We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, service, venue, gardens and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amberley Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amberley Castle to your Saves list
Amberley Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service, venue, gardens and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Took up an offer for a set Sunday lunch and was not disappointed. Value for money and a nice treat. Would highly recommend. Courteous staff, excellent food and wine. Coffee taken elsewhere, followed by a stroll around the grounds and the ramparts.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    69
    26
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
235
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goring, West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our two daughters treated us to a wonderful anniversary treat; we were booked into the Bodiam Room at the Castle, which was quite luxurious. The four-poster bed was most comfortable, and we really enjoyed the whirlpool. Our evening meal was excellent, and the chef made us a lovely lemon mousse cake with a diamante '60' on it. The staff could not have been more attentive and friendly, and altogether we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: A room within the castle walls is a good choice; one is close to the lounges and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed at Amberley on a number of occasions it has always proved an outstanding place, the ambience is just so well managed, dining is of the highest standard and service overall is unbeatable, my opinion is once you try it you willhave to revisit again and again.

Room Tip: The turret rooms in main building provide great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I took my mother and daughter to this wonderful hotel as a Christmas treat and could not fault it. We stayed in the Crowhurst and Bramber rooms that are next to each other and within the castle walls. The rooms were warm and comfortable and the castle was beautifully decorated. The staff are friendly and polite.

We had a delicious dinner and were seated next to the lovely roaring fire in the dining room. The chef made a specially prepared meal for my elderly mother who didn't want anything from the 'a la carte' menu. Breakfast was equally as good.

Overall a wonderful experience - would love to go again if I win the lottery!!

Room Tip: Choose a room within the castle walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a night here between Christmas and New Year mainly because we saw a good offer which meant it was merely expensive rather than eye wateringly expensive!
The setting is beautiful with immaculate gardens (be sure to walk through the grounds to Amberley village with its chocolate box thatch cottages) and a range of comfortable public rooms to relax in. Being a castle we thought it might be chilly but it was so warm we had to ask for the heating to be turned off in our room.
We stayed in Crowhurst - a good size room with a wonderful canopied bed. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi bath and separate shower. However, there was no door between the bedroom and bathroom, just a curtain! I disliked the lack of privacy it afforded and light floods the bedroom if using the bathroom in the night.
I'm being picky but given the cost I would have expected slippers and biscuits in the room to go with tea and coffee they provide (there were robes and a good hairdryer). Oddly there was a jar of popcorn and elderberry wine.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Mobile phone reception is patchy - I could just get a signal near the window but not otherwise.
The food was OK - dinner was £55 for 2 courses. It was not as good as I would have expected from this standard of hotel and well below Michelin standard. However, breakfast was good and included in the room rate. The was a good choice with "full English" cooked to order.
Overall its a lovely romantic hotel and we enjoyed our stay. If I win the lottery, we may well return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went for afternoon tea as a Christmas treat and we were very disappointed. The location is beautiful, the castle is stunning and on arrival we were looking forward to a special experience. We were welcomed and seated in the dining room area, which had a lovely fire...very welcome as it was a cold wet afternoon. At our table we were offered tea or coffee...no one offered a choice of teas...I believe various options are available? The food was brought in on a 3 tier plate and was very underwhelming. It consisted of numerous sandwiches which had clearly been made for a while as the edges were dry. The lemon cake was the driest and most insipid lemon cake I have ever had and I actually couldn't eat it. The carrot cake was very stodgy. I have had far better cakes in most cafes...very disappointing. But the most disappointing of all was a manufactured shop bought cold mince pie...surely the kitchen could have made their own mince pies?! The scones were good but not enough cream or jam and we had to ask for more. Disappointing that the jam was in bought mini jars and not homemade preserves....maybe I was expecting too much?! We had to ask for extra tea and coffee to be brought to our table...no one offered. In fact, I asked for more tea, which the waiter brought, but he didn't ask ifmy husband wanted more coffee so we had to again ask! No separate pot of water was brought with the teapot, it just sat and stewed. Would not return and sadly couldn't recommend the afternoon tea. The lounges are beautiful and the Christmas decorations were stunning. Such a shame that the afternoon tea did not come up to scratch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arranged to meet relatives here for a special afternoon tea The night before they rang us to advise us that the main entrance had been blocked off due to the heavy rainfall we had been having and also remind us that we had booked afternoon tea which I thought was rather nice The grounds are truly wonderful Just everything you could expect it to be The staff are very helpful with good knowledge of the area and castle The furnishings are superb and all the public rooms are so well furnished and a joy to sit in. It was as though you could of been in your own front room. As the afternoon went in to evening the christmas lights and decorations in the castle became very fairytale like Now the afternoon tea well that was a bit of a disappointment The service was spot on They came round poured your first cup tea and left you to it but were always there if you needed them You could order as much tea or coffee as you like which was good The sandwiches were fresh but nothing special and as for the cakes OMG it was so disappointing the carrot cake was like bread pudding so heavy but the icing was delicious The mince pies were not home made The lemon iced cake was dry but the scones were freshly made and good Was it good value for money NO The only thing I could possibly think was that it was the Christmas holidays and maybe they didnt have the kitchen staff
The only thing was that my relatives were so wowed out by the surroundings It made it all ok for me
We have been to many many places for afternoon tea and I rate this one 3/10 for the Afternoon tea But 9/10 for the castle and grounds and staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amberley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Castle

Address: Church Street, Amberley BN18 9ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Amberley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberley Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Amberley Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberley Castle Hotel Amberley
Castle Hotel Amberley
Amberley Arundel Castle
Amberley Castle England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amberley Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.