We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a DO NOT MISS hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amberley Castle

Save Saved
You added Amberley Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amberley Castle
Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“a DO NOT MISS hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

if you are willing to drive (or take the train) south out of London toward Dover, which is worth seeing/touring as well, this is a wonderful stay, great clean rooms, a romantic courtyard to have a glass of wine in before dinner, or just stroll in the afternoon-the lounge areas inside are intimate as well---its a true castle, try to stay in the main building if you can, the food is excellent, the peacocks are evident, its a short walk into the village and just a bit of a drive into the main town of Amberley--we've stayed a number of times and just keep coming back--the history of the castle is worth the visit by itself, and wait until you drive up to the castle and over the moat in through the passageway--you'll be transported into another world and you'll be glad you were---

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    49
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
25
143
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking a taste of England, with the addition of real peace and quiet then Amberley Castle is the answer. The staff were discrete and efficient. The food was excellent. Our room was inside castle, so the only noise was the occasional peacock cry, and the view was the rolling English countryside, it was well furnished, as you would expect for a castle. The grounds were very well kept - and joy to explore.

If you book an Afternoon Tea in the Library as we did, you will need to skip lunch to leave room for the cream & scones ( and maybe plan for a snack in the evening) as it almost a crime to leave a scrumptious morsel behind!

I have tried to find a negative point , and found one ! The lack of a choice of pillows.
oh and my sat nav directed me to the a non-existing entrance via Amberley village - just keep an eye out for the Union Jack on the castle instead.

Please do not book this Hotel if you looking for hot and cold running ghosts, they only have a part time one, and we missed seeing her. I guess we will have go back and try again, and try the croquet and the 18 hole golf (putting) course.

Room Tip: for a good room, ask for one inside the castle that has been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location, lovely staff, lovely breakfast, lovely room..........except no privacy in the bathroom, no milk for tea and coffee.

We have stayed in nicer hotels which are better value.

If you did the 4 in a Bed rating system.......... It wouldn't get 10/10 for cleanliness.

The prices charged are for exclusivity, with 2 other couples in the castle not exactly busy.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber1103, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we welcome all guest feedback both complimentary and constructive criticism. I have taken on board your comments and will look into them. Thank you for your kind words about my staff. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at the castle.
Kind Regards
Oliver Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We decided to have an Easter getaway hoping for some nice weather the hotel was wonderful. The staff were very attentive and could not fault them. The food was very good but a little too nouveau cuisine for us. We stayed in Winchelsea room which was very comfortable. The new bathroom was excellent with a double shower. Rooms had complimentary water, fruit and biscuits. Unfortunately could not get the room warm enough as it was -2 overnight. I would recommend the hotel if you like good food and relaxing public rooms

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltdean
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had waited many years to stay at Amberley and although the setting is indeed lovely and the staff very friendly we were disppointed with some aspects.Our room was not very comfortable and overcrowded with furniture. The phones were not working and the toiletries and tea/coffee facilities a bare minimum.We had an excellent evening meal but the breakfast was appalling. The service was slow and the food was cold with very little variety eg.one croissant, no cold meats or cheese and 2 glasses of fruif juice.

Room Tip: Pay for a luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber1103, General Manager at Amberley Castle, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Amberley Castle.
I am sorry to hear that you left disappointed, I have taken on board your comments and will feed these back to the relevant departments. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at the Castle.
Kind Regards
Oliver Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Despite the wintery weather and snow flurries, we enjoyed our stay at Amberly Castle. A few cheerful daffodils and an unfailingly cheerful staff made our visit warm and hospitable. The dinners were first rate and the service perfection. If you visit, after appreciating the grounds, be sure and stroll into the village of Amberly. It has some of the most beautiful thatched cottages imaginable, no shopping, but chatty villagers. Admittedly, the price is high, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I took friends to afternoon tea on Friday. Horrid weather so we arrived almost an hour early - no problem... Could we sit by a fire? No problem... I see some on here didn't like the cakes... I did, the lovely sumptuous rich carrot cake with its soft icing was super and the lemon cake was heaven. we made sure we left as little as possible as it was all too good to waste. delicious little fruit tartlets... the scones were slightly on the dry side, but that is only to mention the only such comment of the afternoon... lovely pots of fresh clotted cream, and open pots of fresh jams etc.. We liked (and finished) the sandwiches, although with a vegetarian (as well as someone who doesn't like mustard) we did have to ask for a few alternatives, but again - no problem! We were warm, comfortable, served amiably, efficiently and with charm and we left stuffed after about 3 hours! It was a wonderful tea and I can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amberley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Amberley Castle England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amberley Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.