We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Endoro Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Endoro Lodge to your Saves list
Endoro Lodge
Karatu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in the first week of July 2012 when visiting Irakw tribe.

+ The location was good.
+ beautiful grounds.. i was mesmerized.. very relaxing.. flowers, banana-papaya trees, green, green and green
+ good food, decent vegetarian options
+ awesome restaurant setup
+ had shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion along with shower cap!
+ they have a laptop connected to internet to use for short periods

- road to get here is very dusty.. but it's just this whole area near karatu.
- there are lots of ups and down to get to the cottage, restaurant, etc. People with limited mobility, stay away.
- room was basic, clean but nothing fancy as the other parts of the hotel (may be our room was the cheap one)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

In July 2012 we had a two week safari in Tanzania. Stayed all together in 7 different places. Had two nights in Endoro Lodge and found this the best place of them all. Very nice cottages, we had one to ourselves, - big and roomy. It had a fire place we could use, if we wished. Very nicely furnished, large room with sitting area in front of the fireplace, desk and a large bed with mosquito nets. A terrace with a view across the valley. The food was the best on this trip and the staff was extremely frindly and helpful. The only thing we missed was adequate light to read in the evening. We had expected this on a safari and had brought head lights, so reading was no problem. But maybe one stronger light in the room would have helped.
When we wanted to go for a walk in the neighborhood, we were accompanied by a Masaai guard for saftey. We saw spillings of elephants around in the valley, so we knew there were wild life around. At night, after dinner, we were also accompanied by a Masaai back to our room.

Thank you, Endoro Lodge, for an exellent and memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo de mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Though the rooms are not the easiest to get to, each room is amazing, with a great tub, shower, chimney and beautifully decorated. The buffet dinner and breakfast were very good. Expect european prices on wine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've stayed there for one night only during my round trip. Very nice rooms, friendly staff and nice view over the valley. Stylish restaurant, good kitchen however you should try to be early at the buffet as if one of the meals is at end end there is no refill. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a good place to spend a couple of nights at the end of a seven day safari. The highlight was the walk up to the elephant caves and waterfall with Charles, a most intelligent nature guide. He speaks perfect English and describes the birds and flora with great wisdom. I highly recommend a walk with Charles.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We booked our rooms 2 months before going to the Lodge. Once there we were downgraded to the worst room because they had a big group coming. No mosquito net and we were eaten by mosquitos all night. We requested mosquito nets 4 times. The management were not helpfull at all.
They advertise no mosquitos due to altitude but yes there are lots of mosquitos and the area is full of malaria. Back home I was taken to hospital with malaria. I am so angry, not even a refund! They just ignored my requests completely! I do not recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Don't go there at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

It was a beautiful place, with prettily-manicured grounds and plenty of different plants to look at. Here, it felt a bit less uppity compared to the The Manor at Ngorongoro.

The room itself was as charmingly rustic as the rest of the grounds. A four-poster bed complete with mosquito net dominated the hardwood floor of the spacious room. And there was a roomy bathtub with a window overlooking a valley. There was also an outdoor shower but it was rather cold and we weren’t totally sure about our privacy – there was the occasional farmer walking along a path on the other side of the valley. We weren’t sure whether showering outside would make us very conspicuous!

What we really liked were the little touches by the staff. As you may have seen from the first picture of the bed, the room was decorated with flowers every day. They changed the arrangement each day and even put flowers on the bathmat!

Donna kindly arranged a massage for us, compliments of Maasai Wanderings. Too bad the room wasn’t heated and it was far too cold to be enjoyable. What a pity as a simple heater in the room or even electric blanket to lie on would be great.

They also arranged for a special candlelight dinner at our patio. At first Betty, the lovely hotel manager, wanted to make us something familiar (we're Asian). She suggested a menu of Vegetable Soup followed by Manchurian Fried Rice with Oriental Vegetables. Thankfully, I managed to persuade her that we really much prefer trying the local cuisine. Instead of MFR with Oriental Veg, we had an amazingly tasty beef stew with some kind of local spinach, accompanied by rice and plantains. The beef was super flavourful – tasting deeply and meatily like how beef should – though slightly tough as all local beef tended to be. Stewing it was the way to go, and we enjoyed it together with the plantain, which looked a lot like sausage but tasted like a cross between tapioca and potato. Excellent stuff.

Aside from Betty, service was only decent. Staff were occasionally slightly sullen and not quick to help with things like letting us start dinner first even though the buffet dishes were all ready. (My husband was sick and wanted to eat quickly and go back to bed.) Otherwise, things were generally excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Endoro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endoro Lodge

Address: Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Endoro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endoro Hotel Karatu
Endoro Lodge Tanzania/Karatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Endoro Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.