We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACE AND SERENITY TO MANTRA RESORT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Veppathur Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Veppathur Resort to your Saves list
Mantra Veppathur Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   536/537A,No.1, Bagavathapuram Main Road Extension, | Srii Sailapathipuram Village, Veppathur,, Kumbakonam 612103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PEACE AND SERENITY TO MANTRA RESORT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Peace and serenity, all perfect to Mantra

Mantra Veppathur Resort is an enchanting place.
My husband and me spent here 2 nights and it was a great experience for us.
Situated in a park inhabited by peacocks and many species of singing birds, the resort is composed by independent bungalows, finely furnished. The washroom has 2 shower, one of which is an opensky waterfall shower.
Here you can breathe the real indian tradition and hospitality starting from the little ritual of welcoming and goodbye.
Excellent service. All staff is always ready to help and satisfy every wish.
The SPA is stunning ( we tried an ayurvedic massage of 1 hour!).
Also the restaurant (vegetarian) is very good and not expensive.
The only regret: 2 nights, too short time to spend in this piece of heaven!
Of course we’ll come here again.
Valeria Migliardi – Rome, Italy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir

With great respect to my beloved guest, i thank from my heart for sending your good feedback to the leading travel portal . Great to see your feedback on every angle in brief with great admiration and we feel so good for the work that we put in.All credits goes to each and every guest like you who come all the way to stay to find a new experience in Tamil Nadu ( South) and we at mantra veppathur lived up to your expectations hopefully.
Sure you will find a change in future days to come, and might add rural facility or a market within the boundary of us,so as to give extra care to all my guests, who have tremendous trust on us.

Thanks once again for choosing us, and hope to see you again at mantra in near future!!

Look forward to serving you,

Subbu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    43
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
82
39
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

An absolutely stunning & silent retreat for a spiritual holiday.

The setting is ethnic and takes you to the heart of Tamil culture and heritage. A temple towns of Kumbakonam and Tribhuvanam are close by to visit both for religious and cultural exposure.

The stay in the spacious cottages was a fabulous experience. The open shower and water flowing from the granite is a unique experience.

The spa and yoga experience is amazing as they take you on wellness journey impeccable quality. Ramesh is superb with his astrological expertise and yoga chats.

The only vegetarian food could be a concern for some, but it was very tastefully prepared with fresh vegetables from the nearby farms. Over a great stay with friends, and truly recommend to those who travel to Kumbakonam.

Room Tip: The panniar illam is really royale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback posted in Trip Advisor. Its great feel to get guest feedback in a right track, which is certainly a great motivation to all of us .

Your detailed look in every corner is well appreciated, and we will certainly live up to everyone's expectations by keeping the upkeep of the resort, as well as our services will ensure every guests to come back.

Just wanted to put across my thoughts with regard to the vegetarian concept of mine.As every traveler am sure, would have tasted the Non Veg part of it all over the globe,and thought not to give the same flavor, instead wanted to give them the best of the destination choice,where they not only enjoy but will get to know more on our Indian traditional platter.

Please do come and stay again to enjoy the best of our spices,and many thanks once again for being with us,and look forward to your visit again.

Subbu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I do not have any words to appreciate the hospitality extended by the staff at Mantra. Everything there has been meticulously planned. It is clean and the ambience was superb. Infact we were apprehensive whether we will be able to pass our time with the family as TV was not available but at the end, we felt a lot refreshed. I would like to take the opportunity to thank Mr. Maruthupandian (Chef) for the best veg dishes which I had ever tasted. Mr. Muthu was the person who had taken all efforts to ensure our comfort. Finally the man leading the show Mr. Nagaraj who was handled his team to master perfection in hospitality
Looking forward to see more Mantra's in other places so that we can blindly book without even reading other reviews
Thanks Team

Sunil Rao

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Sunil Rao

First, let me thank you for choosing mantra veppathur, and we are happy to see your feedback posted in Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation is certainly a boost to all of us, esp the staff's who works to get these kind of recognition from our esteemed guests, will be their ultimate goal on every day.Good feedback on them will motivate further to improve on their service front, and sure my staffs will do exemplary in coming days.

Will pass on your appreciation to Nagaraj/Muthu/chef and all,and many thanks once again for the trust that you have with us, and sure we will expand in future days to come.

Subbu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in 2 rooms.Rooms were very clean ,resort was beautiful and in peaceful location but there is no In room dining service at all and if we want to any food we should give order before 1 hour

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

I sincerely thank you for choosing mantra veppathur, and special thanks for posting your feedback in Trip Advisor,which is Travel barometer for any "traveler" to find the best to stay!

The reason of not having room Service is, ( Since its Spread over several acres,and one gets cold by the time from the kitchen to the cottages, as well as being surrounded by nature it can attract insects too) and we do serve tea/coffee to the senior citizens.

Look forward to your stay again, and assure our best of personalized services will continue at all times.

Subbu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My parents had visited Mantra last year and had very good reviews about the place. So, this time when we decided to go to Kumbakonam, we had no doubts regarding accommodation. We opted for the Panniyar Illam since we were 4 adults travelling this time.
As soon as we reached the resort, we were welcomed by the arrival bell and a tasty welcome drink. There is a relaxing ambiance as soon as you enter Mantra.

There are two villas at the resort also called paniyar illam. These villas can accommodate up to 6 people each. They were very comfortable for 4 of us. There are 2 rooms and big living room with a swing. Everything at Mantra had a traditional touch to it. Be it the rooms or the earthen pot for water, everything was kept traditional and yet looked elegant. Each room had an attached bathroom. Also, there is a bathroom at the backyard. We totally enjoyed our accommodation at the villa. Though it was a little away from the reception and the restaurant, it was worth walking down. I loved waking up to the chirping sound of birds and beautiful sight of the peacock. One thing my parents missed at the villa is the open bathroom with shower which they enjoyed at the other cottage they stayed at Mantra last time. The villas did not have that.

The food was great. The day we came to Mantra we enjoyed the traditional south indian thali which was too filling. We tried a few new dishes and totally enjoyed the food. Mr. Muthu at the restaurant was very kind and always ready to help. Not to forget the expertise of the cook who was ready to share a few tips on preparing some dishes with us.

The tea-kadai had a rural touch and you actually feel like you're sitting in a village tea shop. Every small detail of a village tea kadai was well captured at this place.

The hospitality of the staff is par-excellence. The villa was kept neat by the time we returned in the evening after visiting temples. I loved the way lamps were lit at the entrance of the villa every evening. It felt like home. During one of the evenings, instrumental music concert was held for the guests. It was soothing carnatic music and made us relax with the hot vadai.

We stayed at Mantra for 3 nights and I still can't get this place out of my mind. It is definitely one of the best resorts I've been to. If you're looking for a pleasant stay at Kumbakonam, then it has to be at Mantra!

Room Tip: Try the panniyar illam. You'll love staying there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Sir & madam

Greetings from Mantra veppathur!

I thank you for choosing us, and given us a wonderful detailed feedback in Trip Advisor. Your eye for detail is certainly an encouragement to all of us, Its lots of efforts in a remote destination that made us to join and give a valuable stay experience to all our beloved travelers.

the open shower was made in all the mantra cottages,leaving the two "Panniyar Illam" was well kept in mind, since there was staircase leading to the private terrace,which can be "non safety" measure to adopt the open shower,like all the other cottages.

Thank you on behalf of my team, and hope to see you and your well wishers to visit and enjoy again at Mantra veppathur!

Subbu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband I ( who fall into senior category) stayed in Mantra resort on 1st to 3rd July 2013. The whole place was so beautifully done up in a typical village (sophisticated) style, with individual villas type accommodation, open bathroom with a shower which was like a small water falls, and the shinning tiles was awesome. Congrats to Krithika for the decor.
The cook was very innovative and would consult us about every meal.
The spa where we had a Ayurveda "Illai Pilichal" was extremely good and not to be missed the facial was also very good.The whole place was kept immaculately clean.
Only thing we missed was room service at least for tea or coffee in the mornings since with a nightie it is difficult to walk up to the "tea kadai". On the whole I would recommend this place.
the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding areas.
Only the weather was really hot at this time of the year.

Room Tip: 102 to was good since u do't have to walk too much to go to reception, dinning room etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Respected Madam,

Many thanks for posting your feedback at the Trip Advisor,which will certainly help many travelers who are looking out for their accommodation and the best of destination for their stay and experience.

Apology for the inconvenience caused for your early morning traditional need ( Coffee/tea) and understood your point in clear. There is an exception to the senior citizens for tea/coffee to be served in the room,and if your request was turned down by any of my staff,my sincere apology.

Great feel once again to see your well laid feedback ,and look forward to seeing you and your families,well wishers to stay and experience at Mantra veppathur!

Thanks once again on behalf of my team,

Subbu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

From the sounding of the welcome bell that announces your arrival, to the unmatched hospitality offered, and the peace and tranquility that embrace you, Mantra has a whole lot of uniqueness that will pleasantly surprise you. Be it the healthy breakfast spread, the sumptuous afternoon meal, the tasty rural snacks, the refreshing beverages, or the delicious dinner menu, your taste buds have a great treat to look forward to.

Wake up to the pleasing sound of chirping birds and the beautiful sight of peacocks just outside your window, take a walk in nature's own corridor and sip a cup of hot coffee or tea from the rural tea-kadai, get a soothing massage from the Ayurvedic spa, and take a cool dip in the inviting swimming pool...in short, experience a world you've never experienced before!

Mantra is special in every way, and the eco-friendly decor and interiors only add to the resort's charm. Well, there's no TV in any of the rooms...so what? You don't need an electronic idiot box to entertain you in Mantra, where there's no dearth of entertainment. You can listen to pleasing Carnatic recitals at the courtyard, or play traditional games like 'Paramapadam' or 'Pallaanguzhi', take an exciting bullock-cart ride, or get an audience to cheer for you as you try your hand at 'Uriyadi'.

In other words, whether you're on a holiday, or on a spiritual journey, Mantra is just the place to be!

Room Tip: Try out the 'Pannaiyar Illam' and 'Uriyadi' for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra-Subbu, CEO at Mantra Veppathur Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ms.Ramya

Greetings and there is no words to express my gratitude for your wonderful feedback in the Trip adviser. Its a great feel to see such good genuine feedback and i should thank you on behalf of my entire team,

Like u had said TV concept is not a big deal, and i also felt the same while creating this and kept the concept in my mind, not to have TV in the rooms, as it will make people to sit,rather enjoying for the value of money spent.

It certainly gives a great motivation and morale for me to start my next venture, and i dedicate all my success to my beloved guests like you, and look forward to having you and your family,well wishers more frequent and we assure our best of services will be there at all times!

Thanks once again for posting your feedback,where most travelers are hunting for one to feel the difference!

Subbu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Veppathur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Veppathur Resort

Address: 536/537A,No.1, Bagavathapuram Main Road Extension, | Srii Sailapathipuram Village, Veppathur,, Kumbakonam 612103, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantra Veppathur Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Friendly Resort with rural, traditional for all travellers who would enjoy every bit of their stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mantra Veppathur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Veppathur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.