We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bell Hotel to your Saves list
Bell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Staying at the camping in very wet weather we looked for a location to get some food. What a surprise. Even if it was rather late with no dining guest we were welcome, and we had an excellent well cooked dinner with interesting choices for a reasonable price. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    16
    19
    7
See reviews for
25
55
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whittlesey, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on the 27th June 2012. This was for a short break. The room although small was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were excellent.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stopped in for an early evening post-walk meal. Menu was interesting and varied - including hot stone cooking, and, when we were there, an asparagus-themed special menu. Vegetarians were well catered for too. Prices were mid-range, but I would say the food on offer was at the top end of the spectrum, so excellent value.

The staff were very friendly and had 'can-do' attitudes. The service was efficient, and despite the high expectations that the menu set, the food when it came did not disappoint. Would certainly visit again next time we're in the area.

The pub also had a separate bar area and a garden, and a couple of ales on at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here on business with a colleague in June 2012. Lydia greeted us and was very welcoming, friendly and efficient. Breakfast is served from 8o/c however when we said that we needed to leave by 7 Lydia offered to come in early to ensure that we had some breakfast before we left - I have never experienced that anywhere before.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was huge, but no bath which may disappoint some.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend using The Bell if you ever have the pleasure of being in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent one night at "The Bell" at the beginning of June and I can say it has been a great experience. Our room was lovely, exactly what you can see in the pictures on their website, clean and tidy. It was quite small but it was just perfect for a couple.
We also had dinner in the pub. Their offer gluten free options if fact you can find them on Coeliac UK website. I had Leek and Potato Soup, and I highly recommend it - simply amazing! Then I had Chicken and Asparagus and it was quite good. My boyfriend was a little less satisfy with his main but he said he will choose better next time.
We had full English breakfast in the morning. It was good but I'd suggest to add some extra to the gluten free one because we cannot have the sausage, the black pudding and the bread of course and so I was still a bit hungry.
The location is perfect if you want to visit the Malvern Hills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Booked for a 4 night break in the Cotswolds as reviews were good (and so they should be!) and the location was central for the area. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome by management, staff and customers. Nothing was too much trouble. Food, both Breakfasts and dinners were tremendous, excellent quality, price and devine flavours. Could not fault anything and can only but recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is not just a pub(lic house). This is a gastronomic experience in which you need to participate! From Doom Bar Cornish Ale through Hot Stone cooked meats, all served in a spacious dining room set around an open fire place that is innovatively designed in the centre of the room, sending out heat in all directions. For good food in Worcestershire, don't miss it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Address: Church St, Charlbury OX7 3PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Charlbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.