We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best place in Hamble” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Rat Cellar & Kitchen

River Rat Cellar & Kitchen
High Street, Hamble SO31 4HA, England
023 8045 7801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Hamble
Price range: $23 - $53
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easily the best place in Hamble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have been eating here all year round since they opened and we've never been disappointed whether it's been a crew dinner or as a couple. Always warmly welcomed by the owners, a perfect example of how much better such a restaurant is than a "chain". Nice wine list but a little pricey perhaps but the food is good enough to warrant a little luxury.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Was not disappointed...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Wanted somewhere nice to take my mother for a nice Sunday lunch when visiting the area and thought we'd give the River Rat a go based on previous reviews, very glad we did.

The location, and decor were lovely. The food (Asparagus, Boar Pate, Scallops starters, followed by Lamb, Hake and Fillet Steak mains) were all perfect, nice sized portions and served by friendly staff... Really enjoyed our visit and may well return again for a future visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and great service , mike and Francine never let us down .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

If only we ate here more often , 1 a month isn't enough .. Always a good evening . Book early to avoid disappointment

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food good, wine excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at the River Rat having visiting last summer, when we weren't sure if it was as good as it could be.

However this time round the service, food and particularly the wine were excellent and we will return again soon.

For fans of white wine, try the Sancerre.....pricey but well worth it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SUPERB EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a superb experience, our first time at the River Rat we were a party of 10 celebrating a birthday on (11th Jan 2014) and will definitely eat there again, urge you to experience the excellent food, wonderful ambience, top rate service, brilliant selection of wines, the Rioja that was suggested by staff was everything he said it would be. Well done to all the staff and the incredible chef, have recommended you to friend already will definitely be seeing you again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rat Cellar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Hamble, Hampshire
 

Been to River Rat Cellar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rat Cellar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.