We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saraswati Borobudur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saraswati Borobudur to your Saves list
Saraswati Borobudur
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borobudur
Manila
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Charming Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We all know that Indonesia is a Muslim country and it doesn't take away the fact that they have hours of worship and I deeply appreciate and respect their culture. Saraswati Borobudur, despite being expensive for some, is a good place to stay in. The staff are warm and accommodating, very helpful and attentive to their guests' needs. Despite the language barrier, even the front office staff helped us arranged the sunset tour and even took us to the nearby Manohara hotel for that. I would definitely go back to this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    75
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
76
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Saraswati hotel is excellent located just a few minutes walk grom the entrance from the Borobudur. We read in some comments that you are wakened in the early morning by the mosques in the area. We didn't mind as we got up early in the morning and at 6.00 am we were one of the first to enter the Borobudur. It was still quite cool and not many visitors. After our visit we had breakfast. As the restaurant ( and drinks) were very expensive we decided to go for dinner into town.

Room Tip: There is a laudry just opposite the hotel. They have a 24 hours service. Costs: 10000 rph per kilo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Very warm & friendly staff. We went in the middle of the week. The hotel was very quiet & serene. The rooms were spacious & clean. We had a great dinner in the hotel restaurant. We did the sunrise at Borobudur at 4 am & the hotel had breakfast waiting for us when we came back. The hotel is very close to Borobudur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Close proximity to Borobudur. They organized a ride to the temple for sunset at no additional cost (Rp380,000) which is the same if you wake up and walk yourself to the front gates & pay the sunset tour fee. We walked back to the hotel after for breakfast.

Was fortunate enough to meet the manager, Mr Safir Boedi, who was very helpful. A charming, reliable and honest character..,the staff is full of energy and very friendly because of the proper management.

Great food, great service. They did a fine job with our laundry. Plenty of hot water & pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we had booked this hotel in good faith and understood the three days cancellation policy. having had an accident in Lombok, we were physically unable to get to Borobudur as planned. Not only did we lose our airline tickets, but when I contacted the hotel 2.5 days in advance, they said to cancel online. When I tried, it said "no cancellation permitted, full charge." I wrote to the hotel several more times explaining what had happened and that one of us sustained serious injuries and could not travel. NO ANSWER. Truly insult to injury. Whatever happened to human decency?!

So Saraswati has my $175 for no room, no stay, no communication (they were so eager to answer when it came to booking...) and us only a few hours short of the required 72 hours in attempting a cancellation. NOT COOL. Don't care how 'lovely' the hotel may be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Yes, it is an expensive hotel, but what a beautiful place! The pool and garden are lovely, and were deserted when we stayed there (although that was in the rainy season). The food was also very good. The hotel is conveniently located for Borobudur Temple - about ten to fifteen minutes walk. Alternatively, you can always hail a becak (cycle rickshaw). Unlike others, I can't say that noise was an issue here. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am staggered by the complaints about the Saraswati Hotel at Borobudur. Firstly the mosque – it is a Muslim country and a good 70% of the visitors to the stupa were Muslim when we were there. You only have to look out of the car window on the way here to see how many mosques there are all over Java. Using wax ear plugs (Quies, the only ones that work) I slept through the muezzin and my husband leaving the room for the dawn visit to the temple. Secondly the green issue of removing the unfinished soap. Does the imagination fail to see that taking the soap is a perk of the menial job of cleaning the room? I expect the complainer failed to understand the purpose of the spray next to the lavatory too. I woke at 5.30 a.m. to a freezing room because the air-con controller had run out of battery. The night duty man fixed this with charm and goodwill. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone but bring wax ear plugs. It is a beautiful hotel with a huge pool. Food aimed at Westerners and nicely presented but ordinary. We were the only people here for our first dinner when we visited.

Room Tip: We had room 101 and it was very nice and nearest to reception. No complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saraswati Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraswati Borobudur

Address: Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Borobudur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saraswati Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Saraswati Borobudur International Boutique Hotel, they make sure that guests feel that Saraswati Borobudur Hotel is just more than just a place to stay, but also has a unique culture, fascinating art, and a great wisdom that can guests bring home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saraswati Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraswati Borobudur Hotel Borobudur
Saraswati Hotel Borobudur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saraswati Borobudur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.