We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located & decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
18,19 Head Post Office Rd | nr Holy Mahamaham Tank (City Centre), Kumbakonam 612 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Conveniently located & decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My friend and I booked into Hotel Raya's ( next to Post office ) after reading several reviews on Tripadvisor. This place is pretty good considering the rates that they charge. We stayed in a first floor room which was not too big but good enough for 2 ppl to stay ( it might be small if you add in an extra bed or if you have kids ). The toilet was clean and a geyser is provided.

The best part about this hotel is that it is located at a very convenient and central area in Kumbakonam. You could literally walk to all the important temples in the town viz ; Kumbeshwarar, Sarangapani, Ramaswamy temple etc. You can also easily hail autos from outside the hotel. We tried b'fast at a small restaurant behind the hotel ( Veg ) which was pretty good ( nothing fancy but a decent south indian bfast ).

The front office staff were courteous and provided us with information about nearby temples and also helped with organizing a cab for us. The only annoying thing was with the service staff - they seem to expect tips for everything : even when they get you a simple cup of coffee ! However, we did request for extra pillows and they were delivered very quickly, which was a good thing as most hotels in such temple towns either don't answer to such requests or delay in providing the same.

Overall, a good hotel to stay for friends, families etc - book in advance as this hotel seems to be a favorite one and apparently gets fully booked during wedding and festival seasons. They also seem to have Suites - didn't get a chance to look at one but may be worth trying for larger families !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    86
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
104
23
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at Rayas Grand. Room is big and neat. However, the restaurant
Rice and spice was not clean and the washroom area was having foul smell. Hotel has basement parking for many cars. Their back up power generator has a problem and voltage keeps on fluctuating...net result my samsung note charger blew! When I asked the manager about the wide fluctuation in voltage level when genset was on and that my charger blew up, he promptly indicated that they are not responsible for guests electronics. Luckily I had disconnected my iPad otherwise I would have lost my iPad too.
Wi if was not working for one of my two days stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAYAS-KMU, General Manager at Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

We deeply regret to note that your mobile charger was blown during your stay here. We wish to inform you that we don’t have any voltage fluctuations as alleged by you

We are running Centralised Airconditioning System, refreigerators etc and if we had voltage problem, these electrical equipments would not have worked well. You may be aware that you were not having any problem with air-conditioners, refreigerators etc.

We have adequate and requisite surge protectors and circuit breakers (One at the room entrance itself and another at house-keeping room) to avoid such type of incidents. At the time of the incident, many cell phones of guests were getting charged up in the Universal Charger in the reception and all were working fine which is an indication that there were not any voltage fluctuations as reported by you.

When we requested you to enable our electrician to see what had happened, since you replied in negative, we were not able to proceed further. However, once you checked out, we had made elaborate investigations and we found everything to be in order.

We once again kindly request you to excuse us for the inconvenience caused to you during our stay here.

Regarding restaurant, we wish to inform you that we are initiating appropriate measures to see that it is always clean and neat.

Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked in Hotel Rayas Grand- Hotel is ideally located in the middle of most Shiva temples in Kumbakonam area. Hotel rooms are spacious, fairly new & good service. Value for money definitely. Vegetarian Restaurant downstairs is really good, stayed for 3 days with family and had my food all 3 days from the Restaurant. 5 to 10 minutes to Lord Kumbeshwara Temple & just opposite to Maha Magam Kullam(pond).

Room Tip: I only stayed in Hotel Rayas Grand, not in Rayas or Annexe. This is the new one from the same group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad, andhrapradesh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I am satisfied my stay at this hotel. Rooms were clean and good. Reasonably spacious. Room service was good. More of value for money. Best part is i liked pure vegetarian restaurant of theirs behind the hotel. Liked the food in this hotel too.
Tripadvisor guided me very well to find out good hotel for our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night yesterday. Looks new from outside. But does not meet my expectations. Though the entrance and rooms were clean, the corridors lead to the rooms were dirty with all old linen etc. Restaurant is horrible. Placed in a remote corner. Not so clean.
Generally lack of cleanliness was my problem. Otherwise service was good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Reasonably priced and in a good location. No breakfast included but nice veg hotels nearby. Spacious rooms and parking available. Try not to go for room with numbers 01 to around 06 to avoid the nuisance of house keeping phone ringing in the night.

Room Tip: Annexe does not have a restaurant but across the road main block has a garden restaurant. Those who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai - india
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

You can feel the treatment "Royal" at Rayas - Very attentive room service - Neat and clean rooms - facing the Mahamaham tank view - Excellent service by the front office staff !! We were given two rooms with connection 'in-door' since we were with kids ! TV with most of the channels we preferred ! Good lighting and room service ! Coffee was tasting very nice ! We wanted to buy some things for which we didn't have time to visit the market - There came a helping hand from the GM and the front office staff - whatever we wanted were bought and given with a smile. !! Good guidance for visits to places !! Really we enjoyed the stay - Myself -wife - daughter with two kids !! Hygenic and modern toilet and very neat !! Tasty food served hot ! I would prefer to stay here for my next visit and would recommend my friends also !!

Room Tip: If you travel as a family of four plus - ask for room no.118/119 - with in-door connection !! Very e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1

Address: 18,19 Head Post Office Rd | nr Holy Mahamaham Tank (City Centre), Kumbakonam 612 001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of Kumbakonam Thanjavur District, Hotel Raya’s stands out Majestically to offer Mahamaham tank view for the guests. This is known to be the “Best value for money” in Kumbakonam with the atmosphere and facilities of a star hotel. Hotel Raya’s combines efficiency with the Traditional culture of Kumbakonam to provide a pleasant stay for all its guests.3 star facilities only in Raya's Group of Hotels for the nominal tariff.Real Hospitality service is our motto.... Since 24 Years of Hospitality Experiences... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayas Hotel Kumbakonam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.