We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn VIHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn VIHA to your Saves list
Quality Inn VIHA
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   #2, New Railway Road | Kumbakonam, Tanjore Dist, Kumbakonam 612001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Shimla, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for one night here. The biggest advantage of me staying here was that the hotel offered a 24 hour check out policy which suited my itinery. The booking was extremely pleasent and Laxmi sounded so friendly that I was looking forward to meet her at the hotel (pity that I couldnt :() The room was very neat and clean and comfortable. The bed, the mattress, the linen all top quality. The attached restaurants too were reasonable and good. The place is definitely a blessing in a place like Kumbakonam. The travel desk is also helpful and the hotel car provided to me was clean and the driver helpful and nice. The only improvement I can think of is increasing the water pressure in the shower and include a SPA. Overall a pleasant experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

an amazing hotel which will take u by surprise in a sleepy village like kumbakonam. its really out of the world... clean, neat, attention to detail... its a surprise... the hotel doesn't have bar/spa/business centre etc even though the site says so...but still its fine... its a bit expensive though

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Quality inn VIHA is situated on busy road with tones of traffic. (...and if you don't know what traffic means in India you are in for a surprise.)
The facility is modernly decorated with great test. The rooms are comfortable and present.
We got one of the last rooms Available and unfortunately it got lots of traffic sound. We asked them for a quiet room and those were all taken. We were working on the internet in the lobby when the night manager told us he found a quite room for us. We thanked him and went up to settle in the room.
To our surprise we were moved to the Royal Suite. A tree room affair with all the latest luxuries, and quite. We had a great sleep.
The next day when we thanked the manager he said.... It's our duty to make the client happy, and you also have a very good luck....(in that the suite wasn't taken...)
The food was OK, but I will always will remember this hotel for going the extra mill to make their gusts happy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Service was great, although hotel advertised the spa, boutique and bar, those weren't open during our visit. Drinks were only available at the time through room service, however it was very prompt. Manager and front desk were very attentive and handled all our needs and requests, even offered a room change due to non-smoking request. Very great experience after a long day.

Room Tip: One side of hotel has pretty standard view - the other side has view into the hospital rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Typically in this region we find only functional hotels where you get to shower, visit temples and come back only for a snooze.... However Quality Inn VIHA is one place where one feels pampered....The room is plush and will pass off for any international star hotel.... The breakfast buffet is excellent, wide choice of south indian food and bread.... The restaurant serves both south and north indian, the quality is pretty good...The check in process was smooth, so was the check out....Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, it is Rs. 1000-1500 more than normal hotels, but it is worth the extra bucks....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked Quality Inn during our temple visit in Kumbakonam purely because we could not get bookings elsewhere during the busy December holidays. Hotel is of superior quality with comfortable and luxury rooms.One room can accommodate a couple with one child. Bathrooms are spacious with all the modern amenities possible - including a hair dryer.
The hotel is quite close to all the temples (not walking distance) and thus makes it a good choice for the stay.
Restaurant available in this hotel provides all types of food including continental, which probably is good if you have children who are fussy eaters, else would recommend going out for both lunch and dinner as kumbakonam offers great south indian food at real cheap cost.
The only bad experience was constant hammering during the night, which continued even after several complains. Finally when we mentioned that we will come down and want to talk to the Manager, is when it stopped.
Overall decent option, if you are looking for luxury stay during your temple visit. Else a slightly cheaper option with clean rooms could be just the answer ....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

i suppose to go to this hotel with my family members this afternoon. Unfortunately i couldn't make it. But my family members had reached the place and they started appreciating very instantly about the services provided by the staff at VIHA. From the receiving at reception and Food and Beverage Manager Mr.Jayakumar's care, Special attention by chef Mr.Senthil, Child care and Finally the GM Mr.Kumar calls me to checking with me about my family members comforts at hotel(Which i have not expected), that too he (GM) was out of station.

Thanks to management for making my day.. since my people where very happy.

I will make sure to make a visit soon and stay VIHA.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn VIHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn VIHA

Address: #2, New Railway Road | Kumbakonam, Tanjore Dist, Kumbakonam 612001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn VIHA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn VIHA is a luxurious hotel offering discerning business & leisure travelers their new personal address in Kumbakonam. VIHA which means heaven(in Sanskrit) is ideally located just 1 km from the Kumbakonam Railway Station. Quality Inn VIHA offers comfort and modest luxuries thoughtfully designed to delight you, which prove that besides the sacred temples you visit, your stay in our luxurious Superior rooms & Executive Suites will be an experience worth discovering. Superior Rooms: Superior room is tastefully done in warm colors and elegant interiors with a double/twin beds with a work desk. It is also equipped with a 32' LED TV with satellite connection, bathrooms with shower cubicles, attached four fixture bath with hot & cold water, hair dryer, electronic safe, complimentary mineral water bottle and a tea / coffee maker. Guests are also provided with a mini-bar on charge & wired Internet access. Executive Suites: The Suites which has all the facilities of superior rooms are larger rooms with a separate living & dining room, attached bedroom and washrooms. These rooms are comfortable having cheery spaces. with design walk in showers complemented with bathtub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn VIHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn VIHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.