We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Romantic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narittaya Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Narittaya Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Narittaya Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   9 Moo 11Namphrae | Nam Phrae, Hang Dong 50230, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Romantic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

If you are looking for a true romantic hidaway that feels a million miles away from town but in reality is only 10 or 15 minutes away, then this is the resort for you. My girlfriend and I spent 4 lovely nights at Baan Deva Montra the last week of October, 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our driver arranged by the hotel was there to meet us at the airport right on schedule. The grounds of the resort are simply beautiful. We had an excutive pool villa (#302). It was spacious, comfortable and very rustic and romantic. We felt like we were the only ones at the resort. Upon arrival me were met with a lovely welcome drink. The owner Su and her partner gave us personal attention during our entire stay and arranged for transportation for us into town when we needed it (about 500 baht roundtrip to the Sunday Night Market - Do Not Miss this!!!). There was a complimentary breakfast each morning served in a beautiful outdoor setting while quiet jazz played in the background. We also ate dinner and lunch at the restaurant on several occassions and the food and service was always excellent. I especially enjoyed their spaghetti! The beds may be bit hard for many but we prefer a hard bed so it was not a problem for us. The pool was very clean though a bit chilly because of the cool weather when we visited. There is a limited spa menu available but we did not try this service on this trip. They have larger villas for families but not much for the kids to do at the resort besides the pool, but as a romantic getaway you cannot beat it. All in all I would not hesitate to book another stay at this beautiful little gem of a resort!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
27
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I made a booking with 50% discount, when we arrived at the hotel lobby the manager said to us that they upgraded our room to a Executive pool villa.
I had a very nice and relaxing/romantic stay with my fiancé .
The pool/jacuzzi and the room was very clean and the restaurant had a nice thai and western menu and the food tasted good. The staff members were very helpful and kind.
You can also borrow some dvd movies for free at the lobby (room has dvd player).
I had only one drawback; the matress was so hard as a brick stone.
The shopping malls are 15 to 20 min. with taxi away.
summary; It's a resort for guests that appreciate quiet and rest.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

We went to this property whilst in Chiang Mai and they offered us a rate of 1000THB cheaper than any website price. We booked into a Executive Pool Villa (used only one of the bedrooms). When we checked in we quickly realised we were the only guests at the resort. The Manager was very helpful and offered us free transfers and the use of his staff if we wanted to go anywhere.

Unfortunately we feel that this property has gradually been let go. The room was very basic with outdated furnishings. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. The worst thing was the over powering smell of damp throughout the whole room. We sprayed room freshener but nothing was enough to get rid of the smell that turned the stomach. There were cobwebs everywhere and a moving nest of spiders in the outdoor shower.

The spa was closed (looked like for some time now) so we had a massage in our room. You would be better going to a spa which would be cheaper and give a better experience. Food was basic but ok. Agree with other reviews regarding the slimey film across the top of the pool. We asked to have the pool cleaned but nothing fixed it.

Very secluded place and you would need to hire a scooter if you stay here. An absolute highlight was dinner we had at a little restaurant on the main road called "Hug". If you stay here this is a must. Wonderful people with beautiful food. If your lucky enough you may get your own performance from the owner, an artist with 3 CD's and fantastic talent.

Overall, unfortunately we would not return to Baan Deva Montra.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nunya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

I chose baan deva montra as a retreat from a hectic holiday schedule and birthday pampering package.

Thinking that the spa prices where fair, untill i actually arrived in thailand to find out they are so much cheaper elsewhere than this hotel.

We stayed 2 nights in a pool villa, the room was beautifull, bathroom unusual and the surrounds, so very quiet.

The hotel does not have a huge range of meals to offer, that are not of the spicey variety but breakfast was ok.

Staff were fantastic, cant fault them at all.

The room was very clean.

my only bad points were,
1st....the bed was that hard thet i may as well have slept on the concrete floor, i awoke with sore sides and back from it each morning, i had even contemplated bringing in the mattress from the pool area and sleeping on that at one stage, until i realised how full of dust they where!

2nd....pool could have been cleaner as it had s smear of oil or something laying across the top of the pool, we tried to scoop this sludge out, but it returned as fast as we were trying to get rid of it.

the hotel is a fair way from town and with no other restaurants or shops close by, makes dinning a costly situation with a 300bht taxi ride each way.

I truely enjoyed the stay..besides the bed.....but i dont think i would return for the above reasons.

cheers

batt

  • Liked — the privacy of your own private pool
  • Disliked — the cement bed!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

Good points - lovely hotel with well-meaning and kind staff - feels a bit as if they could do with more business and would deserve this as the rooms are good .... more thai-rustic-chic than boutique however ! Food is minimalistic but tasty and cheap .... no other local restaurants. HUGE bathroom area's and narrow swimming pool-per-room .... breakfast is ordered rather than buffet style but is good.

Not-So-Good - the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and Chiang Mai is a City which doesn't even think of opening until around 6 pm (whole high street closed most of the day until the night market starts - they could do with getting their act together in this respect as the place is like a ghost town in the day - however, this is to do with the City and NOT the hotel) - to make matters worse, the taxi service from the hotel takes advantage of this .... twice the price of Bangkok and no meters used ... the hotel seriously needs to organise a daily complimentary shuttle bus as a previous reviewer has advised.... we were (over) charged to and from the airport at 500 baht each way which was far more than it should have been. This was disappointing and made you feel a little trapped. We also had a spa-massage (by visiting masseurs) which was good although the music failed after the 1st song and there was no oil burning aroma's .... felt as if it could have been a bit better with some extra efforts.

Having said this, there was a lot of kindness evident and I wish the owners the best of luck .... I would probably return there if I needed to visit Chiang Mai. The venue would be superb for 2 adult couples sharing a pool 2 bedroomed villa (which is actually 2 buildings !)

  • Liked — extra space and private pool
  • Disliked — location and pressures on taxi fares
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Narittaya Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narittaya Resort and Spa

Address: 9 Moo 11Namphrae | Nam Phrae, Hang Dong 50230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Hang Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty lodging in Hang Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Narittaya Resort and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narittaya Resort and Spa is an intimate boutique resort set in a serene foothill of Chiang Mai's Suthep Mountain, north of Thailand. On the outskirts of the main city, with a mere fifteen minutes' drive, this hidden gem offers an escape from the chaotic lifestyle and entrance into Zion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Narittaya Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narittaya Resort And Spa Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Hang Dong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narittaya Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.