We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive architecture and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   192 Moo 2 | Banpong, Hang Dong 50230, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hang Dong
4.5 of 5 stars 400 Reviews
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Impressive architecture and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at the Veranda High Resort for a 3 day weekend and really enjoyed it. The resort is located 20 minutes SW of CNX in Ban Pong. Check in was flawless and as an Accor platinum member, was offered an upgrade to a Jacuzzi suite. The room was stunning with a massive bed, huge bathroom which included a 2 person tub and his and hers vanities, and a lovely outdoor area with a jacuzzi big enough for 3 and a king-sized lounge that overlooked a cultivated rice paddie. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Enjoyed lunch at the pool and was happy with the western and thai selections. Several drinks on the menu were served in coconuts and I especially liked the "Morning Glory". Hotel provides an excellent shuttle service to the hip Nimaheimann Road area in the day and a Night Bazaar shuttle in the evenings. The Veranda High Resort is a wonderful place for a romantic, relaxing getaway. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    135
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
92
175
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a great resort for relaxing and being at peace with nature. If you want excitement then stay in the centre of Chiang Mai as this is a low key, chilled out haven. Even so you can be in town in 30 minutes by shuttle and tour companies will do a pick up at the resort so you won't miss out on anything.
We stayed in the Pavillion room and it was quite wonderful, private and the outlook is beautiful. A couple of ants but they are everywhere in northern Thailand but harmless. Service was of a high standard especially from housekeeping and the front desk and all were most helpful. The restaurant had great food and beautifully presented. Very comfortable beds and the day beds are hard to get out of. Pool is perfect size for two but the main infinity pool has a view to die for. Well worth the stay just for that. I would stay again as this is the sort of place that makes a holiday memorable. Well done to all the hardworking staff. They are very well trained.

Room Tip: Pavillion rooms are worth the exta cost and are very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Veranda the High Resort Chiang Mai and taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda the High Resort Chiang Mai during your next stay in Chiang Mai.


Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

4/28 morning when I was taking a bath, a stranger appeared on my balcony!! After that the staff call to my room 215 and asked me to stop my children to throw the stone into the pool. They knew it's my honeymoon while we check in. They did not check anything first but just call me directly. It's very unruled

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

4/28 morning when I was taking a bath, a stranger appeared on my balcony!! After that the staff call to my room 215 and asked me to stop my children to throw the stone into the pool. They knew it's my honeymoon while we check in. They did not check anything, just call me directly. It's very unruled

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for the misunderstanding occurred. There are no excuses to be made in defense of the bad quality of service given to you during your stay. I assure you that this matter will be taken care of right away

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda the High Resort Chiang Mai during your next stay in Chiang Mai

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There are much better resorts than this one for the same price. Breakfast was pathetic. TV programs very limited, worse than 3 star Mecure in the city center. Restaurant food is forgetable and expensive. Not recomended unless you want to bore yourself to death.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate you valuable comments and will take it into serious consideration right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I give 10 out of 10 for the design, landscape, room size. The hotel is quite big with lots of greenery and nice landscaping. The room is also larger than average. The swimming pool was a bit small though. The hotel had a gym and mountain bikes to hire. There was also free wifi.

7 out of 10 for the Food. We had lunch at the hotel on the first day which was average and the food came a bit slow, and the pork i ordered was very tough. There are lots of selection at breakfast, customary to what you would find in a four star hotel, but nothing impressive We weren't so impress with lunch and breakfast so we didn't try dinner at the hotel.

7 out of 10 for the Service. Overall the service was good and staff are friendly and polite. However, one lady at reception wasn't so helpful when we asked for tour activity programs. When we asked what tours were offered, she replied there wasn't any tour offered, and handed me the phone to speak with the hotel driver. This is what i called self service (not service).

Location: We were happy with the location since we selected this hotel for tranquility and to just relax by the pool or stay in the room. However, for those that wanted activities, the hotel is quite far from the city (30 mins drive) and other activities. So if you are coming to this resort, it may be a good idea to hire a car from the city or the airport (since hiring the hotel car to get around can be expensive).

Dislikes: Sleep quality was not so good since the aircon blows quite strongly onto your head when you sleep on the bed. (maybe it was just the room i was in). Also the hotel didn't offer any tours, and you have to negotiate yourself with the hotel driver where you want to go. So hopefully the hotel can improve on these.

Overall it was a good experience, and we were satisfied with the hotel given it's pricing range.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review on Tripadvisor. All your comments is valuable for us and its to be development procedures onward.

We looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering this resort, you are welcomed by a beautiful open lobby with oversized seating areas, beautiful lighting fixtures and serene ponds. Immediately you feel at peace with the environment. After check in, we were made to ride a golf cart to our room. The structures are low in this property and are mostly gray in color. At first, it makes you wonder why such a feel? And then it all makes sense... The architecture of the buildings were made to blend in with the environment. Nothing much in sight except the beautiful mountains, lush greeneries and open spaces. At nighttime pathways are dimly lit, some only lit by torches. It seems as though the resort is part of the environment. And then it all makes sense.
In your room, colors are the same, with a few shades of red and white. Even the sink is a unique ceramic basin. Everything looks rustic yet all very modern in function. The beds are ultra comfortable. The bathrooms are huge and there is a day bed inside the room. The balcony is big and the view is amazing - trees all around and sounds of the mountain make you feel one with nature. The pool is just as peaceful - dark tiles, lounge chairs, umbrellas. And the eternity pool makes you feel as though you are again, a part of the mountain environment. We spent three restful, peaceful nights here.
The resort is about thirty or forty minutes away from the city. It has all the facilities of a 5 star resort - pools and jacuzzis, a spa, great breakfast area, a great restaurant for dinner, a kids club, tour options, etc...They have shuttles that can take you to the city if in case you haven't had enough of that.
One of the highlights of our stay here was a cooking class the resort offers with their Execitive Chef. They even ask you beforehand what dishes you would like to learn how to cook. The Executive Chef was very gracious, and so were his assistants. It was a very enjoyable cooking class and well worth the money you pay - about 2,300.- baht. We also enjoyed dining at their Rabiang Cha restaurant. Aside from the regular restaurant seating they have, there are also air conditioned huts on stilts, each with a different theme. We had to reserve huts each time we dined there since there are only around 4 or 5 huts. Our favorite hut was the one which had a matress on its entire floor. it was so comfortable eating there while sitting on the mattress or even lying down on it! We ate in this restaurant every night. Menu selection was great - Asian, Western and Fusion cuisine. It was an extra treat having cooking classes with their Executive Chef and talking to him about his style of cooking and his experiences as a chef who worked in California for quite a long time. We enjoyed everything we ate at Rabiang Cha, especially the lamb and crab dishes, thai appetizers, salads and desserts all very well presented.
Service was good. Everyone was friendly. Although one time by the pool, I ordered a glass of wine. I was disappointed that first time because the waiter perhaps, couldn't speak very well and didn't offer a selection of wines for me to choose from. He just brought me a glass of wine and after tasting the wine, I could tell that the bottle was opened several days ago. It was stale. I called the waiter and informed him about it and he immediately came back with a selection for me to choose from and made sure that he opened the bottle of wine in front of me. I was disappointed by this of course, but the following days I felt that effort was made to rectify the problem. I still feel however, that they should review this and perhaps have a better wine selection in the future.
Food at the resort may be a little bit expensive compared to other hotels in Chiangmai, but being an Accor / Advantage Plus member helps because of the discount benefits.
I would suggest this hotel for people looking for a good way to end their Chiangmai trip. After staying in the city, visiting temples, riding tuktuks and going to markets and bazaars, Veranda The High Resort will be a perfect place for you to visit.
Room Tip: Try requesting for a room on the 3rd floor (if you don't mind a short climb), the views are much better.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions, we will pay more attention in its every detail especially a communication and quality of wine.

However, thank you again for your valuable feedback to improve our service and facilities as complete satisfaction is our goal of Veranda Chiang Mai : The High Resort.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection

Address: 192 Moo 2 | Banpong, Hang Dong 50230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Hang Dong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hang Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Chiangmai: The High Resort, is a total Zen experience from the moment of arrival. We located in private valley with rice and tea terraces, natural ponds and orchids. Perfect retreat to relax and indulge yourself in the Spa. Divided into two zones, on one side representing the cultural heritage of the north and the other the Contemporary Veranda style. A boutique northern retreat of just 72 rooms, all guests are ensured of the best personal service, 24 hours a day from our warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Hang Dong
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Hang Dong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.