We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, OK stay, but a little weird” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Luna Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Terra Luna Lodge to your Saves list
Terra Luna Lodge
1 km from center of city, Tena, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice staff, OK stay, but a little weird”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there one night before going on a trip to Amazonas. We were maybe a bit unlucky, because we arrived late and it was pouring with rain. They didn't seem to have any other guest staying there, and it was located outside the centre so it felt a bit far out in a ghost town. If the weather had been nicer, I guess our whole experience would have been better as well, so not quite fair to blame that to the hotel. The staff was very nice, and the rooms were OK concidering that it is in Amazonas. If I were to go back to Tena, I would probably book the same place again. But then, I don't think we would ever go back to Tena, not a very nice place :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Every morning we woke to a symphony of birds. Terra Luna is a 5 star jungle lodge with the convenience of being a $2 cab ride from the supermarket in downtown Tena and a $1 cab ride from the only 5 star restaurant in Tena. I jogged every morning in the neighborhood inhaling the freshness, tranquility and safety of the area. Breakfast included fresh fruit, juice, eggs, ham, cheese and unlimited fresh brewed coffee (not instant). Our room was exceptionally clean with a porch and french doors that we opened each morning to listen to the birds. The pool was perfect each evening to enjoy cocktails and sooth sore muscles from the days hike/ walks. There are numerous outdoor comfortable places throughout the hotel grounds to enjoy reading a book, chatting or just appreciating the beauty of the spectacular gardens. The owner and staff are super attentive and go above and beyond in exceptional service. The owner of Terra Luna speaks very good english. He coordinated an unbelievable hike into the Amazon for us with a native who spoke fluent english. Terra Luna is truly a 5 star hotel at an affordable price. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Tucked behind the town of Tena in the jungle is a relaxing retreat called Terra Luna Lodge. Terra Luna comes with picturesque views, a swimming pool and fully stocked bar. Patricio and his staff were courteous, helpful and willing to go above and beyond. The rooms were beautifully designed with queen size bed, flatscreen, WIFI, and most importantly AC. Breakfast was delicious and included. I cannot wait to go back to the jungle and Terra Luna Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It is worth the taxi ride here. If you are going to want quite, comfortable , clean (newly built) with a swimming pool in a tropical garden then look no further than here. We left Tena town and "Case del Abuelo" (average and we were unimpressed) with red eyes from waking at night because of barking dogs and came down the back road to this lodge - very glad we did. What a great fine. New rooms, new beds, new towel and sheets all for $5 more than 'Abuelo's'. Oh, "Terra Luna" has A/C, wide screen TV and free WiFi in the rooms, hey, what is not to like? Well, Price includes breakfast. Strongly recommended. We give it a 4.5 for the price.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Luna Lodge

Address: 1 km from center of city, Tena, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TerraLuna Lodge - a different experience. We bring both relaxation and entertainment for your trip to the Amazon region of Ecuador. The exquisitely beautiful architecture of TerraLuna Lodge will relax you after a day of exploring the mystical wonder of the Amazon. Come, relax, play, swim, dine... TerraLuna brings it all to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Terra Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Luna Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.