We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming and thoughtful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bakery Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Old Bakery Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Church Street, Amberley BN18 9NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Amberley B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very welcoming and thoughtful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst cycling along the south downs way. It really was a lovely and spacious apartment as it had a bathroom, bedroom, lounge and patio! Sarah really has thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, there are dvd's, magazines, books, muscle-soak bubble bath, selection of tea's, coffee's, biscuits and sweets! She also cooked a delicious 3 course candle-lit dinner, for me and my partner, so we did not even have to leave the oasis of calm to forage for food! I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. It really was perfect and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed three nights here and what a brilliant find it is. Sarah and Fraser Wheeler make their guests very welcome. They only have the one 'apartment' with spacious nicely decorated bedroom, separate bathroom with bath/shower and sitting room with TV. Evening meals are available which is good as the local pub has closed althought there is a big campaign to get it reopened. The garden which is for the use of guests has a summerhouse where you can have your evening meal if you want to eat 'al fresco'. There are views to the South Downs from the garden. The evening meal was three courses and was beautifully cooked and presented. The second time we ate in we decided to have just one course. Breakfasts are likewise delicious with standard fare or delights such as pancakes with fresh fruit and maple syrup, homemade cake and muffins. There is a lot to see in the area - Parham House, Arundel, Nutbourne Vineyard and good walks along the river or on the South Downs. We shall certainly be back to explore the area further. Thankyou Sarah for being such a good host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

There isn't a lot more I can add to the excellent reviews already left by previous travellers - it really is as good as the reviews indicate.

The building is beautiful and steeped in history much of which you can explore in the cuttings and pictures in the rooms. Our hosts, Sarah, Fraser, Will and Francesca, were so welcoming and friendly - it was like staying with long lost family. Sarah's breakfast in the morning was incredible - freshly baked muffins and banana loaf as well as pancakes and full English - wow!

I hadn't realised that we would have access to a whole suite of rooms, so this was a real surprise and joy when we arrived, particularly as we had a back garden and summer house to relax in too. I would happily have stayed longer but our plans meant we couldn't. We'll be back though!

Room Tip: There is only one to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Perfect. After 20 years of mediocre hotels and B and Bs, this is a real find. The prettiest B and B, and on the prettiest street in England, walking distance from a direct rail line to Victoria. Warm welcome, huge DVD library, wifi, lovely Labrador, fabulous hosts and food. Even dinners, if you want it. Tremendously welcoming.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Bakery B&B which offered five star facilities and service with that additional touch of class! An entire suite of bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, garden and an enclosed outdoor gazebo where we enjoyed the cool summer air and tonnes of freshly brewed tea. Tastefully decorated, perfectly clean, the Old Bakery offers a warm and homely ambiance crowned off by the delicious meals and charming hosts. We loved the breathtaking beauty of Amberley and the great time we had staying at the Old Bakery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Everything was done to an extremely high standard with many thoughtful touches throughout our 2 night stay (we left very early in the mornings, breakfast things were laid out for us). The actual bnb living area (much more than a room) was lovely and extremely well thought out. There was a total absence of any awkwardness in staying in someone's home; no doubt due to the kindness and openness of the hosts. Would strongly recommend staying!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ranks as one of the most outstanding B & Bs at which we have stayed. Sarah's welcome and hospitality were second to none. Our very comfortable guest accommodation consisted of bedroom, bathroom and sitting room room, leading out to a pretty garden and summer house. Sarah cooked us a splendid dinner, served in the privacy of our own lounge. Breakfast was equally good. Amberley is such a pretty village, and we were treated to a brilliant display of hollyhocks. An excellent place to stay whilst walking The South Downs Way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bakery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery Bed and Breakfast

Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of a picture perfect English village within the South Downs National Park, in an area of outstanding beauty, excellent walks, country pubs and historic houses. Close to Goodwood, Brighton and 1hr 20 minutes from London. Comfortable, spacious, private double bedroom suite with access to patio garden in pretty 18th century cottage. Extensive breakfast menu and evening meals cooked to order using fresh local produce. A "Luxury B&B with fantastic food"...."5* hospitality". Come and visit the English countryside at its best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Bed And Breakfast Amberley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bakery Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.