We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Dharma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borobudur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rumah Dharma
Save
You added Rumah Dharma to your Saves list
Jowahan, Borobudur, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were geared up to enjoy Borobudur and Prambanan and so we were surprised that Rumah Dharma turned out to be a treasure. Every good review you have read about it is absolutely true. The best part of the place is that the wifi is not very strong so we actually had to have conversations!!
Medi, Jamal, Guntur, Agung and the fantastic chefs made the stay at Rumah Dharma a holiday experience in itself. We took a cycle ride around the village and went to Candi Mendut. It was a distance but the scenery, the friendly people and Jamal, our guide, made us forget the sore muscles.
Medi sang for us even with a sore throat and made our last night there even more special.
As long as it stays small and personal, Rumah Dharma is a place that will rival any 5-star hotel in terms of service and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our stay at Rumah Dharma was for sure one of the highlights of our trip. The combination of several aspects made us feel at ease - I would even say "at home".
First of all there was the sincere warm welcome of Wendy, Medi and other staff members. The nice and clean room with the large bed made us feel like a prince and princesses. The food is typical Indonesian and delicious. And of course: the setting and scenery is one of kind!
Our daughter, Laure, keeps on talking about Rumah Dharma and especially about her friend Jamal. He took her for ride and helped her out learning Bahasa Indonesian. But we all enjoyed the company of Jamal during the bicycle trip: He seems to be in good mood all the time, saying "hello" to all people we saw during the ride. It really made us feel good and happy.
Last but not least, we enjoyed the talks with Wendy.

We opted to stay one night in Borobudur so we could see this magical and inspiring place at our own pace and not go for a "hit-and-run"-visit. Borobudur is truly nice, but also the surroundings our worth your visit. We went on a bicycle trip to see another temple and monastery that were precious. And rode through small villages on very quiet roads enjoying the beauty of the rice fields and nature.

If we allowed to advise you: In case you're going to Borobudur, make sure to stay at least day and book your room at Rumah Dharma!
So, it's a pity we only stayed for one night...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Find out about Rumah Dharma from internet and instantly fall in love with this place from the pictures that I see. No waste time I directly contact Wendy and booked for 1 night stay there. Wendy also offer a nice tour Sunrise from Setumbuh Hills, one of the best spot to see the Sunrise above Borobudur Temple.
In my trip, there is 3 of us, and all our impression as we arrived at this place is...WOW, is more then our expectation (We Arrived about 7 PM). Extremely friendly welcome by Medi and Team, Nice tea and snack, really refreshing.
The room size for 3 adult person is more then enough. Very clean and love the interior.
as we arrive we spend almost 1 hour at the Gazebo, enjoying the night, listen to sound of nature from paddy field (read : frog and cricket sound).
The breakfast is also nice, simple but that's all your need.
I promise will stay longer at Rumah Dharma for my next visit to Yogya

Room Tip: Choose the room in front of Gazebo / Open Stage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel stay was definitely the highlight of our four night vacation in the region. We stayed here two nights in the middle of March 2013 and it delivered on everything that the previous reviews had suggested.

The location is amazing and its evident in the pictures that others have put up. Mehdi is a great host and arranged for everything from airport pick ups to horse cart rides to the temple to a bike ride to the sunrise point.

I had gone there with my parents, wife and 3 yr old daughter so it was some great family bonding time and the place is both child and aged friendly with no cliffs / unguarded pools / stairs. Infact the serenity and small insects / cats / horses etc charms both the old and the kids.

Downsides - not many. There is the open toilet that people have mentioned. There is always a risk that embaressing niises will be heard by your partner, but there is not too much embaressing left to discover in most cases!

I did not get to hear the famed singing of Mehdi ( probably as he didn't want to intrude on our family time) or engage the famed Jamal as guide as he was busy, but I plan to do it the next time we go.

So if we visit Borobudur, again, then I am definitely staying at the place.

Room Tip: Only four rooms. So book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was one the most enchanting hotel experiences of our trip through Java. Medi was a warm, welcoming and entertaining host.
The rooms were spacious and beautifully designed and the property was charming. The location in the middle of rice fields was absolutely magical. The food was fresh, healthy, delicious and served in generous portions.
We only stayed here one night. Once we got there, we wished we had a few nights more to relax and experience the property and surroundings.
We would rate this as a six star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

To do a quick day trip up & back from Yogyakarta to Borobodur, or stay overnight and take our time & get to the temple early to avoid crowds? We chose the latter and stayed at this most wonderful, small place. Only 4 rooms, with the wonderful hospitality of Wendy and Medi. The rooms are wonderful, big, clean, a view out the bathroom window to the rice fields, and the property itself set amongst rice fields. A lovely front porch where while we enjoyed a pot of tea, Medi delighted us with songs on his guitar...not a bad singer! There are bikes to borrow, and the area around RD is great to explore. Of course, we took the bikes next morning for the 6am opening, leaving the bikes with the security at the front entrance. Maybe only about 500m away. Not far. We enjoyed our evening meal in the centre meals area with other guests. No choice in menu but Wendy was able to accommodate my vegan travelling companion.
If you want thrills and spills and a night out on the town, don't stay here. But if tranquility, friendliness, fresh air and a wonderful place to stay is what you're after, you can't go wrong staying here. Loved it immensely!

Room Tip: All four rooms are equally lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would truly recommend this place to stay when you want to visit the Borobudur. Jogyjakarta is at least one hour from the temple. Rumah dharma is beautifully situated and has nice rooms. Unfortunately we haven't stayed overnight but only for a very interesting biking trip and a tasteful rice table!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumah Dharma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Dharma

Address: Jowahan, Borobudur, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Borobudur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Dharma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.