We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should go for a 4 hr boat ride in the mangrove forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pichavaram Mangrove Forest

Pichavaram Mangrove Forest
Chidambaram, India
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You should go for a 4 hr boat ride in the mangrove forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent mangrove forest.
A 4 hour boat ride costs 1000 Rs and a bit more for the motorboat.
You can enjoy absolute silence in the mangroves except for the water splashed by motor boats and occasional fishes jumping.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very romantic, peaceful, tranquile star attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Oh we had a wonderful time there. We tried both motor boat and rowboat. One must try both as there are some path only motor boat can go and some only row boat can . Had a little altercation with the Tamilnadu Tourism guys and boatwala as they ask for tips to go inside the forest. If you know Tamil / Telegu it helps. We managed with Telegu and at last got a nice guy who allowed my husband to row the rowboat too. Going inside the mangrove trees is amazing, we spent 3-4 hrs there, saw sunset, migrating birds returning to the nest. It was cloudy and drizzling which added to the charm of the place. Its very clean and well kept.

If possible take exclusive boat as we did which is more romantic.

Around Rs 1k per person for 40mins in motor boat and Rs 150 on row boat. Camera/Video Camera ect. Carry food as only one restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place to chillout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Visited Pichavaram with my friends on December 5th and it was a fantastic experience for us.

We sailed through the mangrove forests and has spent few hours in the beach. The boating experience was really awesome. Also for your info, this place has got its fame after Dasavatharam movie was shot here.

Also the mangrove forest are one of its kind and a rarest place in the world. A must visit for all the nature lovers.

It was actually raining heavily the day before i visited and on the day, it was cloudy and drizzling a bit. The weather is fantastic and the mood was awesome.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worlds second largest mangrove forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

It is a nice place except for the hot sun. We took a boat ride which had a package of 6 kms and 30 mins stay on the beach. The beach is in between the sea and the backwaters. Also the beach was clean. Overall the boat ride and the stay at beach was worth going.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Its like stepping into another world!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Pichavaram is located near Chidambaram in Cuddalore district. By the way we hired a bike from Pondicherry which was about 150 kms away. At Pichavaram there are row boats as well as motor boats which are operated by Tamilnadu Tourism.My advice is to go for row boats since they can take you deep into these mangroves which is impossible with the motor boats. Moreover the sound of the motor also disturbs the tranquility of these mangroves which causes the creatures and birds flee out of fear. So row boat always gives you much better chances for some close encounters with its residents. Pay some extra bugs to the guy and he will take you deep into the jungle and navigate through extremely narrow lanes which is truly an out of the world experience which I have seen only in channels like National Geographic or Discovery. So
make sure that you don't miss this gem at any cost if you are anywhere nearby.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pichavaram Mangrove Forest also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Pichavaram Mangrove Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pichavaram Mangrove Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pichavaram Mangrove Forest to your Saves list