We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury glimps at the wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacha Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sacha Lodge to your Saves list
Sacha Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Napo River, Coca, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Coca
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Luxury glimps at the wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the most up-scale wilderness lodge you can find in the Ecuadorean Amazon. The service is outstanding and starts at Quito airport, all the way to your spacious cabin at Sacha Lodge. We were impressed by the food, which was terrific, with plenty of options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
The daily morning (be prepared to get up at 5:30 am) and afternoon hikes/canoe trips were full of surprises in terms of animals and plants. We didn't expect that the animals would be difficult to find but our great guides, Gabriel the naturalist and Wilson the Native, were amazing in spotting them.
We stayed for 5 nights and would have happily stayed longer as there was so much to see and do! We had a few hours between every excursion and were easily able to fill up that time with reading on the hammock, visiting the butterfly garden, watching monkeys pass by our cabin frequently, swimming in the piranha and cayman infested waters, and going piranha fishing!
Because of the wonderful environment and welcoming staff we can't wait to plan our next trip to Sacha Lodge!!!

P.S. I recommend that when you do your hikes / canoe trips, you should bring something along to write down the names of the animals and birds that you spot. You will see so many that by the time you are back at your cabin, you forget most of their names!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    39
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
102
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Sacha in February 2012. This was not our first visit in a tropical rainforest so although the rooms were clean we were accustomed to having "visitors" in our room - a rather nice Gecko and not so nice ants. We were also prepared for the early mornings (breakfast between 5 and 5.30) and the treks through the humid jungle. Although we had stated our interests on the form provided by Sacha staff at the airport in Quito we were rather disappointed that our guide did not consider this. The paths were quite muddy and slippery in places. Our guide did not assist people in any tricky places and did not even notice when one of our group fell over. Wildlife as we expected, was variable in making an appearance but we were lucky enough to see Howler monkeys, Tamarind monkeys, Pygmy Marmasets and a Three Toed Sloth. Undoubtedly, the highlight for us was the Parakeet Lick inside Yasuni National Park, our guide hadn't wanted to take us but we had insisted and we were so glad we did as we watched hundreds of Parakeets descending to the Parrot Lick. The canoe rides were very relaxing and we also enjoyed fishing for Pirranahas even though they all got away with nice pieces of beef. Food at the lodge was plentiful and tasty. Staff, apart from our guide were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: room 5 is near the lodge, if you are lucky to have a lie in 'till 6,30 you will be woken by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

First Sacha Lodge is definitely a very beautiful hotel built with taste in an original location. Absolutely no complains about rooms, food, transports or staff.

I was however a little disappointed with the wildlife, especially the birds. They advertise a lot about the countless birds that live in the surroundings but there are actually very few good photo opportunities as you usually see them from quite far away, even when you stand on the wood or metallic towers. And most walks are under the forest where it's very dark and often raining, which is bad for birdwatching.

Although I had 400 mm zoom with an excellent reflex camera, I got acceptable pictures of 13 different species in 4 days; usually taken from the canoe or in the hotel. I was hoping for a lot more !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place seems very well organized. Met at the airport, given your ticket,walked through boarding, in coca, gathered onto a bus for a few minute ride to a facility with snacks and drinks to prepare you for the long boat and walking journey before you get to the lodge. You have a chance to stow that sweatshirt you needed from Quito and put on non-sandals (to minimize ant contact for the walking portion). Your luggage is tagged with your room number, ensconced in a rubber barrier, and in your room before you are. It rained briefly on our transfer and ponchos appeared for the 12 - 15 people on the boat. Arrival at their Beautiful lake front lodge was picturesque. A welcome drink, instructions and off to the cabins and a chance for a look around before meeting at the boot storage Room to try on and select your rubber boots which you will definitely need. jungle birds flying about and monkeys crwling thru the trees, so it's easy to entertain yourself from a birding perspective.
Our guide was finishing another group so we had no organized activities until the next morning. This started with a 4:35 wake up call to give us time to pull on our boots and be at breakfast by 5 and really truly starting at 5:30. The day was a bit grueling as it was steamy hot and our guide tried (usually successfully) to call in special birds for us to see. Lunch was at 1 and I have to admit that around 12, after standing several hours int the jungle, I was ready to be in the lake instead of looking for a 2" bird with a yellow dot on his head, hidden in the leaves 40' back. I got back just in time for a 15 min swim. 2 hours later onto more birding, returning in time for a shower and a little social time before a 7:30 dinner. The next day we never returned for lunch, and a huge box of freshly prepared food awaited us in some remote place after we had bird watched all morning. More calling and waiting for the birds to appear in the jungle, until we finally returned at 4:15. Whew! At 4:30 back on the canoe for a wonderful paddle through the backwaters looking for kingfishers and owls. Around 6 we returned to the lodge and I got my swim.
The rest of Our group stayed an extra day, but we left after 3 nights. As did many others not in our group. There was no extra time on departure morning as the plane leaves around noon and it takes several hours of boating and walking etc to make it. I was jealous of another day of birding, but not at the previous 2 days intensity.
I loved seeing the birds, for that was exactly what we were paying for, but I think this was a bit strenuous. I would have enjoyed a more leisurely approach to bird watching and also a smaller group. We were a group of 8 and it was definitely too big for bird watching By time 8 of us tried to peer in the scope, the bird had often shifted. Also heads get in the way Everyone was unfailing polite and concientous of others but still hard for 8 people to all get the right angle in time to spot the little critter we just waited 20 minutes to see.
No one else at the lodge seemed to have a schedule like this as they pursued their various interests. There were other birders there too.
I liked that we didn't have to pay for lots of extras. Really just drinks, their bird pamphlet, which I recommend as it is easy to carry in your pack and focused on birds around the lodge area and any do dads from the gift store. Some places charge considerably more for a birding guide
The rooms were super comfortable, the ceiling fan powerful, the shower just right. Clean towels daily. We were in cabin 5 closest to the dining hall and I was prepared to be bombarded with kitchen noise, but it was never an issue. It was probably the least private on the campus, but again it wasn't an issue.
Dinners , served buffet style were good and plentiful. They accommodated our no meat request with something special for us every night.
The return transfer was again well organized and flawless. I felt the people at the lodge were really interested in accommodating our interests and how to improve the experience for everyone. They did an excellent job and I really loved the opportunity to see so much. Oh did I mention the pair of giant anteaters that crossed our path. Very rare sighting as I understand it. So much out there.

Room Tip: I suspect most people would like the rooms up the slope instead of where we were built over a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed for 4 days at the Sacha Lodge and had a great experience. You do have early starts and it is very humid but it is well worth it. Our guide was Louis a local man who was very knowledgeable and passionate about the rain forrest. He was ably assisted on the walks, canoe trips by another local called Segundo. He pointed out wildlife that any lay person would have walked straight passed without noticing, such as a scorpion and bird eating spider on a night walk.
We also spotted owls, Tamarind / Squirrel and Howler monkeys that would come crashing through the trees like a herd of elephants. The birdlife was a real treat and we saw a wide variety.
They also have a tree tower and a canopy walkway which is about 40m up in the trees, i am petrified of heights but actually managed to get to the top to survey the scene, altough i really did not like walking acros the suspended bits in between. You really do have to do it as this is where you see most of the birds / monkeys. You can also swim in the black lagoon with the pirhannas and crocs.
One of my favourite memories will be paddling across th lagoon with the mist rising to the sounds of the rain forrest.
A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was a privilege to stay at Sacha Lodge. After a boat ride down the Napo river and a short walk through the jungle you are transported t the lodge by canoe across a beautiful lake. It is quite a way to arrive! The rooms are comfortable and the food is very high quality and plentiful. Even the drinks are quite cheap considering the effort of getting them there.

But of course you are there for the wildlife. The guides were incredibly knowledgeable and we never had more than 6 people in a group. The guides spotted things that we would never have seen for ourselves and were incredibly patient with our frequent questions. The highlight has to be the canopy walk, although swimming in the lake knowing that there were piranha in there was a bit of a buzz.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The whole experience from start to finish was amazing. You have to keep a few things in mind: yes there are crazy looking spiders, yes you are going to sweat a lot, and yes they have you up at 5am most days. It was still worth it! We flew in from Quito and were met at the airport by the lodge staff. We were transferred by open air bus to a motor boat which brought us about 2 hours straight into the Amazon. Short hike and a canoe ride later, we made it to the lodge. The huts are set up such that 2 rooms share a single roof and every room has a deck overlooking the jungle. One wall is basically a screen wall. Each hut has a private bathroom with hot water at all times. You get a clean towel each day which you will use probably 3 times each day. There is a hammock on the back deck, but do not expect a whole lot of privacy as all of the huts are in a line and you have a clear view of your neighbors.

You will be put into groups depending on the length of your stay and the language you speak. Your team will have a naturalist guide and a local guide. One can imagine that this could be a good thing or a bad thing depending on who the other guests are that you are paired with. We were very lucky and had a wonderful group of very happy positive people. I must mention our guide, Daniel, who was fantastic. He could tell you about any plant or animal that we pointed to.

We were up between 5 and 6am every day. At first I thought that this was just mean, but in the end it was essential to avoid the heat of the day. We had a nice break in the middle of the day for swimming or resting at your choice. Each afternoon we had a second adventure. We climbed up a 30 meter cat walk, a 25 meter tree house, hiked right through the forest, and took lazy canoe rides. We saw monkeys, cayman, piranha, anaconda, biting ants, and more spiders than I want to remember! It was all good stuff.

The food exceeded my expectations. Remember how I started this? A motor boat, a hike, and a canoe ride? Everything we ate came in that way too. Fresh fruit, tea, coffee, full bar, pastries, 3 hot meals a day...and all tasty. Way to go guys!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sacha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacha Lodge

Address: Napo River, Coca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Coca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Coca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sacha Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-300 mts Long canopy walk.-45 mts wooden tower a round a kepok tree.-Buterfly Farm.-Visit to the yasuni parrot leak.-On the leake BBq dinning area.-Bird watching guides.-Bilingual guides English-French-German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Sacha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacha Hotel Coca
Sacha Lodge Ecuador/Coca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacha Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.