We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ao thai ,quiet, quality, relaxing kindness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant
63/2 Moo 1 Bo Dan | Sathing Phra 90190, Sathing Phra Songkhla South Thailand, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Loviisa, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“ao thai ,quiet, quality, relaxing kindness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Quality bungalow just on a nature beach. A small village near. You can go there walking on the beach if yo like, Food and service in the hotel is good . Easy to visit Songkha town, about 30 km, if you need something shopping or else. Very helpful and kind manager and other people in the hotel. Relaxing, beautiful sunrise, massage, swimming, nature and so on. Not for party people. We hope that we can came again there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Ao Thai for one night but couldn't stop raving about it. The German-Thai family took great care of us and everyone except party animals would surely feel at home like we did. When we arrived at the resort around 6 pm, there was a big karaoke party so we made it clear that we couldn’t bare the noise. Within an hour the group left and we could enjoy our fiery hot Southern Thai dinner in peace.

We stayed in two rooms above the restaurant and two bungalows by the swimming pool, all very clean and comfortable. Some units even had a separate living area, ideal for families. The only drawback was the resort was split into two parts by a dirt road though there was hardly any motorised traffic. Most popular were the oceanfront bungalows, away from the restaurant and the pool. They were fully booked during our stay but the owner said they were of the same size as ours.

The best “unseen Thailand” moment arrived in the morning. As we went jogging at sunrise, there wasn't anyone in sight apart from the odd local walking his cow. We managed to take a few photos of it right in front of the weather station.

In short Ao Thai is highly recommended for its tranquility. But Sathing Phra (สทิงพระ) isn’t mentioned in guidebooks so if planning to stay there for more than a few nights, let us recommend some attractions nearby.

Only 3-min away from the hotel and boasting a reclining Buddha and a circular chedi is Wat Ja Thing Phra (วัดจะทิ้งพระ) which hilariously translates to “the temple will abandon the monks.” Ask locals to explain the origin of this name; they all have different stories to tell.

Sathing Phra is best known as the birthplace of Luang Pu Thuad (หลวงปู่ทวด), Southern Thailand’s most revered monk. Thai and (Buddhist) Malaysian pilgrims follow his footsteps, paying respect to and “renting” amulets from temples such as Wat Pha Kho (วัดพะโคะ) and Wat Dee Luang (วัดดีหลวง), about 20 kms north en-route to Ranod (ระโนด). Wat Pha Kho’s Sri Lankan-style chedi offers pleasant views of Sathing Phra’s agricultural landscape, but for a perfect end of this day trip, rent a boat at Khu Khut Water Fowl Park (อุทยานนกน้ำคูขุด), only 10 mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we had a beautiful vacation in the ao thairesort, great value for the price.
we stayed 7 days in a bungalow, very comfortabel and clean, the food in the restaurant was excellent, we loved the fresh thai meals.
the manager and staff helped in anyway, we will come again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights, if you are a party animal this place is not for you! if you want to really relax an step back from a busy life then this is the place to stay! the owner and staff will do anything to make you happy during your stay, we stayed and were lucky to be able to have place virtually to ourselves! the whole beach was ours alone! apart from the odd lacal walking te cow! or I cant say in words how much we enjoyed our stay at Ao Thai and we were very reluctant to leave but had flights booked and paid or we would have stayed longer, imagine having a whole beach and sea to yourselves with your special person, heaven! we felt like we were on our second honeymoon! the bungalow we stayed in was almost on the beach! a couple of steps and your there! i spent many mornings alone watching the sunrise. the owner offered us use of a moped but we chose to stay in the resort away from human race! :) although owner did take us to a real thai market where we were the only europeans, we loved it, there is plenty to do within a short distance of the resort if you feel the need to, we will be back and will keep dreaming of the place until we can return! Go see for yourself you will not be sorry!

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant

Address: 63/2 Moo 1 Bo Dan | Sathing Phra 90190, Sathing Phra Songkhla South Thailand, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Sathing Phra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sathing Phra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront hotel and bungalow resort with an exclusive restaurant for sophisticated guests from all over the world, who set high value on the original Thailand off the beaten track. Far away from mass tourism we are offering individual care, suggestions and company with locals and their families. Relaxing, contact to country and locals as well as a bridge to the Thai culture and lifestyle are taking center stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ao Thai Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.