We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware people with Service Dogs...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parador Boquemar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Parador Boquemar to your Saves list
Parador Boquemar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera 101 | Boqueron Village, Boqueron 00622, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boqueron
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beware people with Service Dogs...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently went back home to Puerto Rico on vacation. While looking for places in Boquerón, a friend called Parador Boquemar and asked about service dogs. The agent who took the call had to ask her supervisor, who told her they DO NOT accept service dogs. My friend advised her this is against the law, but the person did not know what to say. I later called, and the clerk who answered said they did accept service animals but they need identification and all documents regarding the service provided by the animal. I informed I had everything, but also mentioned that the law protected me as to the limit of informaiton I was required to provide. I also stated my most pressing issue was the misinformation from managemet and lack of proper training regarding the American Dissabilities Act. While voicing my grievance, the Boquemar agent hung up the phone on me. As far as I am concerned, the unprofessionalism of this hotel's management is enough to discard Parador Boquemar as an option for any future vacations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    20
    17
    22
See reviews for
34
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
humacao, puerto rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was with my family around the island and the night caught us on the west side of the island. So looking for a place to spend the night, we start calling for a place to stay. After all the calling, we decided to stay at Boquemar. It is a nice centric place and has around it lots of ammenities; beaches, pool, jetski rental, wildlife reserves and much more. Good to take the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you ! You are welcome always at Parador Boquemar !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Due to a death in the family we tried to book a room in other hotels but due to some convention all hotels were booked. The only place available was this hotel that had 4 rooms! That should had told me something. We maid the reservations for 2 nights and if we didn't pay in advance we would had rented or brought tents. The rooms were dirty and small (1 twin bed & 1 full size bed). First thing was the smell, then the dirty sheets, dirty towels, small shower stall. The small fridge was smelly and moldy. The pool looks good but the water wasn't clean, it was cloudy! The only reason we stayed was because all other hotels were full. Also because in the room was 3 people staying we were charged an extra $21.00 a night so instead of paying $126.00 I was charged $147.00 a night for a total of $294.00 for 2 nights but we couldn't even get a 3rd towel for the 3 people in the room. I would not recommend this place to anyone, not at that price.
.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We made the decision to apply a phrase frequently used in Puerto Rico which says:
"It's better late than never" . Because despite the time that has passed since your visit and
comments , we have decided to answer each review we have received.
We want to thank each and every comment pointing out the areas where we must improve ,
because it has been the guide we used to begin working on each area pointed out.
It took several months but we will continue until the goal is reached and our customers feel welcome, enjoy their stay and leave happy .
We have repairing ,painting , doing maintenance to our facility and adjusting our prices and
offers. We are committed to continue to do together as a team , committed to give our best and make everyone feel the hospitality that characterizes the Puerto Rican.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boqueron hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The positives: The town of Boqueron is a fishing village and is lovely and very quaint. The people are friendly and if you like seafood, it is certainly a great town to visit.The AC's in the room were great and thank goodness for that. The staff are pleasant.
The negatives: We won't be staying at Parador Boquemar again. Our family had four rooms and one was worse than the other. Two of the four rooms smelled mildewy and the other two were not far behind. When we arrived, one of the rooms smelled so bad from a refrigerator that had not been cleaned. We asked for another room but we were told that there were none. The rooms were small and dark and the sheets on the beds were of a yellowish color although we think they were supposed to be white.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We made the decision to apply a phrase frequently used in Puerto Rico which say;
"It is better late than never" . Because despite the time that has passed since your visit and comment we have decided to answer each reviews we have received .
We want to thank each and every comment pointing out the areas where we must improve
because it has been the guide we used to begin working on each area pointed out. It took
several months , but we will continue until the goal is reached and our guests feel welcome, enjoy their stay and leave happy . We have been repairing, painting , doing maintenance to our facility and adjusting our prices and offers. We are committed to continue to do together as a team , committed to give our best and make everyone feel the hospitality that characterizes the
Puertorrican .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times total. 3 of the last 4 years. The room with the most wonderful view and the most wonderful staff was a truly great experience each time we have stayed. A special thanks to Marlene and Jenny for making our stay very comfortable. A special thanks to the La Casada for the great food and hospitality. Thanks to Brenda and Damary. You were all so very kind and helpful!! Can't wait till next time

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review . We hope to see you again ... Son Bienvenidos siempre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The good -- walking downstairs and strolling in the village, close drive to gorgeous beaches, friendly people. The bathroom was adequate. The AC was adequate. The room itself was too small to open a suitcase except on the bed. Of the two beds, one had gum stuck to the headboard and the other had new clothes stickers hanging off of it, as if neither had been cleaned. The min fridge definitely had not been cleaned and was disgusting. The linens appeared clean. The tv stand stuck way out into the room and one of us had a nasty head bang on the corner of it. The front desk insists that you take a tv remote even if you don't want it, and warns you to turn it back in or be charged. This seems indicative of the kind of hotel it is, definitely not a good value for price charged.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquemar, Owner at Parador Boquemar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We made the decision to apply a phrase frequently used in Puerto Rico which say;
"It is better late than never" . Because despite the time that has passed since your visit and comment we have decided to answer each reviews we have received .
We want to thank each and every comment pointing out the areas where we must improve
because it has been the guide we used to begin working on each area pointed out. It took
several months , but we will continue until the goal is reached and our guests feel welcome, enjoy their stay and leave happy . We have been repairing, painting , doing maintenance to our facility and adjusting our prices and offers. We are committed to continue to do together as a team , committed to give our best and make everyone feel the hospitality that characterizes the
Puertorrican .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I attempted to reserve 25 rooms for a family reunion. Several calls, email and not a single response. I was told that manager is the only one that receives and acknowledges emails???

Please to see that they are doing so well that they did not need our business.

If they treat their guest coming prior I can't imagine how poor they treat their quest after checking in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador Boquemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Boquemar

Address: Carretera 101 | Boqueron Village, Boqueron 00622, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Boqueron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boqueron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador Boquemar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Parador Boquemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Boquemar Hotel Cabo Rojo
Parador Boquemar Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador Boquemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.