We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Save
You added Country Lodge to your Saves list
Ngorongoro Road, Karatu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights ath the Country Lodge in Karatu whilst on safari to Ngorongoro Crater. The accomodation was lovely. It was clean and beautifully presented. The bathrooms were really good - something I always look at! The kids really enjoyed having the pool there, and I enjoyed the opportunity to sit nearby and enjoy a drink. One thing our whole group said after we left was how delicious the food was. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring MD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here two nights while we explored Ngorongoro Crater - at the beginning of our safari. It is truly a lovely place to stay. The food was excellent and the staff were gracious and friendly. The place hires locals, many of whom are making a foray into the tourism industry, and they grow much of their own food. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. I hope to return to Tanzania someday soon and I would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Such a wonderful place to stay. Very friendly, beautiful rooms with lovely bathrooms. Shower and swimming towels provided. A gorgeous swimming pool, perfect for a swim after a hot safari! Free tea and coffee. The food was delicious, made by reggie the chef who was so friendly and came to speak to us every meal time. He even made us a hot lunch with sooo much food when only our family were eating!! the food was all very fresh, using veg grown in their own garden (leeks fo the soup etc) and he made lots of english treats like rhubarb (home grown) crumble and tarts for desert! Three course dinners every night. We also like the fact that our safari guide was allowed to eat with us which was not allowed In some hotels.
We went on a great walk to the coffee plantations, the garden where they grow all the ingredients for dinners, to villages nearby and to a viewpoint up a hill with one of the staff members.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This lodge is one of my home's away from home and I have stayed with them a number of times (and also at their sister lodge Bougainvillea, which is next door).

The lodge is locally owned and run by Tanzanians, so you know your money is being reinvested in the community. The staff are friendly and helpful (although not all of them are proficient in English - they do have a number of trainee staff which offers employment to local students who would otherwise find it very difficult to get a job).

The food is excellent and if you stay over a number of days, the menu will always be different. Always check what is for dinner and if you don't eat a particular meat, they will make sure that you have something you like. You can eat as much as you like and there are always numerous courses. Drinks are reasonably priced for lodges in Tanzania.

If you are cold, ask the staff to light a fire in your room, I have used the fireplace on a number of occasions and it works sufficiently to heat the room. They also provide plenty of blankets.

The gardens are very lush and the lodge grows many of its own vegetables. It is often very quiet during the day while most people are out on safari, so it is a good lodge to have a rest day. You can also walk into town within 15-20 minutes (or reception can call you a taxi).

If you want help organising a safari, contact Daniel (using the info email on their website). He has arranged day trips for me before and they have have always been of good quality. Dani can also help you arrange longer safari's using experienced local guides.

I recommend this place and always use it when I am in Karatu.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are good, the ones at the back will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

very nice lodge, not located in the center of a park,
its a " urban lodge" , but it is very nice place.
the lodge is pretty, clen and quiet.
the melas are very tasty and the crew are wonderfull

very nice lodge, not located in the center of a park,
its a " urban lodge" , but it is very nice place.
the lodge is pretty, clen and quiet.
the melas are very tasty and the crew are wonderfull

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We did not book the Country Lodge directly and expected a lot less for what we had paid. The place was a delight. We stayed 2 nights and looked forward to the second night after leaving for a day safari. The lodge was well placed for the parks and was very clean and tidy. The pool was a refreshing chance to cool off after a long day of animal spotting.
The welcome was friendly and the staff were on hand whenever needed but not in your face. The gardens made for a relaxing zone within a small town location and security was good. Our bed was comfortable and the mosquito net was not religious (holey!)
Laundry was cheap. Hot water was hot and abundant. Shower was beautiful as was the room. Each one has an animal theme with the name being Kiswahili for the local animals.
Food was great and drink prices were fair. Breakfast was more than enough to get even the hungriest safari goer back out for another day. The lunchbox which we took with us was more than ample but not as high quality as the meals at the lodge.
We were offered a fire in the room and had extra blankets if needed.
We were a private group of 17 and everyone thought highly of the lodge. One member of the party needed gluten free food and they seemed to handle this with ease even though it is not commonly known about in Africa.
This lodge is locally owned and operated and this is therefore all the more impressive as the high standard reflects a lot of hard work and effort. This place has a very good understanding of what a foreign tourist would want but still keeps its African origins.

Room Tip: Kiboko room (not sure what the number was) is half way down one side. Within our group, we had 10 ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is a very nice looking place, but the actual quality of construction and maintenance is not as good as it could be and should be. There was a fire place in the room that had never had been used and probably was not functional. Fit and finish of most things in the room was not good.There is no heat and the room was cold. One member of our tour party ran out of hot water during a shower and was miserable all night. The food was very good and the people friendly. Of the six places we stayed through a week, it was the only place we were cold all night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Road, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bit of country in Karatu! Country Lodge offers the safari traveller a modest accommodation, great food and wonderful service. Sister lodge to Bougainvillea Safari Lodge, Reggie's famous hospitality is waiting for you here along with spacious rooms complete with unique stone showers, quiet location and signature lush, beautiful gardens. Welcome to the new and lovely Country Lodge in Karatu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.