We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Millstream Hotel and Restaurant

The Millstream Hotel and Restaurant
Bosham Lane | Bosham, Bosham, Chichester PO18 8HL, England
+44 1243 573 234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Bosham
Price range: $25 - $57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Millstream Hotel and Restaurant is located in Bosham, a stones throw from Bosham Creek in the Chichester Harbour and surrounded by the stunning Sussex downs. Millstream is a haven from the hustle and bustle, and its country-style interior and award-winning modern British menu provides a tranquil setting for long lunches and romantic evening meals. Popular dishes include the seared Shetland scallops with pea and mint purée, pancetta and foie gras cream; stuffed breast of guinea fowl with celeriac gratin, leek purée and honey roasted squash foam; and the fine selection of British cheeses served with biscuits, walnut bread, fruit chutney, celery and grapes. The bar, with its cosy fireside setting, is ideal for pre/post dinner drinks.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at The Millstream for 3 nights and attended a friend's wedding, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a lovely spacious double aspect room, with everything we need, but the décor was a bit dated. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and efficient.
The breakfast selection was very good. The food was well presented, freshly prepared and very tasty, however the charge on top of the room rate was a bit steep!
The gardens at the Millstream were lovely with plenty of photo opportunities and various seating area's enabling the wedding guests to gather outside and enjoy the sunshine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
U.K
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with pleasant staff. The food is well presented and when I asked the waiter if he thought that we needed to order side dishes, he said that there was no need to which in my opinion is good if they are that honest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent friendly place to go for a meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We ate our meal in the bistro as the restaurant was full and was very impressed with the staff and the food. The young waiter obviously enjoyed working there and passed on his happiness to the customers, His words were ...what is there not to like. This was a wonderful attitude.
The food was excellent and the chef was cooking for both the main restaurant and the bistro. We highly urge anyone to try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Arrived in the afternoon for tea - or any drink will do!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived on our bikes as many do. I asked is it possible for afternoon tea staff looked at watch said yes at 3!!! it was 6 mins past..Grrrrrrr.

WE sat done had a menu we had to find, and no one appeared for 25 mins!! so we got up and left as really we had message do not want to work in the afternooon on a Monday thank you!!
It was alike the Crossroad motel!!!! for any 70's people!!! another customer arrived asked for iced coffee as hot day answer no!! is this really a aa rossette2????
need serious customer care

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good place to celebrate anniversary etc for the over 60s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We celebrated a 70th birthday with lunch at this stylish restaurant. It's not exactly a place for young people but it is great for special family centred events of mixed ages. We were a party of 6 and enjoyed the calm relaxing environment and very lovely staff. The meal was excellent and they served our birthday cup cakes that we brought along in style.
This was our second visit and we will definitely go again. After the meal we walked to Bosham Key before setting off home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millstream Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Millstream Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millstream Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.