We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velero Beach Hotel

Velero Beach Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boqueron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Velero Beach Hotel
Carr 307 Km 9.3, Boqueron 00622, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Boqueron
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When I told my daughter we might stay at a different hotel in Caberet, she protested, "But will Scooby," the hotel's mascot wheaten terrier, be there? "

"No if you want to stay with Scooby, he is at Velero." I replied.

So, even though we could not get the room we wanted, we are returning guests.
Indeed my daughter was greeted by name by the manager Diane and the porter Bo. I think even Scooby (the terrier) remembered us.

Some improvements this year include better wireless internet, and an expanded thatched cafe terrace. This cafe has to be one of the nicest places to have morning coffee on the planet.

Excellent staff make the difference at this geographically desirable hotel, located on the point in Caberete Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carolina, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I pay $125 dollars a night, with NO Hot Water, No T.V. nad when i made the Reservation, the Lady said that she has a Security Guy on the Parking of the Hotel. There was no Guard, no lights at the Parking at night and Mu car got a Scratch i guess from another car. At least this would be avoid if they would have a camera, or had some one to watch the cars. The lady steel want to charge the second night, that we did'nt stay. Not recomende at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boqueron hotels

Luquillo,PRI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

it's a nice place to stay in the hearth of Boqueron, it's clean and comfy , has a great view and the price is economical 141.00 from friday to sunday, even if you have to go out for a drink or food there are a pizza parlor and a mexican restaurant nearby, the hotel has a restaurant and an sportsbar on the lobby, it could help a little a common area lounge with microwave and a fridge, it has no tv's or phones but everyone has cellphones this days. I went with my husband and my kids and they loved it!

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — no late services
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

After having travelled the Eastern side of the Island, we arrived at the Velero Beach Hotel in Boqueron, PR. We found it to be an oasis. While the place is in the middle of renovations the rooms are still quite comfortable. The room and bathroom are large and the balcony adds a touch of luxury for a very affordable price. It is located on the main road near both the beach and the quaint town center. Most of all the owner and his parents treated us like family and we hope to return again someday.

As for the town of Boqueron we discovered that it is mainly a local vacation spot. It's quiet during the week but comes alive during the weekends which is when the Velero Beach Restaurant is open. If you're looking for spring break Cancun this is not the place. Great place for a quiet restful vacation.

  • Liked — Balcony (and Manny)
  • Disliked — That you have to call for the reservation.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

Velero Beach is an Oasis that is simply the best for so many reasons, while staying in Cabarete. I actually used this site as a review tool while researching where to plan or destination wedding.

First, the resort, the location could not get any better, it is up the beach from the bars and restaurants that means no loud noises at night (not that it is that bad to start with)... You have a complete view of the crescent shaped Cabarete bay The grounds are kept spotless during the day, its there is a leaf on the ground you can bet in an hour you will not see it again. That is a reflection of the attention to detail the resort maintains. There are plenty of pictures, so I will not describe it too much, but the rooms are quite nice. They have air cond. and of course windows. It is somewhat of a humid environment so the balance can be tough to achieve. (we have always stayed in the Deluxe Jr suite.) though our guests stayed in a number of different style rooms, and everyone loved what they had. (we had 30+ people at our wedding and they all stayed at Velero). Just about all of the rooms have some sort of great view, the second and third floors all have complete ocean views, but of course you have to go up and down stairs. (that is the price you pay I guess. :) So all in all the grounds and facility are very well maintained. Most of the units are privately owned and rented to us (visitors) so there is also something to be said for people buying in this resort. The resort has probably one of the most reasonable restaurants in the area. The breakfasts are pretty good. But the lunch and inner menu (recently expanded menu selections) are great. A few people from our wedding party mostly ate at the resort. Even though there is a plethora of great restaurants down the beach.

Secondly, the staff is terrific. (if you have never been to the Dominican Republic, you have to understand the locals (of all nationalities are very friendly), but also very laid back. But with that being said, if you have something you need taken care of, the Velero staff will do there very best to help you out. All you have to do is ask. They are very security conscious. The cleaning staff and anyone else allowed in your room, has to be escorted, that way they work in pairs, if you are at all worried about your personal property. On top of that, they do have safes in the room, which you set your own code for. After a few stays we were not, all that concerned with locking everything down. Velero also has 24-hour security on the grounds. The beach is accessed by one set of stairs; the property is elevated from the beach by an 8-10 foot wall, which makes the views even more spectacular. Finally, we have to add that Mario M. the resort manager was wonderful in helping us both visit the resort and helped plan our wedding on the grounds of the resort. It could not have been more perfect. For example, the morning of the wedding Mario, concocted a great scheme in which, my bride, was shielded from the crowd by umbrellas held by the staff and she was unveiled about mid way before she got to the “isle”. He is creative friendly and generally a great guy to know and call a friend.

We absolutely recommend Velero for a group wedding. All of our guests were very pleased with the location and the entire arrangement. I have to say, as most people probably are, we were a little worried about how everything would work out. What wedding couple doesn’t worry about such things? But everything came together and went off with only one minor hitch, our translator mispronounced our names during the ceremony, through no fault of his own, he speaks Spanish so his pronunciation was a little off. But we loved it, my brides last name Braunwarth was pronounced brown and my last name Cochrane, was Coltrane, so we are now a blues/Jazz family. We don’t sweat the small stuff though so it wasn’t a big deal to us. (couples need to determine how they want the ceremony to run. The judge was really nice and quite funny, but he does his thing and then it’s up to you to figure out, i.e. exchanging of the rings and anything else you want in the ceremony. We had a best friend’s fiancée mc the ceremony and had the mothers read poems and from scripture, meanwhile the best girl described the sand ceremony we did. Be fore warned that things will take longer than you plan, again go with the flow and you will just fine. Remember everything runs on island time through and through.

With the help of Mario and the in-house chef, they prepared just and outstanding menu of “Dominican Samplers”, were foodies, and we didn’t even get to the second flambé dessert, which was fine, we were all happily stuffed. The cake was HUGE! Bigger than we wanted but it turned out for the better cause everyone in the resort got some cake. It looked just like the picture we sent to them. However, we were more about creating smaller desserts rather than serving cake, which we ended up doing anyways after the first dessert. The jazz band Mario arranged for us got acclaimed reviews not only from us, but also from people walking down the beach the next day, and the Vela windsurfing staff who were also listening to it. As for the decorations were gave Mario input as to what we thought we would like and they turned our general ideas into magic!

We also got to know some owners at the resort who helped us immensely with getting to know people, and giving us invaluable insight in making the two weeks we there, just indescribable. See “An undiscovered gem!” review.

We have also reviewed some other locations through Cabarete in trip advisor.

Finally, each and every one of our guests expects us to renew or vows next year, so we can all go back.

Mucho Gracias to Velero and the Staff with everything.
See you soon
Scott & Mandy Cochrane

  • Liked — Price, accomodation, staff, wedding friendly, great place to decompress
  • Disliked — that its far away!
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

The hotel's website really leads you to believe this hotel is in a nice area, but boy was that deceiving. We pulled up and thought we may have the wrong place, so we took a moment to look at our map. The lady on the front porch gave us dirty looks the entire time we sat there. The place looked like a hole in the wall.
We left and found a room in Cabo Rojo for that night.
Also, I would not recommend staying in Boqueron, Puerto Rico. This is an area where locals vacation, so they do not seem to welcome outsiders. At least that was the feeling we got. We felt very uncomfortable in this area of Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cidra, puerto rico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2006

Under no circumstances would I ever venture inside this hotel again, I had a 2 night reservation and left after 1 and then at 5.30am in the morning. The hotel is close to being derilict and the room given to me contained absolutely no furniture apart from a very cheap and nasty bed furnished exclusively in nylon. There was no hot water in the bathroom at any time, no TV and an A/C unit that sounded like a jet engine. The claimed seafood restaurant does not operate and has not for some time. Room decor has to be seen to be believed, the walls look as though someone has thrown a can of paint at them and it has run everywhere! Appalling is the only word I can find for it and a disgrace that trip advisors even feature it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Velero Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velero Beach Hotel

Address: Carr 307 Km 9.3, Boqueron 00622, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Boqueron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Boqueron

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velero Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Velero Beach Hotel to your Saves list