We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, very convenient location for Borobudur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saraswati Borobudur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saraswati Borobudur to your Saves list
Saraswati Borobudur
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borobudur
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, very convenient location for Borobudur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The comments from FoolishSaint are dead on. There are not many other places to stay nearby so I was pleased to not have to settle for a rundown place. You can do the sunrise tour of Borobudur, you can walk out of the temple, enjoy your complimentary breakfast back at the hotel, and return to the temple for the rest of the day ON THE SAME TICKET. The swimming pool was eerily underused but nice looking. Don't miss local places for lunch or dinner, such as Paksi Coffee House.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quietest. The poached eggs at breakfast are hard to find in Asia. Use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    75
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
24
76
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It isn't as close to the Borobudur than Manohara, but this is definitely a nicer place to stay. It's a small cosy hotel, with nice rooms - small pool. Not 5 star hotel, but comfortable.

The best thing about staying near the Borobudur is getting to the Borobudur early for the sunrise visit, which is great! Before the masses of people arrive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

When we arrived we were a bit taken aback by the over-the-top faux-palace lobby. Having said this, the room we stayed in was large, clean and had huge windows. The bathroom was very presentable (no chipped tiles, dirty rims or scruffy edges, quite unique in this country!) and clean. The following day we visited the Borobudur and upon our return to the hotel, the staff kindly served our breakfast (at around 11 o'clock!) at the poolside. The pool itself was gorgeous, set in an attractive garden. Upon our departure, we were even given a small gift. All in all we very much enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

On a tour of Indonesia we stayed here for 2 days due to it's proximity to the temples. Fantastic room and lovely hotel but spoilt by awful food and noise due to being very close to a mosque- calling to prayer at 4 am it was as if the speaker were in the room with us. As for the food , breakfast was a disgrace. Tea coffee toast eggs rice noodles 2 cereals fresh melon. From a 5* hotel - I think not- added to this it was pretty basic quality.
Evening meal is very expensive and our salmon was not cooked. It was sent back and returned with the same veg now cold. There does not appear to be any management - it looks like it is run by 4/5 kids out of Uni. Give it a miss

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was the first hotel we've ever stayed in that asked for payment upon arrival. Not a particularly warm welcome especially after a long transfer. After that things improved. The lobby is gorgeous as are the rest of the grounds, The staff is friendly and helpful. This hotel is very close to the Borobudur grounds- 5 minute walk. The breakfast is not inspired as a choice of eggs and toast with noodles/rice seemed to be all that was offered but adequate. We stayed 3 nights and ultimately enjoyed the convenience of being closer to the Borobudur entrance, Dieng and the Merapi sights. Our room was spacious, clean (except for the heavy curtains) and comfortable with a distant view of the top of the temple. There is very little to choose from in the immediate vicinity of the hotel when it comes to dining. The food at the hotel is average and relatively expensive for Indonesia. We had a driver so we took advantage of lunch during our excursions and had something light for dinner at the hotel. Overall, a convenient and pleasant base from which to visit sights in the area without the longer drive from Yogyakarta.

Room Tip: We had the standard superior which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Saraswati has an imposing entrance, but arriving at night it was gloomy and looked quite dingy. It has fallen into the trap of using a lot of heavy fabric and furnishings and then not keeping them quite clean, and suffers from the scourge of the low-wattage bulb.
The net curtains in our room were filthy, but everything else looked very clean until I noticed a very sticky coffee spill under the bed when my foot stuck to the floor. Towels varied from limp and grey to white and fluffy. Not a good start!
Our four-poster bed was enormous and an extra pillow appeared within minutes.
We were staying for three nights, owing to a flight complication, and as the time went on we warmed to the staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble, the atmosphere, the lovely pool and garden and the food, which was fresh and well-cooked. Breakfast was a bit mundane, but the eggs came any way you wanted them, and the fruit juice had more fruit and less water than elsewhere. Even the huge speakers on the mosque next door which blasted out at 4.30 am became part of the charm!
Most of the difficulties we had came from the poor English of the staff, but why should we expect them to speak English when a large number of their clients came from Asia-Pacific? I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the pool are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A lovely little hotel in the middle of a dead town whose only attraction is the magnificent Borobudur temple, Saraswati was impressive from the start, and all the way to the finish.

The decor, large and comfy reception area with high ceiling and gentle music, gracious staff, coconut tree-fringed pool, massage by the pool...everything was good. The room was spacious and the bed large and comfortable. The interiors were yet another testimony to the hotel's attention to detail. Kudos to everyone involved.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony, which is useful if you are a smoker like me. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saraswati Borobudur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saraswati Borobudur

Address: Jl. Balaputradewa No.10, Borobudur, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Borobudur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Borobudur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saraswati Borobudur 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Saraswati Borobudur International Boutique Hotel, they make sure that guests feel that Saraswati Borobudur Hotel is just more than just a place to stay, but also has a unique culture, fascinating art, and a great wisdom that can guests bring home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Saraswati Borobudur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saraswati Borobudur Hotel Borobudur
Saraswati Hotel Borobudur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saraswati Borobudur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.