We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Both Worlds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Villa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belle Villa Resort to your Saves list
Belle Villa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   135 Moo 5, Tumbol Baanpong, Hang Dong 50230, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hang Dong
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of Both Worlds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Imagine a holiday where you can enjoy the quiet tranquility of the mountains or the bustle of the busy city..... Well staying at Belle Villa Resort in Chiange Mai can provide you with such a holiday. Although the resort is 40mins up the mountain, it is a cheap taxi fare into town. The hotel is very good at organising taxi's for you. We travelled in May and had a fantastic time lounging by the pool and enjoying cocktails and food. If you organise excusions the tour operators will pick you up from the hotel. The massages were so amazing I had two!!! I would happily have another holiday at Belle Villa Resort!!!! Besides, how many hotels have Elephant Riding onsite!!!!! Fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: Cabins are great and semi self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
16
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Everything is quite nice here but be aware if you're not in possession of a car there just nowhere else you can go. There is a, free of charge, daily shuttle service to Chiang Mai (40 mins) but you will need to return at 6 PM, just when the nightmarket starts. So if you want to see the city don't go here unless you have your own car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've been here twice with our family and would happily visit again. The grounds are exceptionally lovely and peaceful with plenty of space for kids to run and elephants right next door. We've stayed in the main building and also seen the villas which would be ideal for a large family (HUGE master suite) or two families staying together. Staff are very friendly and helpful, spa is amazing, food was fresh and tasty (though menu is a little limited), and we loved waking up to elephant calls. The pools are also very nice though unheated so a bit chilly in "winter", but probably perfect the rest of the year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

this is a very nice and relaxing place to stay..provided that you are into nature! :)
away from the city (quite a distance about 30mins drive) and crowd...fresh air, birds singing and no doubt the insects too!

excellent place to just walk around with the lush green environment all around and a really nice pool that you can relax into!

staff are really friendly and helpful too

me and my family stayed in the single story bungalow whereby sufficient drinking water is supplied and the place is cleaned each single day. They even provide a BBQ pit of your own!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heumen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We are staying in this hotel at the moment, and feel it is well worth a positive review. The surroundings are exceptionally beautiful - situated in the hills to the north west of Chiang Mai. From our excellent room we look out over the swimming pool and over to the forest. The staff are very courteous, and the food good. The general manager, Noi has been unbelievably helpful and interested. Nothing seems to be too much trouble, right down to picking up our train tickets at the station so that we could concentrate on enjoying ourselves. She helped us prepare our trips, and paid some cash herself up front until we had a chance to get cash. (No problem with a Dutch bank card).
If you are looking for peaceful accommodation in wonderful surroundings, and don't mind a 45 minute drive to the town, then we can highly recommend this hotel. Transport is arranged by the hotel a low cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

The resort is very beautiful, with great views and a great swimming pool. The staff is very nice and attentive, but management is typical Chinese: greedy. There is a 150 baht (5 USD) charge to use the tennis court an hour!!! The same charge applies for an hour of sauna. What baffles me the most is their greed with internet. While most budget hotels have free internet, many of these expensive resorts need to charge for it. That is greed at its most. 200 baht (almost 7 USD) for an hour? That is ridiculous and damps the experience. The food is not very good and really expensive. Otherwise, it is a great place to relax. Just stop at the seven eleven before you arrive and stack up on snacks, beer, sodas, etc., bring your own aircard for internet, and go to the city for good food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Belle Villa resort but through RCI which meant it was part of the complex that is used by Royal Bella Vista (timeshare). We arrived very late on the Sunday evening and were greeted by the bellman who showed us to a lovely cottage very close to the main hotel and facilities.

The cottage was lovely and spacious, probably better utilised by a family or a group of friends than just a couple. The restaurant (terrace) at the hotel was fairly priced and portions were generous, the swimming pool was also great.

The resort was almost empty in the week we were there which was nice as we were able to relax and move around as we wished. The only issue with the location is that it is rather remote and getting to Chiang Mai meant committing the better part of a day and making it a "tour" to get the value out of the taxi fees. I would suggest renting a car for the week if you are going to stay at Belle Villa.

RCI was very organised and had a personal driver (Kay) as well as discounts organised within the resort for everything from the food and drinks to the massage ladies. This was a great experience as they visit you in your cottage and a 2 hour massage in the comfort of your own "home" is ideal.

It was a good stay in that it allowed us to recharge after 2 busy weeks on the islands and before our stay in Bangkok.

The only downside to the week was a visit to one of the elephant training areas where we felt that the elephants were sometimes badly treated in order to get them to behave how the tourists expected, including the use of the hooks to get them moving on the mounted walks. I would prefer the animals to be better looked after and hope the hotels and resorts give this type of feedback, or cancel their tours to these locations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belle Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Villa Resort

Address: 135 Moo 5, Tumbol Baanpong, Hang Dong 50230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Hang Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hang Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Belle Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Villa Hotel Chiang Mai
Belle Hotel Chiang Mai
Belle Villa Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Hang Dong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.