We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Rainforest Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liana Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Liana Lodge
Save
You added Liana Lodge to your Saves list
Puerto Barantilla (Downstream), Tena, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Rainforest Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife, 9-yr old son and I recently spent 3 nights at Liana Lodge (Mar 21, 22, 23) and we take from that memories that will last a lifetime. When we arrived by motorized canoe, we were met by René, our very friendly host from Switzerland. After helping us up to the main building with our luggage, he started giving us the introductory information session when all of a sudden several monkeys decided to form their own welcoming committee. We had a great time watching them, especially one bold fellow who made himself comfortable at the lodge's bar. They made several more appearances at the lodge over the next few days during our stay and were always a source of entertainment. Our cabin was spacious and comfortable, but don't expect a sterile environment carved out of the rainforest spoiling you with every creature comfort. Rather expect a more authentic rainforest experience including finding the odd harmless creepy-crawly in your cabin. Looking back, these weren't so bad and have given us lots of stories to share with our friends and family. The meals at the lodge were excellent with lots of local flavours including plantain and yucca prepared in different ways. The excursions we took were top-notch. AmaZOOnico is doing great work to reintroduce animals back into the wild. Approximately one third of the animals are able to be set free after their rehabilitation there. They employ a wonderful volunteer force that is friendly and knowledgeable. Our next excursion involved meeting a local Kichwa family where we experienced watching the making of and tasting of chicha, which is a fermented drink made from yucca. We also learned how to shoot a blowgun (the highlight of our visit for our son) and were shown the foods that were growing in the surrounding forest, including cacao, papayas, bananas, pineapples, cherimoya, and yucca. No mono-crops here. Just highly sustainable, mixed, shade-grown crops. We also saw a wild caiman living wild in a nearby lagoon. The last excursion we took involved heading upriver to learn how to pan for gold and how to cast a fishing net. We didn't catch any fish but we did find some gold. Our guides were great and were able to work around the language barrier (for us English gringos) to get their points across. We had a lot of fun at Liana Lodge and met some other really nice guests and staff. Maybe the best thing was watching our son thoroughly enjoying himself in a natural setting without a TV, computer, or any other screens. Thanks for everything Liana Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our host, Rene, was very welcomming and friendly. He speaks english and german next to spanish, which is quite rare in Ecuador. He explained the history of the lodge and the projects they run to protect the rainforrest and the animals and to teach the local children in their school. All meals were included in our stay and they were very nice and abundant. The excursions were also included and we could choose whatever we wanted to do with our private guide. We explored the jungle, saw a wildlife rehabilitation centre, visited a family who made chicha, tested a blowgun and did some tubing all in one day. The cabins are very nice as well and give you the real jungle experience, combined with enough luxury like warm water. We would certenly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a month traveling through the different regions of Ecuador, three nights of which was spent at the Liana Lodge in the Ecuadorian Oriente. We can not say enough about the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable as well as provided a top notch dining experience. The food was excellent, with set meals including a fantastic soup, salad, main course with a meat and multiple sides and a dessert. Awesome blend of a classic European dishes prepared with Ecuadorian sides. Our guide was intelligent, interested and very easy to identify with. The cabins were perfectly simple. The project the Lodge is associated with, Viva Selva, is inspiring with its dedication to the salvation of the rainforests flora and fauna. The neighboring animal rescue sanctuary is just that, and not a zoo. On our initial canoe trip into the Lodge, we were accompanied by three different species of Macaws, all injured, one of whom, the largest and most beautiful was rushed in to surgery. The large dining area had beautiful views where you can watch the river and several monkey species enjoying themselves nearby. Definitely a great place to stay if you want to relax and enjoy the jungle while helping to support a great cause.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

You arrive by boat to the lodge, which has a characteristic main open dining and lounge area. Bedrooms are in cabins. The main area is lit with some electricity and candles. The cabins are lit with candles. The cabins were basic but everything was very clean and there was plenty of space for your belongings. Given that the jungle is very humid, the bed linen did not smell damp. There is lots of hot water. Set meals consisting of soup, main and a desert were not bad. Best to take a bag that you can carry on your shoulder or back as it's difficult to wheel a case to the river canoe and up to your cabin. Also take a lighter as the matches that were provided were much too damp to ignite. Also be aware that cabins are split into two rooms and each is open to the roof so your neighbours can hear everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is a nice getaway from the busy city life. You have no electricity or internet and the only sounds are the sounds of the jungle. Food is excellent and most of the tours they offer are really interesting. Also, a stay there is for a good cause, helping the indigenous people and local wild life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We really liked our stay in Liana Lodge !! The lodges are great ! The food is really good !! The tours are really interesting !! A walk in the jungle, the amazoonico, the visit of the island, a bird watch, and a swim in the river if the weather is great !! A good place for families or friends !!

The ecuadorian meals are really good !! The staff are really kind !! Staff is really careful concerning dietary restrictions and allergies !!!

A place to visit in ecuador

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverne, Ticino, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On my last visit in July 2012 I saw a family with a small kid of 8 years old. They spent 3 days and enjoyed two animations every day: balsa rafting, tubing, visit of an indigenous family, Rain Forest hiking, visit of amaZoonico the rescue centre for animals, gold washing, etc.
They were enthousiastic, ... and the kid too, worn out and happy. they asked me to pout this message for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liana Lodge

Address: Puerto Barantilla (Downstream), Tena, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Tena
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Liana Hotel Tena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.