We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsure what to make of Luke's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luke's Dining Room at Sanctum On The Green

Luke's Dining Room at Sanctum On The Green
The Old Cricket Common | Cookham Dean, Cookham SL6 9NZ, England
01628 482 638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 17 Restaurants in Cookham
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Creating classic dishes with an imaginative edge, Luke Thomas heads the kitchen at Sanctum on the Green. The modern menu offers ham hock terrine with homemade piccalilli, or a sirloin of succulent beef with a fricassee of snails. The sumptuous cuisine is served in an inviting setting, with rustic beams and plush leather furniture.
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unsure what to make of Luke's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Mixed thoughts about the experience . Small menu , food well cooked and tasty but pretty safe so somewhat of a disappointment having seen Luke told to 'tone down' on Great British Menu . One surprise was the restaurant running out of Triple cook chips and really didn't see the point of the very average bread served in a paper bag . The Scallops with curried mussels and Pea and Ham starters were delicious and the belly of pork succulent but needed more of the sauce spheres, slow cooked lamb also very tasty. Biggest problem was the overall service , nothing specific just seemed generally muddled and amateurish . If I was more local I would revisit but not worth the longer journey again.I think Luke needs to step it up a gear if he wants to continue his early success with his own name

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    20
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place in lovely venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We ordered steak and chips but misread the menu and did not realise the chips were onion chips and not potato, so we had to order extra chips. All the sides cost extra, so it is not cheap but it was a delicious meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, relaxing setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch, food very good (although menu not that original) - only downside was the roast potatoes - I needed a hammer ideally - far too hard! But definitely thumbs-up to the rest of the meal. Roast beef was cooked to perfection, as was the veg. Dessert was divine.

The restaurant itself is very inviting, nice and intimate, and perfect for a bite to eat on a hot summers day. Service was attentive but not intrusive, staff were knowledgeable and friendly.

Will definitely go back again....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fish dishes really excellent, attentive friendly service reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

To start three of the group had the scallops and rated them excellent, I had deep fried blue cheese with chicory leaves which was quite small - three small balls of cheese - but it was delicious and we went for flavour not for volume. Two Red Mullet and two Sea Bream for main courses also delicious and we finished the meal feeling replete but not overly full. A bottle of wine and tap water and a bill of a tad over £40 per head seemed good value for money. We will return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, pity about the bar service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Once out taxi driver found the place, we were warmly welcomed and invited to have a pre-dinner drink. So one gin and tonic and one Manhattan ... surely not a problem but, sadly, yes it was. The young bar staff did not know what a Manhattan was but, they said, they did have a book! after some time, nothing arrived and I was invited to come and make my own Manhattan. What a laugh but rather sad for an establishment trying to build a good reputation. The food here is excellent, well cooked and well presented with a good choice. Scallops, steak and delightful desserts were all enjoyed. My wife spotted Luke in the bar but, sadly, he never took the trouble, to pop round the tables to say hello - it was not busy - despite being a Friday night - but it would have made all the difference, especially as we had chosen to visit based on his recent TV appearances.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Dining Room at Sanctum On The Green also viewed

Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Broadway, Cotswolds
 

Been to Luke's Dining Room at Sanctum On The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luke's Dining Room at Sanctum On The Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.