We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tanjungan Village, Borobudur 56501, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rp.2,622,000 (IDR)
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Borobudur
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I flew into Yogyakarta and were picked up by the hotel car service followed by a two-hour drive to Plataran. The airport transfer fee is USD 40, which can be done cheaper with a normal taxi, but it was very convenient and the driver was local and told stories about the area in perfect English. We arrived late in the evening and the immediate impression that struck us was a delightful tranquillity and calm mini resort atmosphere.

The resort, which is fairly new, consists of only 15 villas and cabanas scattered on a hillside opposite the Borobudur. We chose a cabana without a pool but with plenty of privacy and a really nice view of the jungle valley. To our luck, we almost had the resort to ourselves the first three (of four) days and so the public pool was ours alone. From the villas, pool area and restaurant terrace you can see the Borobudur temple rise above the jungle and in general the views from the Plataran resort are very nice.

The cabanas are small, but cosy and great for honeymoon (which was relevant for us). The rooms are clean with service twice a day and we were never bothered by mosquitoes. Wi-fi worked for my wife in the cabana, but not for me even though we have the same phone and carrier.

We ate most of our meals at the resort, tried a large part of the menu and it was all really delicious – especially the local dishes. The staff throughout our stay were incredibly nice and welcoming including the chauffeur and guide to Borobudur. In the morning, we took free Yoga classes at 7.30am in amazing surroundings in the resort and in the late afternoon, we enjoyed the spa (which according to my wife is relatively good).

You can rent bikes at the hotel and cycle through the nearby villages and rice paddies to Borobudur which only takes about 10-30 minutes depending on your route. The locals are extremely nice and welcoming. They all say hello, wave and genuinely smile which makes the experience unique and authentic. I highly recommend it. Also, a visit to Borobudur is obvious and we chose the sunrise tour (see separate review).

The resort is generally very nice, meanwhile, the surrounding area seems quite rural, which is a usual story, and the resort is very well aware of this, thus the mark-up in all the prices is evident. Nonetheless, we didn’t find it overly expensive. Before we booked, we were worried about not being inside the Borobudur grounds, but if you are staying for a few days there is no reason to pay extra for an inside hotel.

I highly recommend this resort which gives you the opportunity to experience more than just a visit to Borobudur temple.

Room Tip: Cabana 223 has a perfect location in the resort with plenty of privacy and stunning view of the jung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Director of Sales at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, its been a pleasure for us to know all of your good comment.
looking forward to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
79
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel. Highly recommended for its lovely rooms, stunning setting and proximity to the nearby temple. Borobudur is a really mystical place, with the sound of calls to prayer echoing across the misty jungle, throughout the day and evening. It has a real calm to it, and the hotel was lovely and quiet, with just a few couples staying - which was bliss for us. The main pool is also beautiful and there are many lovely quiet places to sit or just gaze out at the jungle beyond. Its negatives are few and could easily be solved, if there was any kind of manager in place.

Our pool villa had incredible views of the temple and surrounding jungle. With our own infinity pool, sun loungers and gorgeous bedroom it really was worth spending the extra money to upgrade to this. If being really fussy a bit more follow up thought would take this from lovely to luxury - with for example staff remembering to check for dead flower arrangements and coming back to collect the lunch plates at some stage throughout the day!

We had top breakfasts every day but the lunch and evening food were a little more hit and miss. Highs were the nasi goreng, beef rossini, sea bass and pasta, but lows were the nasi champor, duo of lamb, sirloin and gado gado. Maybe reduce the menu a little, and have a couple of specials to keep the menu fresh..

As per so many of these hotels our waiters were all charming - Angi in particular. In our four days at the hotel we never met or saw a manager and the head chef seemed pretty disinterested in meeting anyone except some more important guests who were staying at Plataran at the time.

All this considered though, we still would heartily recommend this lovely hotel and will definitely try to come back again at some stage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation Officer at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our resort and share your experience. We also would like to apologize to you for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us.
We appreciate your constructive feedback on our hotel. We have communicated it to concerned departments for further action.

We look forward to having another chance to be of your service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Just ended our 4 days 3 nights stay at Plataran. Our down-to-earth package includes return airport transfer, 90min massage, village tour, morning yoga, breakfast and afternoon tea.
The treatment room at the spa offers a majestic view of Borobudur through the full length glass window.
The villa is about 10min ride from Borobudur. You can easily hire a andong ( horse carriage) for about Rp50,000 to bring you back after a visit to Borobudur.
It rained one afternoon while we made our way back to the villa. The staff, seeing us alighting from the andong, quickly ran in to fetch umbrellas for us. This is just one of the many examples of outstanding services at Plataran.
The pool at our villa was very well maintained. Crystal clear blue water awaited us upon our arrival!
During our village tour, we get to interact with the villagers who are very friendly and happily let you walk in to take a look at their houses.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relations Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so glad to be your vacation destination and looking forward for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights and stayed in a wonderful villa cabana, the room was amazing, huge comfortable bed, all the usual amenities and wi-fi.

The views from the room and the pool terrace were outstanding. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly. The restaurant food, breakfast, lunch and dinner were all great.

However the only huge disappointment with the hotel were the vastly inflated trip and taxi prices. We wanted to go on a sunset trip to the Borobudur Temple, the hotel charges US$100 per person, but entrance tickets are only US$20 and a taxi not more than US$5, so for a couple there is an overcharge of around US$140!! Luckily we spotted this and just asked the hotel to book us a taxi there and bought tickets when we got there. However, this was a shame as it put us off doing any other tours with the hotel.

Also, when booking a taxi to Joyga airport we were initially quoted US$ 40 by the hotel which we challenged and it was immediately reduced to US$ 25.

Still a great hotel though, but just be cautious of the tour prices and what you actually get for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relations Manager at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for your review to our product and services.
Further to your comment for Borobudur Tour package, pleased to inform you that the package is USD 110 net for 2 persons.
This package is also include for Car, Refreshments, Private English Speaking Guide and VIP Entrance, which is sold publish at USD 30net/ person.
Hope this inform you well Sir.
Overall, we do thank you for any input and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently enjoyed a 2 day sojourn with my son in a fabulous Pool Villa.
Exciting bike ride to the famous UNESCO site made this a perfect spot with great views to the monument several km away.
Great food and friendly staff WiFi could use some improvement

Room Tip: If you get the taxi transfer from Yogjakarta airport make sure all your insurances are paid up as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLataranBorobudur, Guest Relation at Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
And looking forward to have you here, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwaz, Austria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There is a wonderful magic to this resort, largely due to it's excellent location on a hillside overlooking the Borodubur Temple and nearby volcanoes. In fact by rising early [before 6AM] you can watch the sunrise over the mountains and the temple on the roof of the office/lobby with a cup of java in hand. We opted for the smaller and cheaper cabana for our stay, and found it spacious enough for a 3 night stay. One note - access to many of the units requires traveling up and down several dozens steps. The hotel staff handles your luggage so that's no problem, but if stairs pose a problem you should check with the hotel about your unit before arrival to see if a more accessible one is available.

The view from our cabana was over the valley and jungle covered mountains - which was fine for we were only around early for sun up and sunset. The large swimming pool provided a peaceful and relaxing place for a cool dip. As others have suggested, one good option for visiting the temple is to request an early [8am worked for us] taxi to drop you off and pick you up at the temple's public entrance [it's ~15 minutes from the hotel]. This got us into the temple before the big rush and though a guide may provide added background information - you can get the basics and more by simply bringing a good guide book or app along as you walk around the site.

We found the Plataran food ranged from very good to excellent - French influenced western dishes and a mix of local Indonesian specialties provided delicious and reasonably priced dinners. Breakfast was very tasty as well. You might want to save the wine & hard liquor for special occasions and stick with the local beer given that as in many countries alcoholic beverages are heavily taxed and quite expensive. As in all Islamic countries there are daily/nightly prayer calls, and in this particular area it seems that every very small settlement had a very young aspiring or older near retiring muezzin. This resulted in quite a lengthy series of calls at times, so ear plugs are recommended particularly for the early morning hours.

If you're flying into Yogyakarta airport the Plataran will arrange an airport pickup and return for about USD40 each way. It's nearly a 2 hour drive and the resort is off the beaten path, so it was worth the price to be able to sit back, enjoy the view of the country side, life on the streets and in the fields and get into the Borodubur contemplative spirit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

sorry to say... we were staying at one bed villa pool , guess what.. the room is clean and good airconditioned , but the safe deposit box didnt work , ask the staff to fixed it but went broke again.. so we just hopping no one come to our room as we leave the room....we also smell something like dead animal in our room...when we told the staff about this, it seemed like they couldn't understand it..

first day arrive , was lunch time i ordered "nasi goreng" at the restaurant...it was the most plain taste nasi goreng i ever had....and worse thing was they didn't cook thechicken well..it still has blood and the meat was raw , i ask the staff to change it and they told me the kitchen staff is not there....i thought"..what the bloody hell they have gone...?"
breakfast was just a normal average, still hopping better for the price that we've paid on a villa.

we would not recommend this resort to others...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa

Address: Tanjungan Village, Borobudur 56501, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Borobudur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical new Borobudur world class tourism facility. Mystical Borobudur.... Magical PLataran ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.