We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phaya Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phaya Inn to your Saves list
Phaya Inn
Bann Changkong 35/1 | Chitwongpanrangsan Road, Lamphun 51000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Lamphun B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lamphun is a bit what I remember Chiang Mai to be 20 years ago. Lovely people, amazing temples and not much tourism infrastructure. This is part of the charm of Phaya Inn. Owner/manager Kit is a US trained Thai women with impeccable English and a love for Lamphun. She and her family set us up with bikes, maps, suggestions for food (there is maybe just a couple of restaurants in town) and set us on our way into town. The Phaya Inn is just outside the small downtown core, so the bike was definitely useful. It is a clean, quiet hotel that is very good value for money. Typical of Thai hotels the beds are on the firm side but we slept fine. If you are headed north to or south from Chiang Mai, worth the stopover for a slower pace. We had a great time here. Met some amazing local people and were sorry to leave. Check out the silk production across the road from the Inn. Incredible. Also the Add Up restaurant in town is one of very few options. Do not be deterred by the somewhat cheesy interior appearance. The food is actually quiet good and the outside seating very nice once the heat lifts at the end of the day. A real find was the Note Espresso cafe. Best coffee in Thailand I think. Run by a bunch of cool guys. It is not far from Wat Hariphunchai. It is near number 66 on the tourist map (I think) on the north east side of the old city - just inside the old moat. If you like coffee worth the trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The opinions of others on Trip Advisor led me to Phaya Inn -- and I agree with them. I took a mini-bus from Chiang Mai [75 cents] and a 2-bencher back [50 cents] to another world. A town that has next to no signage in English, no tourist groups, attractively planned, filled with astonishing temples -- and this clean modern lodging -- to the point of WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is my first trip to Lamphun as I was seeking a short escape from the confusion of town and busy working life. I searched on Tripadvisor and hit Phaya Inn, which indeed deserves the first rank. The inn keeper had been very helpful from the reservation process and during the stay - giving directions, share what to do, where to dine and the rich history of Lamphun. I had discovered the amazing experiences for the great holiday tips and could not believe that there are so much to explore in such a small and peaceful city.

Location wise, the hotel is not all far from Chiang Mai and it is found that Phaya Inn is located in the history route of Lamphun culture - I took a tram visiting 9 temples, museum, and the monument of Queen Jamma Dhevi. The great local dining places including Friday's walking street are just a short distance away by car.

Rooms - the rooms are the best in Lamphun; specious, very clean and well maintained. The ceiling is high and the furniture are made of great quality teak wood. Amenities includes free bottled of water, Wi-Fi, (huge) minibar fridge, big wardrobe, TV with English speaking and local channels, dressing table, telephone, bathroom with hot water and shower. These exceeded my expectation for the price I paid and I am very sure that the place could have sold at double or triple times higher if located in downtown.

Cleanliness - this is the highlight.. Rooms and public spaces are very clean - at a level of 5 star luxury hotels. Heard that the owner used to manage many upper scale luxury resorts in Thailand.

Service - the owners all are very friendly and helpful. Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a coffee/tea and snacks provided complimentary for breakfast. In-room, there are extensive food menu with delivery service from a local restaurant nearby. Laundry service is also available with reasonable price, I guarantee that your clothes return fresh and clean. Wow!

In Summary, I would highly recommend Phaya Inn to all my family, friends and visitors. I was very impressed with the place and services and will definitely return to this great "Gem" of Lamphun!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just only half an hour drive from Chiang Mai to here. Touching of green and fresh air from a nice garden surrounding the hotel. The location is great and easy to get to the famous temple in town. Rooms is nicely decorated. Pretty much enjoys my coffee & juicy drink at the basement of lobby area with speed of 10MB internet offered, I could be their the whole day to enjoys my photo upload to share with my friends in FB . It is a five-minute-ride into the centre which you could find the place for dining. You can get the recomendation of nice restaurant in town from the hotel's staff which you should ever miss to try for. Cozy hotel and very memorable place for you to try.... :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

A sweet night with a very nice hotel , a big room & sweet bed like ***** hotel, TV and free HI-speed wifi a big value, hot shower, fridge are comfortable and very clean. Complimentary cofee & snack at the lobby in the morning. 5 min by car to Lumphun city and 20 min to Chaing Mai. You are in our memorable!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 nights. Very nice and helpful people.

Hotel is clean, comfortable, quiet. Cannot fault it.

Kitt is fluent in English, very useful...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This well decorated and kept hotel welcomes you as a friend. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The view is to the fields. The lobby offers coffee and caked in the morning. Internet and TV are working well, parking downstairs. It is a five-minute-ride into the centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaya Inn

Address: Bann Changkong 35/1 | Chitwongpanrangsan Road, Lamphun 51000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lamphun Province > Lamphun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lamphun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Lanna Living - finest accommodation in LamphunPhaya Inn is located only 22 km from Chiang Mai, in the historical city of Lamphun or originally known as Haripunchai, a province with a stretching history of more than 1,300 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Phaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phaya Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.