We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for 2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rat Cellar & Kitchen

River Rat Cellar & Kitchen
High Street, Hamble SO31 4HA, England
023 8045 7801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Hamble
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $53
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chandlers Ford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely venue, helpful staff (incl. owners), friendly atmosphere - some dressed up - some casual (weekending off the boats in the nearby marina). Lovely simple menu plus specials board.

Good selection of wines.

Recommend you book - parking could be a little challenging for land lubbers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday party for 17”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently booked the River Rat in Hamble for my father-in-law's 80th birthday. We ate outside in their garden in a thatched summerhouse with the remainder of the party under sunshades.
The hosts were very helpful both in making the booking and were friendly and welcoming on the day. The service was excellent for our party some of whom had dietary needs which were catered for with no fuss. The food was delicious and served promptly and professionally and considering that we had ordered a la carte I thought it was excellent value for money too.
A pleasant, well-run and friendly restaurant in a picturesque village - we had a great afternoon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Top quality food, fine wines... Nice menu choice and service very good.. Nice area for a stroll afterwards to see the moon over the river..

Nice for groups and couples..

Have been three times now

Scallops and bacon very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“welcoming after a sail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Welcoming, and put themselves out to fit everyone in, a very relaxing place to spend a couple of hours with freinds, if a little rough around the edges. The garden is magical. Food is fresh, tasty and well prepared, but one person in our party had the same salad base for starter and main. Waitresses are cheerful and helpful, but service can be a little haphazard when they are busy. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab dinner for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Really nice meal on Saturday sitting in the courtyard garden. Service fantastic, staff very friendly. Food really nice; we had the scallops and the pork belly as starters and then lamb (huge) and I had lovely fresh crab. Good wine menu. Great meal, would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rat Cellar & Kitchen also viewed

Hamble, Hampshire
 

Been to River Rat Cellar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rat Cellar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.