We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good food - a winning combination!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galloway's Bar & Restaurant

Galloway's Bar & Restaurant
Calle Jose de Diego, Boqueron, Puerto Rico
787 254 3302
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 restaurants in Boqueron
Cuisines: Seafood, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and good food - a winning combination!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Five of us ate at Galloway's twice during our visit to Boqueron in December. Once for lunch and once for dinner. The view is fantastic, especially at sunset. We ate a variety of fish, chicken, burgers, and traditional Puerto Rican food. All of it was good. The staff was helpful and friendly. Being an open-air establishment means that there are some birds and some bugs, but the experience was well worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    28
    46
    10
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, NV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to view the sunset.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had two dinners here and really enjoyed the ambiance. We ate on the deck and could watch the tarpons in the water below while we waited for the sun to set. Food was very good and the service excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rude servers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Some of the servers are the rudest I have seen in that part of the island. The owner is aware and seems not to care.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska/cabo rojo
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A good old port in a storm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Galloway's is a favorite in Boqueron of the snowbirds. We can back early this year and went to Galloway's on Nov 1 just after Sandy hit the east coast. We were surprise by high water that made it impossible to eat on the deck over the water. Sandy caused a significant rise in the water level. We joined two ladies at a table in the area before you go over the bridge onto the deck. They were most interesting. The older lady was a poet with homes in San Juan and southeast P.R. She is originally from Corsica and happens to know our attorney who recently visited Corsica. Any, nice company for table sharing. My brother-in-law had a fish sandwich (his usual) and I had pasta with shrimp. Both were excellent. Our waitress was a young lady who also feeds stray dog and works to find new puppies a home. Great gal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sea breeze and seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

great location on the water with delicious red snapper, rice and beans and FRESH tostones- the best we have had!
Perfect service and atmosphere

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galloway's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Boqueron, Puerto Rico
Boqueron, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Galloway's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galloway's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.