We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit with a genius who enjoys showing you his hobby.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dokmai Garden

Dokmai Garden
Moo 10, Namprae, Hang Dong 50230, Thailand
+66(0)894339045, +66(0)13866244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 attractions in Hang Dong
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A visit with a genius who enjoys showing you his hobby.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a wonderful way to spend a half/whole day. Eric is super knowledgeable and very personable at the same time. He has a great sense of humor and can answer even the questions posted by myself, by far the lest knowledgeable member of the group. We had a plant specialist from China, 2 americans traveling Asia learning about gardens, a Korean teacher and a Thai lady with a broad knowledge of plants. I am an engineer sorely lacking in this sort of knowledge but I love plants and information.

We planed on 1-2 hours but spent most of the day including lunch and were sad to leave.
It is difficult to find, I used the GPS for the nearest golf course to find the location, which is so far off the beaten path that there is no path.....

Lunch was great and the entire visit wonderful, and we had just come from spending then entire day at the Royal Flora next to the Night Safari in Chiang Mai.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worthwhile, educational, and off the tourist track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were looking for activities in Chiang Mai of the "non-bungee jumping" variety and came across Dokmai Gardens and Eric. We spent an entire day with him and truly enjoyed the botanical and cultural education we gained. Eric is a PhD botanist by training, and he is sought after by tropical plant experts worldwide. As a long-term expat who is married to a Thai woman, he offers a great interpretation of Thai culture as well.

Our day with him began with a thorough tour of a real Thai market without tourists or t-shirt sellers. Eric can explain all of the plant and animal products being sold which may seem odd to western eyes. This is NOT like any type of tour you might get with a cooking class; Eric knows the English terms for everything and can explain which fruits and veggies are comparable to their western counterparts. You will sample, smell, feel, taste, and learn beyond comprehension. This experience alone is worth the price of the day.

We then went out to Dokmai Garden to see his work. The welcome hibiscus drink is amazing. The garden itself is gorgeous and well-planned. Eric explains the hows and whys of everything, and we tasted and smelled more fruits and plants as he pulled random things off of trees, etc. It was fascinating. The food cooked by his mother-in-law was outstanding. The work he does in his orchid hospital is impressive. After lunch we visited a small Thai village up in the hills.

Again, Eric is a true plant expert. Anyone who wanted to spend a day or week or month with him discussing only bananas or bamboo or orchids will not be disappointed. Eric can take visitors on treks into the hills to discover new plants or visit hill tribes. Any of these experiences can be tailored to the visitor's interests.

We truly enjoyed our time with Eric and felt that our money supported a worthwhile endeavor. This experience really gave us a greater context for the rest of our experiences in Thailand.

I would recommend a day with Eric to anyone who is looking for a deeper understanding of Thai plants and culture.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A really interesting botanic garden, plus great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Eric and his wife Kate set up the garden 5 years ago. Eric takes you on the tour himself and as he planted every tree and shrub he really knows about the plants. Kate provided a lovely lunch and home-made fruit juice made from hibiscus which was a perfect thirst quencher. We had intended to spend a few hours there but spent most of the day there and a few days later we went back for cuttings. Eric also acts as a guide to the jungles of the national parks, you can arrange day trips or longer. Eric's information and knowledge me really appreciate the tropical vegetation. While I was there a family with 3 young children arrived and there was plenty for the children to see and do and taste.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great insight into plants and culture of the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

After reading Eric’s blogs for a year now I was suitably impressed with the amount of knowledge I could pick up visiting the place. It gave me a great understanding of the plants I have been seeing daily in my home town Luang Prabang and Ketsanee was a great host. Her mother’s rosella juice is the perfect finish to a long stroll around the impressive garden.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

First of all inform yourself and your driver well as to where it is, its not that well known. Best thing to do is phone Erik at the garden first and he will organise a tuktuk driver for you that knows the way.
This was a great little trip around Eriks wonderfully kept garden. Erik is very well-informed, PhD in botany I believe, and passionate about what he does. If you want to learn a little, or a lot, about Thailand's fauna this is highly recommended. I believe they also do wellness/detox type offers where you can work in the gardens.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dokmai Garden also viewed

San Sai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Dokmai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dokmai Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dokmai Garden to your Saves list