening meal was really tasty and good portion.
The breakfast was just okay.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Would we stay here gain. Probably not. the choice is limited in this area and I think it was expensive as it really wasn't "luXury" as stated.
It would have been nice to have a hairdrier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cullinan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautifully situated overlooking the Maguga Dam. I found the rooms spacious and clean. Breakfast was great with a wonderful view. Staff was helpful and friendly. I will definitely book groups at Maguga Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbston, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The lodge is aimed at the high end market ie not us camping. Campers were relegated to the edge of the highway and used the conference facility bathrooms (which were, however, clean and nice). The restaurant has a great view but the buffet breakfast had very little in it, and most of it was cold. The staff were all very pleasant to deal with. The location is scenic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

So disappointing!! The location is great but our rooms #4 & #5 were very small & awful. The electrics were just plain dangerous. There was rubbish & used guest amenities left from the guests before us. The bed (& linen) was old and terribly uncomfortable. Maybe there are better rooms to be had as we've had many friends staying and raving?? The bathrooms were fine but there was only 1 towel in both rooms, an easy & forgivable mistake, but when we asked for the now very wet towel, as we both had to use it, to be replaced with 2 new dry towels they only bought 1?? The staff are friendly and the food is alright but nothing great. My advise is check which rooms you are getting - not #4 & #5!

Room Tip: My advise is check which rooms you are getting - not #4 & #5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

There are nice views overlooking the dam from the rooms and restaurant, but the rooms we had were small, with many flaws. At R840.00 per night I expect to have better coffee than Ricoffee and Cremora. Kettle had no extension cord so had to be moved onto the bedside table to plug in. Bedside lamp had no switch so one had to scrabble arround behind a table to switch it on/off. Far worse was the bare wires joining the plug to the TV power cable. No insulation and I got a minor shock when I touched the wire opening the dressing table drawer. On top of that there was no Satellite TV as advertised.Only one towel supplied for a double room. Food from the restaurant was not exceptional and a little dull. Not much choice for a vegetarian. Desserts were rather disappointing. No banana in the Avalanche (out of stock?) and not much else. Waiter was polite and attentive but could only appolgise. What a pity as this lodge has enormous potential.

Room Tip: We have now had a good look and on the web page they only talk about "luxury chalets" so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overlooking the Maguga Dam, the Maguga Lodge is a lovely gem nestled in the hills of the Piggs Peak region. The lodge comprises around 40 suites, housed in separate, thatched rondavals dotted over the property. There's a pool, a separate pool bar area and a separate meeting space. The main building houses reception and a round-roomed restaurant with outdoor deck. I was at a conference, so the food was buffet style. Good, but not exceptional. Perhaps ordering off the menu would be more exciting. Loved the view of the dam, the fresh air and the beautiful landscape!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a week at Maguga dam lodge. The lodge chalets were pretty basic and could be improved by having fridges etc. I suppose the point is to ensure that you eat the restuarant which serves very good food and the staff are very good. I was impressed by the honesty of the staff-two hours after we left the lodge I was called by the receptions to inform me that the cleaners had picked up a cellphone, it turned out to be my daughters. While we could not go back to get the phone, I appreciate the honesty. All in all our stay was peaceful,relaxed and rejuvenating which was the whole point of going to a lodge with limited attractions.

Except for the swimming pool the lodge has limited facilities for children

Room Tip: Rooms that have a direct view of the dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maguga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maguga Lodge

Address: Maguga Dam | Eveni, Piggs Peak, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Piggs Peak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Piggs Peak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maguga Lodge sits in the heart of the Hhohho Region in Swaziland on the edge of the spectacular Maguga Dam. With stunning accommodation, breathtaking views and warm welcoming staff, Maguga is the perfect place for a time out to experience Swaziland's Highveld Magic!At Maguga Lodge we offer excellent facilities as well as delightful on-site activities. Renowned for the fabulous fishing and breathtaking mountains, the area has much to offer for exploration. The famous and fascinating Ngwenya Glass, Nsangwini Bushman Paintings, Tintsaba Craft and Pigg’s Peak Casino are all within close proximity. Superb 4x4 trails for off road bikes and vehicles. Local providers can supply adrenaline junkies with an assortment of thrills from caving and whitewater rafting to quad biking and horse riding!Our beautiful conference and entertainment facilities (with WIFI of course) are perfect for either business or personal entertaining.Just a short drive from Kruger Park, Mpumalanga and Mozambique, Maguga Lodge is an ideal stop on an itinerary for those wishing to explore the region. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maguga Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.