We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, but OK for just one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tindiga Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tindiga Tented Camp
Save
You added Tindiga Tented Camp to your Saves list
Qaund_ded Village | Lake Eyasi, Karatu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Mediocre, but OK for just one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Tents have seen better days. Is in very dry and remote area. Good place if you want to meet Datoga and Hadzabe people. Tents and other amenities are getting a little tired. Part of the Moivaro-Chain, of which this is definitely the least attractive place. Must improve on quality of the food. Chain wants every guest to have a four course dinner, but could better be focussing on quality of a two course diner. Kind and attentative staff, who try there best, but it is not more than what it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    16
    1
    7
See reviews for
11
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

There aren't a lot of choices for places to stay when you're visiting the Hadzapi and Dagota tribes and this is one of them.

We did not have any issues with noise from irrigation while we were there (as another review mentioned) but it had recently rained. This is an agricultural area so I can't imagine complaining about that anyway - you're in a tent. Noise will always be an issue. We had a nice peaceful sleep while we were there.

We did, however, as others have mentioned, have a scorpion in our tent when we came back from dinner. And in the morning, we saw the shadow of a rat eating bugs crawling on our tent.

The food was fine. The staff were friendly. I can't give it more stars though because it really is rather rustic and I'm not fond of scorpions.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night and it was very basic. The toilet was jammed and would not flush. We found a bed bug in the bed. Really nothing to do unless you are only here to rest your head. On a positive note the staff is great and very helpful. Food was not too bad either.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

When we got here after a long drive, the small, non-descript, we wondered where we'd landed. We have no regrets spending two days here.
The staff were generous and incredibly helpful. The place was quiet and serene. The 'blue-balled' monkeys were amusing and precious.
This was the only place on our entire 2 week safari that made us local food (ugali) on request and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.
It's small, so you get looked after well. I met some very interesting travellers in the evening over drinks near the dining tent- just pull up a chair and join the group.
Take a little walk if you can near the tent. You'll get a sense of what rural Tanzania is really like- untouched, simple, slow...
Hunting with the bushmen and seeing Lake Eyasi were great too, but the gentle hour spent sitting outside the tent with my diary was the highpoint of this stay and pure bliss.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here only because Kisima Ngeda Camp, which I am told is the best accomodation in this area, was undergoing renovation. This was ofcourse a much cheaper option and we arrived with not much expectation. We were neither surprised nor disappointed. This is a very basic tented accomodation. Ours was only the second tent occupied during the time. We hardly stayed in our tents and were almost always outside.
We were told on arrival that that there was a generator which worked after sundown and we could use it to charge our camera batteries. However, by late evening when we were back from our field trip, it was pitch dark except for the lanterns. We were told that the generator had 'chosen' to malfunction. So no charging of batteries. I guess you have to be prepared for this, specially in the low season, when running the generator for one or two families may not make 'business sense'. However, considering its almost in the wilderness, the food both for dinner and breakfast was good. The problem was elsewhere, there was no water in the tap for most part and it was the only day during our safari, when one had to go without a bath.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed at Tindiga Tented Camp for 2 nights while we were in the area visiting the Habzebe and Datoga tribes. The location was very remote but it was nice to enjoy some real peace and quiet (which may be too quite it you like busy surroundings!). They did a great job given how remote it is, and there is no electricity in the tents or the main area! The tents were spacious and comfortable with the nice place to lay out the front of the tent to read a book. They could look to sew up some of the holes on their mosquito nets though! Also it would have been nice if the back bathroom area was also covered by the mosquito net/tent area as well. The beds was comfortable and the place was clean given it was a tent and there was hot water showers! At night they would put lanterns in the tents for light.

When we arrived we were greeted with juice and a towel. In general the staff were amazingly attentive (maybe as we were the only guests on one night!) and the food was the best we had the entire trip (better than food at the serena and sopa lodges) though they were set menus. Food quantity was generous and all the courses were delicious including the coffee. The pool wasn't filled when we went in late March which may have been nice to have a dip. You get used to not having electricity - remember you're in the middle of nowhere in Africa so don't expect too much and enjoy the nature surroundings! We actually enjoyed the lantern lit pathways at night as it created such a nice ambiance with nature around! Bring mosquito repellent! Would definitely recommend a stay here for something different to regular lodge/hotel stays!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We spent one night at Tindiga during February 2010 and had a wonderful experience. First of all I'd like to clarify a few things from the last review. They have apparently made some upgrades since his stay. We had a hotwater shower....of course when the staff showed it to us...they were looking VERY proud of it, so I think this is a new addition to the camp. And I don't remember the drain specifically, but our water didn't run onto the bathroom floor, so apparently drains are now present. There was also electricity in the tents, so no Kerosene lamps. The restaurant/bar/reception area was small and cozy. We loved it. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The whole staff was exceptionally nice. We almost wished we had time to stay here for another night. There is a pool, but its very small and wasn't functioning when we were there. He wasn't lieing about the warriors around the tents...startled the heck out of me...I swear they come up out of nowhere to walk you to your tents!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tindiga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tindiga Tented Camp

Address: Qaund_ded Village | Lake Eyasi, Karatu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Karatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Karatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to present our Tindiga Tented Camp: a beautiful and smalltraditional camp, ideally situated only 1,5 kilometers from the stunning Lake Eyasi. This great landscape is home to the indigenous bushman, the Hadzabe, and the nomadic Datoga tribe. This is the only place in Africa where you can go hunting with the Hadzabe, the last known tribe that lives by hunting and gathering honey and fruit.Tindiga Tented Camp is situated on a hill overlooking the shrubland of the Eyasi Ecosystem, with Mount Masumbuku in the west and the hills of the Ngorongoro area in the north, offering a magnificent view. The camp has 10 spacious tents with en-suite bathroom, containing a shower and flush toilet.With only 10 tents the camp is small and offers a personalized service and quality. The camp blends in beautifully with the natural environment and is run with an eco-friendly approach; protecting and preserving the natural resources. The camps restaurant is built by Datoga women, reflecting their culture and lifestyle. Staying at Tindiga Tented Camp offers a unique and ultimate “Africa experience.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tindiga Tented Camp Tanzania/Karatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tindiga Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.