We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to really know the Amazonia and its people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia to your Saves list
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia
Isla Anaconda s/n, Ahuano Amazonia | Rio Napo y Arajuno, Tena 15-01-273, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best way to really know the Amazonia and its people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family and I were returning to Ecuador after living there a number of years and wanted our children to experience the Ecuador Amazon jungle. We wanted to find a place that they could have an authentic experience.

The Anaconda Lodge delivered all of that and move. It was beyond what we could have expected. Francisco and Silvia were outstanding hosts with wonderful caring hearts for the local people. We were not only able to experience the jungle, but learned so much about the culture and the wonderful people that the Quechuas are. Their staff rivals any 5 star hotel in terms of service and joy to have you stay there.

This was the highlight of our trip to Ecuador and our boys always talk about it. There isnt a day that goes by that my mind goes back to reflect on the time there. We want to return again to enjoy the beauty and wonderful place that Anaconda Lodge is.

The swimming pool which was the Napo river was unforgetable and a unique way to be truly refreshed.

Alex & Beth

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were here only 3 days and 2 nights, but the memories of our experiences will never fade. The lodge is on an island (Anaconda Island) coexisting and intertwined with the Kichwa Indians. The owners Francisco and Silvia are very proactive in providing economic opportunities for the Kichwa without taking advantage. We enjoyed being reliant on the Rio Napo for the only avenue for transportation and for natural beauty and recreation. The lodge's supporting cast of Orion, their beautiful black German Shepherd, Cesar the Naturalist and guide, the cooks and servers led by Silvia, who was filling in as head chef, the boatmen, groundskeepers, the housekeepers, and the Kichwa Shaman were all amazing and there to take care of every need and to enhance the experience. Francisco was very personable and accommodating.

In our short stay we enjoyed fine Ecuadorian meals, tubing on the river (which is very safe by the way), the clean and comfortable cabins, the outstanding lush landscaping all around the lodge, the noises of birds and wildlife from the jungle, the views of the Andes from the riverside, the other guests we met, political discussions with Francisco, playing with Orion, visiting a Kichwa museum with displays of ingenious traps, learning how to shoot a blow dart, visiting an indian home, being escorted to the most amazing butterfly farm across the river, and learning about plants and wildlife on the island. It rained hard one night and the sounds of the rain on the tin roof of the cabin was special. Suggestions: Bring a flashlight for each person in your party, strong bug repellant (was not an issue while we were there, not a mosquito problem around the cabins), and you can ask Silvia to group the tables together so you can enjoy meeting the other guests, if they are so inclined. We missed seeing a Kichwa dance and musical performance, but in 3 days you can't experience everything.

In short, if you want to escape cell phones, internet, and TV come here and enjoy the simple calm of this beautiful and fascinating island with gracious hosts.

Room Tip: They are all in the jungle so don't bother asking for one close to the river. It is not necessar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Our Dear friends from Texas...it was GREAT having you guys here at the Lodge.
Thank you very much (Ashka Pagrachu) for your beutiful review. Silvia and I made this Lodge with a lots of Love and we try to pass it on. The Native people here; Kichwas are wonderful people, they just whant to show the world that there is a beutiful place on the planet called "Amazon" and we are helping them in there struggle to stop the deforestation.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you back on the Island one day!
Best Regards from Anaconda Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am from Ecuador and I sometimes bring friends to see my country, visiting the Amazon is a must, we found Anaconda Lodge by mistake, as our cab driver told us about this place, not your regular hotel, but definitely a place you want to go if you want to get the real Amazon experienced. Francisco, the owner from the hotel immediately received us without reservation and showed us around this amazing place, small, I felt as if I came to someone's home instead of just another hotel. We fall in love with this lodge from the beginning, the quality of people starting from Francisco and Silvia who own the place and their staff is magnificent, full of knowledge of the area, and ready to make your stay the best. As an ecuadorian, I finally got the real taste of the jungle thanks to Anaconda Lodge and their staff .

Room Tip: Sleep in the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

my friend and I stayed there end of december for 3 days - well at the end it has been 4 days as my friend got sick and there was no way for her to travel to quito. the owners, francisco and silvia, were amazing!! they took such good care of my friend and me and what they say on their flyer "welcome to your home in the amazonas" is sooooo true!! you get there, will be warmly greeted and you feel like becoming family! the staff is amazing as well. what i thought was great, that the lodge isn't big like a resort but rather like a family home with excellent food, great guides, lovely warmhearted people, beautiful rooms, great mix of seeing nature and local culture - there's nothing more you can ask for! anaconda lodge - u do such a great job!!! we miss u - francisco, silvia and team :) the swiss girls - sylvie and alessandra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
For us meeting you girls was fantastic, we will always be here waiting for you both in "your home in the Ecuadorian Amazon!. Un beso Gigante para Amabas!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I just (1hour ago) got back from the Amazonas- AMAZING! I met Silvia and Francisco, the owners of Anaconda Lodge, literally on the canoe on my way to CasaDelSuizo where I was supposed to stay 3nights (this hotel had forgotten to pick me up, so Silvia and Francisco gave me a ride). Realizing that I got to a huge resort in the middle of the jungle, full of large tourist groups (not really what you want going to the jungle, right?), I decided to change lodge- best decision ever. I don't even know where to start: I felt at home at any time, I guess that was the most important thing to me. The hosts are amazing, the lodge itself is fabulous, clean and cozy rooms, very welcoming living room/reception, the food of chef Rodrigo great, the tours very well organized and with very kind and knowledgable guides. Anaconda lodge simply knows what client service means, combined with a spectacular location. You cannot miss out on this experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Propietario at Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Our Dear German Mexican friend, I think more mexican. It was marvolous metting you, what a great person you are.
The destination put us at the right time and the right place!
Thank you very much for visiting us, we will always be remembered in anaconda Lodge ecuador.
Pues orale wei, que te vaya de maravillas en Munich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany/uk/usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed with Francisco and Sylvia in Nov '12 and had a fantastic time. Its not deep jungle so set your expectations on how much wildlife you're going to see (very little really), but what it lacks in beasts and bugs it sure makes up for in other areas. The welcome is 1st class, its more integrated with the local culture and environment than most (e.g. the guides are locals, one of our trips involved seeing a local home, and a local music group came round to perform one night). A particular mention must go to the chef and his food, ever so slightly salty(!) but otherwise the best food we had in the whole of Ecuador by some margin, who'd have thought you'd find gourmet cooking in the jungle. We'd willingly go back and that's the key measure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I decided to spend three nights and four days at the Anaconda Lodge at the end of our trip in Ecuador...our only regret is that we could not stay for longer! We had such an amazing, relaxing and fun time. Francisco and Sylvia were wonderful hosts with big hearts and a genuine commitment to their local community. Their chef, Rodrigo, has an encyclopaedic knowledge of jungle food which he weaves into the dishes he serves...delicious! You can choose how you would like to spend your time there, wiling away hours on the hammock listening to the jungle, going for hikes with local indigenous guides who can teach you about the medicinal plants and culture of the area, visiting the local animal rescue centre, rafting down the river...as active and/or as relaxing as you like. I would recommend this place to friends, families, couples...everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia

Address: Isla Anaconda s/n, Ahuano Amazonia | Rio Napo y Arajuno, Tena 15-01-273, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to Anaconda Lodge Ecuador is to discover the nature, jungle, the world that was born on a sea of fresh water. Today, we want to show and tell all the adventures of a region that refuses to be changed.Native peoples with their beliefs, myths, legends and knowledge. Rainforests still present in all its forms, rivers flowing from the Andes are headed to the Atlantic Ocean loaded with sediments and tannins that irrigate these clay soils.Share with us experiences by visiting these awesome places, native houses, primary rainforest, jungle in constant evolution, and in daily conversations, discover how it was born the "lungs of the world", who were the ancestral groups that inhabited these parts as the Western men is changing.We are on an island in the midst of the mighty Napo River and its beautiful tributaries, we are in the jungle, we are returning into the past with modern comforts, with a varied cuisine that combines perfectly the traditional local and international dishes, an excellent bar, tours with native guides and many other activities.In other words, a cultural tourism on behalf of ecology, native peoples and in close contact with nature.Welcome to your home in the Ecuadorian Amazon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.