We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peking Inn

The Peking Inn
High Street, Cookham SL6 9SL, England
1628520900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Cookham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a June evening on a Saturday night, We had to wait an extra 20 minutes for our table as there were still a couple dining on our table.

When we were showed our table the staff were very pleasant, we ordered a bottle of wine and decided on one of the set menus, The food was good, but not exquiste, but worth the 19,00 a head for three courses.

The restaurant was busy all night, and staff kept relaying tables well past 9.00. p.m. It does seem very popular with the locals.

We would visit again, but there are other restaurants to try in the village.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First class :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great setting and atmosphere. Very friendly staff and excellent food. Visit many many Chinese restaurants , this is head and shoulders above all.!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

All the family (including teenage children) adore the delicious food at the most friendly Peking Inn ! A great choice of the known favourites (Beef in Black Bean Sauce is WOW !) plus some less well known (Fried Squid in Spicy Salt and the so GOOD Tender Loin of Beef in Teriyaki Sauce !). Reasonably priced and you get top quality food and atmosphere for your money. Highly recommended for a family meal (eat in or take out) or for a bigger celebration. Pam and her lovely team are to be thanked for providing the best Chinese cuisine in the area (and I would say for miles beyond Cookham !).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have been a fan of The Peking Inn ever since we discovered it. Great for eating in and for take aways. There is a dearth of good Chinese restaurants in Marlow, High Wycombe so really worth the journey. Particularly like the crispy duck and deep fried chilli beef. Delightful people running the restaurant and whilst waiting for my take away yesterday happily munched through a generous supply of prawn crackers! Child friendly too and not at all pretentious. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been regulars at this restaurant for years and the food has been consistently good as well as the friendliness of the staff. We believe that the new owner Pam together with her right hand man John and the rest of the staff now have made this restaurant the best it has ever been.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peking Inn also viewed

Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Peking Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peking Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.