We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, good golf course, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA to your Saves list
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Horsham, West Sussex
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, good golf course, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed with a group of 18 for a golf break. Check-in was fine and the golf pro was very helpful confirming our golf arrangements, advising on holes for longest drive etc. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff throughout our stay were friendly and attentive but on at least two occasions snacks ordered in the sports bar took too long to arrive. One person had to cancel a bacon roll before playing as his tee time was imminent and two others waited an hour for cheesy chips after a round. The golf course was in good condition (excellent greens) and was enjoyed by all our group whose skill levels vary from single figure handicaps to occasional hackers. Food and service in the restaurant for dinner were excellent each night. Wine prices were a bit eye-watering if you're a typical golf society and buying a few bottles but that seems to be the norm in many hotels nowadays. Breakfast on the first morning in the bar area was good. On subsequent mornings (busy weekend) we had a buffet which was acceptable but not quite the same standard. Bar service was good but prices again on the high side when buying in bulk so we ventured a few hundred yards down the road to the Peartree Inn pub which is a bit like going back to the 1970's - no food apart from crisps, good beer and friendly locals. Not for the sophisticates but we enjoyed it. Overall an enjoyable break and I'd happily go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    301
    136
    69
    33
See reviews for
173
269
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Booked the Botley Park Hotel as part of a peppa pig package. Got a really good dinner bed and breakfast deal in a feature suite and was really impressed , particularly after reading some reviews on this site. Check in was swift and our guy , Andrew,I think was efficient to say the least, helpful and informative.
We chose from the a la carte menu on both nights and were very pleased to get first class service with top notch food. Thanks to Jose, our waiter who was attentive and patient with our two year old.
Peppa pig world was amazing, so clean and inviting. The attention to detail second to none.
Overall a fun filled,luxurious long weekend break..
Long live peppa pig.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here with there Peppa Pig package with our 4 year old. The hotel was very nice, nucked away slightly and very welcoming as we arrived. We were greeted by a lady at reception who checked us in swiftly and even had a pepper pig key and pack for our son.! (simple but a nice touch) there is also a childrens play area immediately inside which takes care of the kids whilst checking in.

The room itself was clean and tidy with an additional fold out camp beds made up for our little one a towel at the end. My son & I grabbed our clubs and headed down to the driving range to smash some balls.
NOTE The range is some distance from the golf reception - up a hill, round the corner and down another hill. ( I think the hotel needs to mark it out better as I didnt have a clue where I was going at one point)
Evening was great - stating with an aperitif in the lobby bar & onto the restaurant for dinner. Food was simply fab! We opted for dinner with our room and what a great option.
I opted for Scalops to start, fish in a crust as a main, and both were fab washed down with a bottle of Champagne (Which was pricy but worth it) and there is a kids menu with something for all...
Breakfact was A full English or continental and was great & Checkout was quick smooth. Onwards to perrer pig world. NB Dont forget to grab your Pepper pig tickets - we were not given them - we remembered after we left and had to turm back ...DOH!

The only downside was breakfast in the morning, the hotel was unfortunately not ready for everyone turning up to eat at the same time! Although the breakfast was varied and filling. nice place to stay, convenient for Peppa Pig World.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Not a hotel but a golf club.

Modern spacious hotel, rooms were reasonable and the beds particularly comfortable.

My teenage sons, my wife and I stayed for one night in August principally to watch the T20 international at the Rose Bowl. Reception had no idea it was on and couldn't provide any travel assistance despite being 15 mins away. Quite a few of the guest were there for the cricket to the surprise, I guess of the hotel.

The bar was small under staffed, over priced and chaotic.

Breakfast was a disaster the room far too small for the guests that were staying there, the hotel wasn't full! Our table was in the bar! Waited nearly an hour for a very small cooked breakfast, after moaning twice. The restaurant manager admitted it was unacceptable. The golfers were treated much better but perhaps that was luck.

Health club small and basic. The sauna and steam rooms were nice though, shame the whirlpool wasn't working.

No visible management to complain to, will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we didn’t meet your expectations .

All points regarding service will be followed up with the departmental managers to ensure this does not occur in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here through a Peppa Pig package with our 8 and 2 year old. The hotel was welcoming and there was a childrens play area immediately inside. The gentlemen on reception was friendly and included the children in the booking in and gave them play packs and their own peppa pig key for the room (which my son didn't let go of!). The room itself was nice, tidy and clean with camp beds made up for the children with their towels at the end. We took a swim in the pool which is open until 8 for children. We at in the sports bar part of the hotel where the food was nice although very small portions. The only downside was breakfast in the morning, the hotel was unfortunately not ready for everyone turning up to eat at the same time! Although the breakfast was varied and filling. nice place to stay, convenient for Peppa Pig World.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and, next time that you are due to stay, please email me personally so that I can enhance your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed on a Peppa Pig Package with our two children, 4 and 2 years old.
Hotel is about 15 miles from Peppa Pig World.
After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor we were slightly worried, but on arrival were greeted warmly by an efficient lady on reception who helped our oldest to check in himself, which he loved. He was given his own Peppa Pig room key, along with a colouring set and a carton of juice - really kind touches. There is also a little play area in reception.
The hotel itself seems well laid out and comfortably furnished. Our room was very adequate for one night although we would struggle with our two very energetic kids for more than that. Our bed was comfy and big enough for all of us! However, pillows were dreadful and affected our sleep as you ended up sleeping in them rather than on them!
Main issues (not major but annoying) were no hairdryer, and quite a lack of toiletries. No hair conditioner, comb, moisturiser all of which we would expect in a three star hotel and upwards. No where to hand your hand towel near the basin and towel warmer tiny.
We didn't use the swimming pool as we didn't have time but it looked very nice.
The breakfast was very good indeed. The staff were very helpful with my fussy children and husband!
Only 5 miles to Swan Centre in Eastleigh which has a great selection of family friendly restaurants, bowling alley and cinema.
We would deinately recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

on arrival reception was a mess - childrens play area not the best impression for a 4star.

we booked 3 executive rooms - no robes, slippers, wine or chocs in room. the rooms / bathrooms were fine resonably spacious and clean, restaurant food was good and well presented both at dinner and breakfast. staff were very attentive and there was a nice ambience

the golf course was in excellent condition, not too hilly, some interesting holes, fast greens and well kept fairways.

but the service in the club bar was awful - under staffed. both times got the orders wrong and waited more than 40mins for food to arrive + slow to clear tables

all staff were polite and we had a great time between us in spite of the hotel not quite living up to our expectations

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA

Address: Winchester Road | Boorley Green, Botley, Southampton SO32 2UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Botley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Botley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Botley
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel Country
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Botley Park Hotel, Golf & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.