We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and welcoming ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Bleu

The Anchor Bleu
Quayside, Bosham, Chichester po188ls, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Bosham
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and welcoming ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch, came across pub by accident really. As soon as we set foot in the door, lovely lady who I think was the landlady came straight over and sorted us a table , got a high hair for our little boy and just generally made us feel welcome and relaxed. Food was lovely and I will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    103
    30
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Improvements - but have they actually improved this lovely pub?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Welcome friendly. Food nice - as always. Not sure if there are new owners as the youngish staff have gone - a shame as they were friendly and efficient. Beer still well kept, coffee bean to cup and 'not bad for machine coffee' according to my other half. The choice of food was good; soup, fish and chips, hearty pies and salads. Our shepherds pie and prawn and fish curry were both good although it would have been nice to have a couple of poppadoms and some chutney with the curry.
The pub did seem to have a less cosy feel (I first came here about 28 years ago!) and it was a shame to hear the barman (owner?) swear under his breath...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Found this pub in Bosham by chance and what a find.Food was excellent along with the service and ambiance. We travelled back the next day for lunch and had a seat next to the roaring fire,lovely!!! Unfortunatly we had to return home the next day but we will be back .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner in the new upstairs room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We took friends for dinner and had booked the new upstairs room which has made such a difference to the size of the Anchor Bleu. We didn't expect to see the view as it was going to be dark but a lovely full moon lit up the harbour and it was fabulous. We shared calamari and whitebait to start and it was amazing, I don't think I've ever had better. The main courses were also excellent and the pudding menu had all the classics that we like to see and it was difficult to choose which to have. Wine was also great as was the service. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Birthday supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a table for eight people and have to say the service, food and drink (real ale and good wine) was great. A thoroughly enjoyable evening notwithstanding the pub had recently been flooded a few days before.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Bleu also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.