We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Bosham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benbow Bed & Breakfast

Benbow Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bosham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benbow Bed & Breakfast
Shore Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Bosham B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Stay in Bosham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our stay at Benbow was delightful from beginning to end. The room we had was spotless, comfortable and beautifully furnished with a tasteful, seaside feel. Thoughtful touches include fresh sparkling water and lots of useful information on the surrounding area. The house is beautiful and Mike and Pippa are excellent hosts, friendly and professional. We arrived on a rainy afternoon and were immediately offered tea and some of Pippa's incredible homemade cake! After being told the Anchor Bleu pub was fully booked for dinner Mike and Pippa were able to call up and get us a table anyway. They even gave us a torch and an umbrella for our walk across to the pub. A wonderful nights sleep was followed by waking to fresh salty air and a delicious homemade breakfast. A quintessential B&B experience. We also loved their gorgeous dog! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed overnight at Benbow where Pippa made us feel extremely welcome. The bedroom and en-suite bathroom were spotlessly clean and very comfortable, breakfast was excellent and the location is wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is one of the finest B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The position is perfect with direct views over the creek and shoreline. The house is beautifully restored and has a great feeling of solid history, tasteful decor and fittings that have been fully modernised. Practical things are excellent - comfortable bed, sash windows that really work and good bathroom en suite.

We arrived at the house from a cycle ride around the harbour. Soaked to the skin and exhausted, but were welcomed in, our wet things were taken and hung on the Aga, while we made full use of the excellent shower. Then Pippa provided us with tea to help us recover. Both Mike and Pippa could not have made us feel more welcome. It really was like staying with friends and we could not recommend it highly enough!

The area is one of our favourites and there is no doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Beautiful 18th century home, tastefully updated. Both guest rooms have stunning views of the water. Hosts Mike & Pippa and their extremely well-behaved golden retriever "Woodi" really made me feel at home. Bosham is a peaceful and interesting town, with history of its own (don't miss the very old church there) and is near some major attractions. I highly recommend Portsmouth and the Roman ruins at Fishbourne. Millstream restaurant nearby is quite good for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hospitable. Comfortable. Memorable. And a view from the bedroom to die for. Leave the car on the drive (above the high water mark) and walk round the harbour peninsulas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights here in Benbow, during our first visit to England. It was the most charming and lovely experience for both of us, to be guest of Mike and Pipa!
The house with the two guest rooms is very pretty and lovely. It is in excellent shape.
A welcome tea in front of the fireplace made us feel at home quickly. Breakfast, very tasty and fresh cooked from Pipa was one of the best we've ever had.
There are much possiblilities for nice walks at the coast.
Also Mike and Pipa gave us much very good hints for activities.
If we are ever in this area we will very much like to stay there again.
Thank you Mike and Pipa for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, Herts UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Bosham is an historic unspoilt village overlooking a picturesque creek.
We decided to try the 'Benbow' despite it not having any Tripadvisor reviews.
Pleased to say we made a wise choice in what is the only B and B on the Creek.
The Benbow is a charming house with 2 guest rooms both with splendid views to the water. The room with the bath is the slightly larger of the 2.
The house and bedrooms were immacculate, with Pippa, the owner, very helpful regarding local information.
Mention also needs to be made of the little 'extra' touches which make for an enjoyable stay :- tea and cake on arrival, mineral water in room, freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast etc.
In summary, an extremely comfortable B and B in a superb location - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benbow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Bed & Breakfast

Address: Shore Road, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Bosham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bosham
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ONLY waterside property in Bosham. A 1760 beautifully restored Queen Anne house with stunning views across the water to the church and quay which are a very short walk from the house as are the local pub and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Benbow Bed & Breakfast Bosham, Chichester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benbow Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Benbow Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list