We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcombe Tea Rooms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Balcombe Tea Rooms
Hope Cottage, Bramble Hill, Balcombe, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Balcombe
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delightful Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

It is always delightful to come here, with freshly prepared meals, and an omelette is really worth having. Our teenagers prefer this to MacDonalds.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best breakfast in mid sx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Eating breakfast here was as good as at home, i have tried most cafes in Burgess Hill and Haywards Heath and this beats the lot

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing - - -”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very disappointed. The only redeeming feature was the palatable and plentiful Sunday roast. The very inviting array of home-made cakes can be on a takeaway basis, which is what we did. Unfortunately the carrot cake turned out to be far too moist and fairly tasteless. The place has the atmosphere of a "caff", with condensation running down the windows, part of the room too warm and when we got home we realised that our clothes reeked of cooking even though we were seated at the furthest point from the kitchen. The tables are basic wipeable cafe style. From viewing the menu it can be value for money depending on your choice - a Devon Cream Tea with two scones seemed reasonable at £5.50 but scrambled eggs on toast at £6.25 seemed at the high end. We were greeted warmly by the sole waitress but a wait of threequarters of an hour from ordering to receiving any food is unacceptable, especially since most people had chosen the roast, which can surely be anticipated. This was obviously a popular place with a group of cyclists milling around outside also being served with drinks and cakes, which no doubt added to the lengthy wait. We are unlikely to eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I came here today with a friend after it had been recommended to us. We were given a warm and friendly welcome by a lovely lady . it is strang but I feel I shouldn't be writing this review in case too many others discover this little tea room and crowd it out. We had coffee and cake and it was delicious, the cake,one raspberry and coconut and one coffee and walnut ( there were lots of other choices) were home made and the slices large,I don't know how any one in the village remains slim with this little gem on their doorstep. Don't be put off by the outside which is very plain, or by the lack of a car park any where close by,we parked in the road outside which was fine. We will definitely come here again . Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food with good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is a real gem. I am reluctant to give this review as don't want to be crowded out when I next visit! It is only open 10am to 4pm and although described as tea rooms, also does excellent hot and cold lunches. I have been there several times and feel proud to take my Mum who also enjoys the food. The homemade cakes and puddings are to die for, but as yet, I have been too full up to try them. My favourite is the liver, bacon and onions, and comes with a choice of potato. Their steak pie is legendry. They have to serve the veg separately as there is no room on the plate. The portions are very large, and Ive seen a big burly builder struggling through their allday breakfast! They don't have a licence but will allow you to bring your own if having a meal. The ladies are very pleasant and helpful and there are a couple of tables outside where you can eat in the good weather. Even the sandwiches are brimming with the filling. I try and visit at least once every two weeks, and have never been disappointed. This is Balcombe best kept secret - until now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balcombe Tea Rooms also viewed

Balcombe, West Sussex
Balcombe, West Sussex
 
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to Balcombe Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcombe Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.