We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pub lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Station Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8NG, England
+44 1243 696465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Bosham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A good pub lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Called in for the first time since the flood and enjoyed a beer and a good pub lunch - sausage/mash c £12 and portabellos stuffed with roasted veg c £10. Bothe were tasty and filling - 4 veg with mash were good too.
Service friendly and cheerful. A comfortable and pleasant interior plus an excellent pint of hophead completed a good lunch.
Will return and try some of the other dishes on offer.
3 real ales on offer - one from Cornwall, one from Wiltshire and one from Sussex -It would be nicw to have two local and one guest - Sussex and Hampshire/Solent have many breweries. also Dark Star have an amazing range of beers so it would be great to see some of them - Hophead is great but a change is......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your lunch - yes the O'Hagans' sausages are simply delicious and very popular - it also feels great to support another local business -completely within our ethos!

Noted your comments on the Real Ales - we do occasionally swap our Ales about to give choice and variety -but people always request the infamous three back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Top notch find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Like some others, 'La Godsmark' in the Portsmouth News was our source for The White Swan and she was spot on with her positive review.

My Mum, wife and I visited for Mother's Day lunch and it was brilliant. Nice decor, cosy and welcoming (albeit requiring a bit of dexterity on my part with the ceilings, given I'm 6 foot 4).

The menu was broad enough to provide good choice, but not to the extent of creating doubt that it was still home cooked to order, which the food most definitely was.

We had whitebait, king prawn salad and melon/parma ham to start with, and two Roast Turkey/ Scampi for mains. All were excellent, good helpings but not piled high. Fab flavours and all served with genuine enthusiasm by the friendly staff. Good range of drinks too. Value was excellent at £15.95 for two courses, and £18.95 for three, although we laid off dessert. They even gave my Mum a daffodil arrangement, which was a bonus.

The White Swan knocks for six many of the so called 'gastropubs' in these parts. The value for money, quality of food, and focus on service mean that this is a real find. I fully recommend it and we will definitely return soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us and glad that we lived up to Carol Godsmark's recommendation especially on what was such a crazy day!

The daffodils were an absolute pleasure - just a little gift for all the mums who visited that day.

Yes, pretty much everything is homemade on site - that way we can be sure of the quality and the ingredients (in case of allergies or special dietary requests) and the enthusiasm is absolutely genuine - we all love what we do.

We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our family (10 people) visited this restaurant yesterday 3rd March 2013. This was in response to the review in the Portsmouth News. Having been to so many pubs and restaurants which have offered poor food, it was refreshing to visit The Swan. This pub offered very good food at a very
good price. Our bill came to £155.00 for 10 people including the drinks. The landlady was a tremendous host as was all the staff we had contact with. We will definitely be returning again.

Thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review - unlike at a lot of other eateries, large parties are always welcome at The White Swan as they add to the atmosphere of the day. Absolutely our pleasure to host your family lunch.

We hope we are always value for money but that the service and food are always of the highest standard.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We picked this out randomly, wanting somewhere different to eat for a change, and were amazed at what we found. My other half started with chicken liver pate, which was firm and coarse with a delightlful flavour, and I started with baked brie - also superb. For mains we both had lamb rump steak, me accepting the sauteed potatoes as per the menu, but my other half negotiated bubble and squeak instead. They were excellent pieces of lamb, perfectly cooked, and left us both stunned with the meal as a whole.
Three real ales were on offer, all nicely kept and served, although they were all on the paler end of the spectrum; a bottle of very drinkable house white for £13.50 also went down nicely.
Overall: well worth a trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Alex

I remember your visit well and glad that you both had such a lovely meal that exceeded expectations. Those Lamb Rumps are always a hit and bubble and squeak - well nothing is better for comfort food in my opinion!

We welcome your return trip soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best find in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been searching for some time for decent restaurants in the area and were very pleasantly surprised by this one. Its location on the roundabout gives little clue - but the food was delicious and home-made: we had houmus, whitebait and feta to start, bubble and squeak and sausages, and burger for main: all very fresh, artisan and the portions were generous. We took our one year old boy and the staff were very helpful and took an interest. Considering the quality of the food the prices are very reasonable and we will definitely be back sooner or later.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteSwan2309, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi thakns for your visit and your great review - yes we try to make everything ourselves or source from a local supplier - it feels really good for one local business to support another!!

We love kids - having 3 of my own, plus many of our other staff members also having children it is our pleasure. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.