We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great English Pub Grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Whiteleaf, Princes Risborough HP27 0LL, England
01844 344476
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great English Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We love this family run pub and are frequent visitors.
Father and son do all the cooking whilst mum, Sue, keeps it all ticking along perfectly. Situated in the pretty village of Whiteleaf beside the Ridgeway its a perfect location for walkers. On a Friday night it can be rammed to the gunnels with locals and their dogs, passers bys and a few well known celebs tucking in to the freshly made food. So, as they say,the proof of the eating is in the pudding!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“greatpub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is a must go in Princes Risborough. The perfect English pub. warm cheap and gourmet pub food. i ate and drank here 4 times in 10 days and can honestly say best pub ive been to in the English countryside. steak burger and steak dinner are fantastic along with three alternating local beers. great food friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had the gammon egg and chips for dinner, it was delicious and I wasn't kept waiting. Very attentive staff, lovely atmosphere, lovely pub

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the Chilterns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

On a walk in the Chilterns seven of us descended on this pub on a misty and muddy late October day. We left our muddy boots at the front door and we were very warmly welcomed by the owner landlady.

Good fresh home cooked pub grub which we all thoroughly enjoyed. With a couple of pints of beer each the overall cost was £17 per head. Not cheap but good food and very well kept real ale.

(Thwaites, Breakspurs and the local Aylesbury Copper Beech (which sadly ran out on our arrival).

A small negative. The pub is difficult to find - my friends with us from Amersham had never found it before. It deserves to be better advertised or signposted!

Recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Gem of a pub in beautiful Chilterns!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The Red Lion is a total gem. Non of your chain pub rubbish here! the red lion is unique being a freehold with a great situation, cosy interior and a family friendly welcome. Not clicky which for a village pub is refreshing. The food is amazing and in generous portions - happy days!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
 
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.