We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible! Absolutely terrible...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Dharma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borobudur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rumah Dharma
Save
You added Rumah Dharma to your Saves list
Jowahan, Borobudur, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible! Absolutely terrible...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were looking forward to staying for 1 night at rumah dharma. Prior to the trip, we had an email confirmation from Wendy, who told us her husband Medi will be there to greet us. When we arrived, we were told that our rooms were not ready and was taken to a common area for welcome drinks.

It was only after waiting for a while, we were told that Wendy is actually the ex-wife of Medi (the owner) and they have been fighting a lot. We told Medi, we were going to pay him cash for the full amount of the stay. He said oK, and we left our luggage to go sightsee around the village-giving them a bit more time to prepare the room.

Long story short, when we returned from our sightseeing of the village, we were denied a room which we were promised to in rumah dharma (mind u, there was only us and another couple that day). That was the message the employee relayed to us - which was a message from Medi, who had left for Jogja and was uncontactable. What was even More disappointing was that the other couple got to stay for the same day and same no of night (1 night), but not us.

All because of domestic issues and we paid the price for it. no thanks to Wendy and Medi.

I suggest you sort out how you want to run your business before you bring a bad name to the village.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We just left Rumah Dharma after 2 nights stayed there. The weather was not friendly to us that was raining for 2 days. But we could do sunrise in borobudur which was amazing view eventhough covered with mist.

The house consists of 4 bungalow in the middle of the ricepaddies. It was nice setting of the room. We got the best room which has full view and located in the last row. The room is very clean, they clean it everyday! Hot water, AC and nice bed. The balcony is great for relaxing.

You could do the tour with them, they have many many tour (sunrise tour to the hill, villagetour, rafting tour, prambanan tour etc). Pak Jamal is the tour guide, he has a funky motorbike that will take you for free to borobudur if you want to see sunset. The bike is free of charge to be used. We used it to go to Amanjiwo just for cup of tea, good journey and really great amanjiwo!

Wendy and Mehdi are the owner. Both of them and their staff are very friendly and nice. Most of them could speak english very well. You should try dinner on rumah dharma. It is soo big with really tasty traditional indonesia home cook! I love their mushroom and perkedel jagung. ;) i am indonesia and i told you their food is great.

Oh ya, other stuff you could do here that bring your running shoe because it is great place to run with flat road and amazing scenery to rice paddies and little village. If you like to work out, mehdi has universal weight mechine that you can use. :)

Overall, it is nice place to stay. Come and feel the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were geared up to enjoy Borobudur and Prambanan and so we were surprised that Rumah Dharma turned out to be a treasure. Every good review you have read about it is absolutely true. The best part of the place is that the wifi is not very strong so we actually had to have conversations!!
Medi, Jamal, Guntur, Agung and the fantastic chefs made the stay at Rumah Dharma a holiday experience in itself. We took a cycle ride around the village and went to Candi Mendut. It was a distance but the scenery, the friendly people and Jamal, our guide, made us forget the sore muscles.
Medi sang for us even with a sore throat and made our last night there even more special.
As long as it stays small and personal, Rumah Dharma is a place that will rival any 5-star hotel in terms of service and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our stay at Rumah Dharma was for sure one of the highlights of our trip. The combination of several aspects made us feel at ease - I would even say "at home".
First of all there was the sincere warm welcome of Wendy, Medi and other staff members. The nice and clean room with the large bed made us feel like a prince and princesses. The food is typical Indonesian and delicious. And of course: the setting and scenery is one of kind!
Our daughter, Laure, keeps on talking about Rumah Dharma and especially about her friend Jamal. He took her for ride and helped her out learning Bahasa Indonesian. But we all enjoyed the company of Jamal during the bicycle trip: He seems to be in good mood all the time, saying "hello" to all people we saw during the ride. It really made us feel good and happy.
Last but not least, we enjoyed the talks with Wendy.

We opted to stay one night in Borobudur so we could see this magical and inspiring place at our own pace and not go for a "hit-and-run"-visit. Borobudur is truly nice, but also the surroundings our worth your visit. We went on a bicycle trip to see another temple and monastery that were precious. And rode through small villages on very quiet roads enjoying the beauty of the rice fields and nature.

If we allowed to advise you: In case you're going to Borobudur, make sure to stay at least day and book your room at Rumah Dharma!
So, it's a pity we only stayed for one night...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Find out about Rumah Dharma from internet and instantly fall in love with this place from the pictures that I see. No waste time I directly contact Wendy and booked for 1 night stay there. Wendy also offer a nice tour Sunrise from Setumbuh Hills, one of the best spot to see the Sunrise above Borobudur Temple.
In my trip, there is 3 of us, and all our impression as we arrived at this place is...WOW, is more then our expectation (We Arrived about 7 PM). Extremely friendly welcome by Medi and Team, Nice tea and snack, really refreshing.
The room size for 3 adult person is more then enough. Very clean and love the interior.
as we arrive we spend almost 1 hour at the Gazebo, enjoying the night, listen to sound of nature from paddy field (read : frog and cricket sound).
The breakfast is also nice, simple but that's all your need.
I promise will stay longer at Rumah Dharma for my next visit to Yogya

Room Tip: Choose the room in front of Gazebo / Open Stage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel stay was definitely the highlight of our four night vacation in the region. We stayed here two nights in the middle of March 2013 and it delivered on everything that the previous reviews had suggested.

The location is amazing and its evident in the pictures that others have put up. Mehdi is a great host and arranged for everything from airport pick ups to horse cart rides to the temple to a bike ride to the sunrise point.

I had gone there with my parents, wife and 3 yr old daughter so it was some great family bonding time and the place is both child and aged friendly with no cliffs / unguarded pools / stairs. Infact the serenity and small insects / cats / horses etc charms both the old and the kids.

Downsides - not many. There is the open toilet that people have mentioned. There is always a risk that embaressing niises will be heard by your partner, but there is not too much embaressing left to discover in most cases!

I did not get to hear the famed singing of Mehdi ( probably as he didn't want to intrude on our family time) or engage the famed Jamal as guide as he was busy, but I plan to do it the next time we go.

So if we visit Borobudur, again, then I am definitely staying at the place.

Room Tip: Only four rooms. So book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was one the most enchanting hotel experiences of our trip through Java. Medi was a warm, welcoming and entertaining host.
The rooms were spacious and beautifully designed and the property was charming. The location in the middle of rice fields was absolutely magical. The food was fresh, healthy, delicious and served in generous portions.
We only stayed here one night. Once we got there, we wished we had a few nights more to relax and experience the property and surroundings.
We would rate this as a six star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumah Dharma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Dharma

Address: Jowahan, Borobudur, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Borobudur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Dharma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.