We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phaya Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phaya Inn to your Saves list
Phaya Inn
Bann Changkong 35/1 | Chitwongpanrangsan Road, Lamphun 51000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Lamphun B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in the Pgaya Inn for two days during this month.

From the excellent first impressions all the way to checkout the Phaya Inn exceeded my expectations in everyway.

Comfortable accommodation more a kin to a boutique hotel and with management and staff that went beyond the call of duty made the stay a memorable and enjoyable one!

The management were so kind as to give me lift into the city centre and ensure my bus connection went smooth after checkout.

What more could a guest ask for?

Thanks you guys!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This small guesthouse in a quiet location was again a very good choice. The family is very welcoming and good in English too.
We loved the room, the good WIFI and the seats in the open lobby with a terrace.
In the morning we went for a ride on the free bikes, a nice ride for one hour in the surroundings.
If you are vegetarian, go straight to the restaurant Add Up at the river near the Haripunjaya temple. Everywhere else only meat and fish.

Room Tip: We had 105, good WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This beautiful, charming and immaculately clean hotel was a welcome sight after a long day. We landed in Chiang Mai and caught a taxi to Phaya Inn, about a 40 minute drive. The first thing we noticed on the way was that there a no signs in English, everything is written in Thai. On arrival we were met by Kit, she is the owner/manager of the hotel and speaks fluent English, Kit spent several years in the US managing top hotels. But her love for Lamphun brought her back where she now runs her own place.
If you are expecting Lamphun to be a very busy place with lots of shops and Restaurants, you will be disappointed. Instead you have this wonderful place full of friendly people, beautiful temples and a fabulous Noodle Eatery/Restaurant which is in walking distance from the hotel. The lady here also speaks enough English to take your order, but remember you can always point to pictures in the menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautifully furnished rooms, immaculately clean in this lovely hotel. The hotel is also beautiful from the outside. Liberal use of wood and a clever design, the hotel has a really classy feel to it. This all makes the low price quite stunning. Furthermore, the staff are really nice, friendly, helpful, and speak excellent English.

It's not in the centre of town but it's pretty close. I had my own transport so it was 2 mins drive. You could walk it in maybe 15 mins or the hotel could probably lend you a bike. When I return to Lamphun I will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lamphun is a bit what I remember Chiang Mai to be 20 years ago. Lovely people, amazing temples and not much tourism infrastructure. This is part of the charm of Phaya Inn. Owner/manager Kit is a US trained Thai women with impeccable English and a love for Lamphun. She and her family set us up with bikes, maps, suggestions for food (there is maybe just a couple of restaurants in town) and set us on our way into town. The Phaya Inn is just outside the small downtown core, so the bike was definitely useful. It is a clean, quiet hotel that is very good value for money. Typical of Thai hotels the beds are on the firm side but we slept fine. If you are headed north to or south from Chiang Mai, worth the stopover for a slower pace. We had a great time here. Met some amazing local people and were sorry to leave. Check out the silk production across the road from the Inn. Incredible. Also the Add Up restaurant in town is one of very few options. Do not be deterred by the somewhat cheesy interior appearance. The food is actually quiet good and the outside seating very nice once the heat lifts at the end of the day. A real find was the Note Espresso cafe. Best coffee in Thailand I think. Run by a bunch of cool guys. It is not far from Wat Hariphunchai. It is near number 66 on the tourist map (I think) on the north east side of the old city - just inside the old moat. If you like coffee worth the trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The opinions of others on Trip Advisor led me to Phaya Inn -- and I agree with them. I took a mini-bus from Chiang Mai [75 cents] and a 2-bencher back [50 cents] to another world. A town that has next to no signage in English, no tourist groups, attractively planned, filled with astonishing temples -- and this clean modern lodging -- to the point of WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

This is my first trip to Lamphun as I was seeking a short escape from the confusion of town and busy working life. I searched on Tripadvisor and hit Phaya Inn, which indeed deserves the first rank. The inn keeper had been very helpful from the reservation process and during the stay - giving directions, share what to do, where to dine and the rich history of Lamphun. I had discovered the amazing experiences for the great holiday tips and could not believe that there are so much to explore in such a small and peaceful city.

Location wise, the hotel is not all far from Chiang Mai and it is found that Phaya Inn is located in the history route of Lamphun culture - I took a tram visiting 9 temples, museum, and the monument of Queen Jamma Dhevi. The great local dining places including Friday's walking street are just a short distance away by car.

Rooms - the rooms are the best in Lamphun; specious, very clean and well maintained. The ceiling is high and the furniture are made of great quality teak wood. Amenities includes free bottled of water, Wi-Fi, (huge) minibar fridge, big wardrobe, TV with English speaking and local channels, dressing table, telephone, bathroom with hot water and shower. These exceeded my expectation for the price I paid and I am very sure that the place could have sold at double or triple times higher if located in downtown.

Cleanliness - this is the highlight.. Rooms and public spaces are very clean - at a level of 5 star luxury hotels. Heard that the owner used to manage many upper scale luxury resorts in Thailand.

Service - the owners all are very friendly and helpful. Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a coffee/tea and snacks provided complimentary for breakfast. In-room, there are extensive food menu with delivery service from a local restaurant nearby. Laundry service is also available with reasonable price, I guarantee that your clothes return fresh and clean. Wow!

In Summary, I would highly recommend Phaya Inn to all my family, friends and visitors. I was very impressed with the place and services and will definitely return to this great "Gem" of Lamphun!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaya Inn

Address: Bann Changkong 35/1 | Chitwongpanrangsan Road, Lamphun 51000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lamphun Province > Lamphun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lamphun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Lanna Living - finest accommodation in LamphunPhaya Inn is located only 22 km from Chiang Mai, in the historical city of Lamphun or originally known as Haripunchai, a province with a stretching history of more than 1,300 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Phaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phaya Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.