We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad place. Wouldn't recommend.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of WesternBay Boqueron Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added WesternBay Boqueron Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WesternBay Boqueron Beach Hotel
Carr. 101 Entrada Balneario de Boqueron Cabo Rojo, Boqueron 00622, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Boqueron
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad place. Wouldn't recommend.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived around 2pm on a
Friday, I did the check in and noticed that the rooms (3) I was given were not the balcony rooms I chose. They were inside rooms no exterior view or windows. Once inside, they were stuffy, dirty and stinky. I went to the front desk to complain and the employee in a very rude and uncaring way told me the rooms with balcony were an extra charge. This was not explained to me when reservations were made. Although the hotel was empty, they weren't accommodating. They just expected us to pay $35 more per night per room for something I originally asked for when I reserved. I decided to limit my stay to one night and go elsewhere for the rest of my stay. I definitely would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    11
    12
    24
See reviews for
16
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Bad first impression as soon as arrived, needed maintenance in facade and lobby. Worm out furniture and acoustic ceilings with spiderwebs. Rooms dark and musty, not as advertised. When we found had no windows to the exterior or balcony as we had reserved, clerk offered no alternatives though hotel but almost empty. We stayed only one night and left next day to another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boqueron hotels

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The customer service is terrible! The conditions of the rooms are very poor. The person who performed our check in, do not has owner of "customer care". The A/C conditions are terrible (fungus, dust and missing parts). I do not recomend to anyone to stay in this place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I consider its had issues in the past. I got better service at the front desk, rooms were clean and price for location was very good. Being in the caribbean you have to enjoy the night life and its culture. I recommend this hotel due to its location near the beach and night life within walking distance. If you want peace and quiet then find a cabana in the mountains somewhere. Overall i will be back soon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my family, Rented 3 rooms.

There's huge cracks under the door so any bug or small animal can fit through.
We woke up one morning and my cousins suitecase was ANT infested, ( had to throw out all of her clothes). We lifted her mattress and there was a TRIBE of ants marching around under the mattress.

We complained and the front desk told us they couldn't do anything, that the hot weather attracts the bugs. STUPIDITY.

Dashed out of there and never looked back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I arrived at 11:30 after checking out of my prior hotel and asked if I can have an early check-in or if I can at least leave my luggage in storage until 3pm and was told no, after asking to speak to a manager I was told that for an extra $30.00 I could be checked in to my room early. I also asked about how much it would cost to extend my stay for Monday and Tuesday night and was told teh rate would be $87.20 each night which I agreed to; on Monday evening I was informed that I was due to check out on Tuesday morning and when I explained what I was told that the rate was $168.00 a night because it was HIGH SEASON. i found this very interesting because there were just 4 guests in the entire hotel and when we got back after having dinner all the hotel's lobby lights had been turned off.

On Tuesday morning I spoke to the manager who spoke to the accountant and after I pleaded my case I received a refund of $81.75 because the staff person that checked me in had made a mistake.

The hotel's location is great for a weekend stay, but through out the week the entire town is a ghost town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My friend and I were in town for Boqueron gay pride and of course finding a hotel was very difficult. We found this hotel at 168$ per night and even though it was very expensive, there were really not many other options.

They have a nice sized pool, restaurant, and offer continental breakfast and complimentary wi-fi. Unfortunately the wi-fi did not work in our room but surely it works for others. We had the breakfast in the morning and it was alright, very sparse...definitely did not fill me up. The cook did actually make an effort to cook my friend over easy eggs at his request and not the regular scramble, that was nice of him.

The front desk was nice and fairly helpful. One of the women offered up some suggestions for dinner one evening but all the places she mentioned ended up being closed so we just ended up back at the hotel. The restaurant is alright, the nacho's were 'eh, not enough cheese or toppings to cover all the nachos. When my burger came out it tasted alright but nothing crazy and my friend ordered the chicken fajita and it just came out with chicken, cheese, and guacamole...no peppers, onions, or other condiments.

The room was of good size and also had a small balcony which was nice if we needed to go out on. The beds were comfortable as well as the pillows. Everything appeared to be in working order except for one of the lights in the bathroom. Overall, a typical motel set-up and style. On other days I could not see them reasoning rates higher than 89$ per night.

Room Tip: A place to rest your head, no frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boqueron
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#4 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
5.5 mi away
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
Pool, Independe...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Cofresi Beach Hotel
Cofresi Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
8.6 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WesternBay Boqueron Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WesternBay Boqueron Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. 101 Entrada Balneario de Boqueron Cabo Rojo, Boqueron 00622, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Boqueron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Boqueron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance to Boqueron Beach, Walking Distance to El Poblado in Boqueron. 80 full air conditioners room, cable tv, phone, wi-fi, restaurante, free parking, pool, bohio bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your WesternBay Boqueron Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WesternBay Boqueron Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.