We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doi Inthanon

Doi Inthanon
119 Moo 7 | Ban Luang Subdistrict, Chom Thong 10150, Thailand
+6653286730
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$132*
and up
Private 8-Hour Tour of Doi Inthanon National Park...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We took a full day tour to see the Doi Inthananon National Park and it was truly beautiful. If you like scenic views, spectacular waterfalls, and plentiful gardens, this is the place for you!!! The king & queen's pagoda's were interesting but not the main attraction of this tour in our opinion. The waterfalls are both impressive and had several lookout locations where amazing pictures are to be had. Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SlickBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We went in a tour and made some stops to see a couple os waterfalls (not a big deal), a market, the mountain with the Queen and King pagodas (these were ok), and a tribe of Karen people that show us how they make coffee and clothes. We saw it like a total fake, just trying you to buy something. The tour included lunch, that consisted in some vegetables, fried fish and chicken, all surrounded for a lot of cats. I didn't really like it. for the price (1200 baths), I expected something more. Maybe going on your own change this point of view. I don't rememberthe agency, but I guess that all have similar tours. Better go on your own!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful national park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The place was really beautiful with lot of flowers. We went there with a tour guide which gave us really good knowledge but the problem was it is very ffar away, about 2 hours drive so total round trip was 4 hours. Recommened only if you have a lot of time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highest point in Thailand - worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We did a one-day trip with TravelHub which included King and Queen pagodas , Doi Inthanon summit, the waterfalls, the Royal Agricultural project and a hilltribe village.

The temperature on the mountain in late January was 15 degC so a jacket is definitely required. It was also rather windy at some points.

We saw the King and Queen pagodas and took some nice photos in the surrounding flower gardens. The view was rather disappointing due to the fog.

The Royal Project had an interesting collection of plants

Overall I think it's worth a visit for a day out amongst nature, and also for bragging rights --Highest point in Thailand !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Royal temples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Halfway to the top of the highest mountain of Thailand, one finds two buildings with a statue of Lord Buddha. These interesting buildings were built to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the King and Queen. There are beautiful gardens with a large variety of flowers. The summit itself is not very interesting. Afterwards we visited a large waterfall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank globbetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doi Inthanon also viewed

 

Been to Doi Inthanon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing