We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1
18,19 Head Post Office Rd | nr Holy Mahamaham Tank (City Centre), Kumbakonam 612 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a gem in Kumbakonam which offers a lot for the price. If you are visiting Kumbakonam for temple tour, this is the go to place. We were a group of 6 and just got 1 room and decided to make to with that. The room was spacious enough for 6. Very comfortable stay , good bathrooms and service quality is superior. Some of the bigger chains can learn from these people. Overall very happy with what we got and would recommend this to anyone traveling to kumbakonam and neighboring areas like thiruvarur.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    86
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
104
23
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited Kumbakonam in June 2013 as part of a group of friends who intended to use it as a base and visit the Navagraha temples and Chidambaram.

In this context, this hotel is a fairly good value for money budget place. We found the rooms to be decent, but, there were inconsistent on the cleanliness front. The towels would never get changed and the bath soaps were not replenished unless asked for specifically.

The issue we found was having to walk through a dingy passage and then walk next to a room used for washing area for utensils and then across a parking zone to reach a restaurant. Never could figure out why they had this in this manner. However, no compliants on the taste of the food there.

Would recommend this place (actually the sister hotel of Raya's Grand and not the one we stayed) which we understand are far better as it is centrally located to visit the mentioned temples

Room Tip: -Check the specific room you are provided before you agree - Do not take the rooms facing the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had stayed in the annexe in May 2013. The rooms are too good and are maintained very well.The only draw back is that the food service is very average and the staff are not that very trained.The food is brought from the main hotel in the opp road and it tends to get cold even when brought in hot cases.Otherwise since it is on the main road , the property is good fr for travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had stayed at The Rayas Grand, one of the new properties of the Rayas group constructed less than a year ago. Located near the Mahamaham tank , with spacious rooms and reasonable tarrif it made our stay memorable. Right from helping us in booking the rooms by telephone, and the confirmation calls and the sms,the check in to the rooms the Hotel staff were very courteous. They have a Good vegetarian restaurant Rice'n Spice which gives us tasty food both the North Indian and South Indian varieties. The minimal correctable flaw was that the customers could be offered free Wifi to the rooms, Apart from this the experience was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had stayed at this place between in May 2013, visiting Kumbakonam with relatives had booked 4 rooms, great value for money, good room service. very neat rooms

A word of caution avoid parking in the front - at the hotel entrance, its too tight others could scratch your car. They have an option of parking behind the hotel opt it.

Room Tip: Ask for Imperial, just at an extra cost of ~200 bugs u get a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at Raya's Grand with family for two nights in May 2013. The rooms are very clean and spacious; the staff are friendly and courteous, and provide great service.Food at the restaurant is quite nice too. All in all great value for money, and I'd certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Raya's Grand with family, We had a good experience like the rooms are very clean and decent, Staffs are very responsive and fast. veg. restaurant at this hotel is good. Again room service is fast and commentable.
Rooms are well designed and taken maximum safely, this makes us to stay very peaceful when kids were in & out comfortably.
I strongly recommend this hotel for all purpose either family, business or couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayas G, General Manager at Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is with immense pleasure, we inform you that we have been awarded, “Certificate of Excellence for 2013” for the consecutive second year by World’s leading Portal, “Trip Advisor.com”, who are the reporters of unbiased hotel reviews and travel advisors. This award has become possible because of valuable feedbacks and reviews from our valuable guests like you.

We are the leading handloom silk saree manufacturers since 1925 and we are in hospitality industry for the past 23 years. With commitment to serve our customers with excellence, we are marching towards 89th year in Silk Saree industry and into 25th year in hospitality industry.

Please accept our sincere thanks for sparing your valuable time in writing your reviews and suggestions regarding your stay at our properties. All of your reviews, advices and suggestions are really helpful to us as they motivate us to raise our standards consistenly to ensure impeccable service to YOU.

We also wish to thank “Tripadvisor.com” who hosted all these reviews in their website and for allowing us to respond to all of our guests who put in their reviews in their portal.

If you have suggestions still, you may also mail to suggestion@hotelrayas.com

We always treasure our relationship with our guests and hence, we wish to dedicate the award of Certificate of Excellence, 2012 and Certificate of Excellence 2013, both from TripAdvisor.com and Holiday IQ Best Performer Award for 2012, to YOU.

Thanks and regards
Raya’s Group of Hotels
Management +91-98429-23170 / 73730-23170 / 73730-23171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1

Address: 18,19 Head Post Office Rd | nr Holy Mahamaham Tank (City Centre), Kumbakonam 612 001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of Kumbakonam Thanjavur District, Hotel Raya’s stands out Majestically to offer Mahamaham tank view for the guests. This is known to be the “Best value for money” in Kumbakonam with the atmosphere and facilities of a star hotel. Hotel Raya’s combines efficiency with the Traditional culture of Kumbakonam to provide a pleasant stay for all its guests.3 star facilities only in Raya's Group of Hotels for the nominal tariff.Real Hospitality service is our motto.... Since 24 Years of Hospitality Experiences... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayas Hotel Kumbakonam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raya's & Raya's Annexe 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.