We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place :-) ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The World's End

Save Saved
You added The World's End to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The World's End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ecton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place :-) ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from Ecton /Northamptonshire as we were staying for a motor racing event, and are really pleased we chose to stay at the Worlds End.

When we initially arrived we were checked into a room (18) which backs onto the main road at the front of the place, which was slightly noisy but I am sure we would have gotten used to it. However we didn't need to, as we had a quick word with the staff who moved us without any question to the 'car park' side of the hotel (room 6) which was far quieter and much more pleasant!

The rooms are nice, clean and tidy with smart decor, the only comment I would make would be maybe a slightly bigger tv? But not a big issue really!

We ate in the restaurant which was beautiful, myself and my partner had a fillet steak, both were cooked beautifully, very good food indeed! Lovely atmosphere and staff, and it was lovely to have a nice bottle of wine and be able to stumble back to our room and listen to the freezing cold November wind!

Breakfast was lovely this morning, cooked to order and done just how I asked for!


Lovely place, would definitely return / recommend, thanks for a lovely stay :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    20
    12
    11
See reviews for
18
44
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

A hidden gem in the Northamptonshire countryside. Excellent venue for all your needs, weddings, birthdays, business meetings, etc. rooms are clean, comfortable and very stylish.
The restaurant serves food of an incredibly high standard.
Award winning chef too!!
Great to just pop in for a drink and bar meal. Super garden for the children to play in. Plenty of outdoor seating for Summer use.
All in all, a very pleasant place with excellent service from the staff and management alike.
Worth a visit or treat yourself to an overnight stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for leaving us a positive review, we all work hard here to achieve the highest of standards and it is very satisfying when customers appreciate our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was not a good start, no one in reception, so I had to go looking for any/some staff to be able to check in. Eventually found someone in the kitchens! Wasn't much better tbh, I got a graceless unhelpful reception, did what they had to do, no more. This turned into a theme in fact, as when I later tried to contact reception, I got no response, despite letting the phone ring for a good 3 or 4 minutes! However, the upside was they have a new chef, who clearly knows what he's doing, our dinner and breakfast could not be faulted in any way. Our bed not so good I'm afraid, seen a bit too much action! The waitresses and breakfast staff were very friendly and fairly attentive, but front of house, is a different story altogether, they need reminding about customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service on reception when you checked in. There should always be someone present to check you in and I will reiterate this to my staff.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and restaurant service, we try hard to offer good quality food and service and one of our chefs was crowned winner of 'young chef of the year' at the Northamptonshire food and drink awards last week. We hope to see you back at The Worlds End soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went here for a family function and thought we would stay the night. The staff had been fairly helpful in setting up the surprise party, however, we went with three young children and there were no cots! They were particularly unhelpful when we asked for a cot and just said "no". We could have taken our own if we had known this in advance. In addition there were automatic doors....but they were not working when we visited, and trying to negotiate the steps, and very heavy doors with three children and several bags was very difficult, but no one offered to help me to the room. At least we had a hearty breakfast to look forward to, but even then the sausages were very undercooked and bacon limp.

Room Tip: We had a family room... 2 rooms with an interlinking door, which worked well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our experience with us. I am sorry you felt we were not very helpful with regard to the situation regarding a cot. We do not supply these and so could not help you with that. If you had mentioned upon booking that you were bringing a small child then you would have been advised that we do not supply cots.
There should have been people on hand to assist you to the room should you have required so please accept my apologies for not being offered that. I can confirm that the automatic door has been serviced and is in working order.
I hope your experience has not deterred you from giving us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Worlds End for one night and were very impressed. Its a lovely building in a quiet village with a large car park. There was a very warm welcome at reception and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The TV could have been larger but other than that we couldnt fault it. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant and both had steaks which were to die for! We'd definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review of your stay and meal with us. We strive to provide great quality food and service and it is always pleasing to hear guests comments. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

we held our wedding reception on the evening of our big day.

what can I say?!
from initially meeting Andrew and his team we were guided through how the evening would work. everything that was planned went fantastically well.

on arrival our guests were greeted with welcome drinks which were lovely. the buffet food was delicious and we have had a lot of compliments from our guests about the quality of the food not only on the evening but also of the lunch menu when they stayed over too.

all the bar and waiting staff were great on the night, joining in the dancing at times and always had a smile on their faces.

the whole evening was just perfect, the staff and venue made it just what we wanted to be very informal and for everybody to have fun.

we had a room ourselves which was very spacious and clean, there was plenty of space in the wardrobe and all toiletries provided in the bathroom. the breakfast was also very tasty, nice big full English with juices and cereal as options.

all our guests who either stayed for one or two nights have been very very happy with their stays.

on several occasions that we have visited the restaurant, we have always been highly impressed. whether it has been for an evening meal or sunday lunch the food is always delicious.

so pleased we chose the worlds end for our reception, a wonderful place all round and we will always have fond memories.

mr & mrs jones

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Jones

Thank you for sharing the experience of your wedding reception here with us. We strive to consistently exceed expectations. You were a pleasure to deal with and I would like to wish you all the best for your future together.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oirschot, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel was booked for us by a company in Northhampton as we were to visit them from abroad. We checked in at 6pm and check in was fast even tho it was quite crowded around the hotel restaurant and pub. Rooms were of decent size, bed was comfortable and all accessories in the room were perfectly fine. After the night's stay we had breakfast in the restaurant which was a tad limited choice but the food itself was excellent. Room was based on the A-road side but traffic did not bother us, the night was perfect. Only stayed one night, but as I'm asked to return next week to the same company I really am looking forward at staying at TWE again!

Only downside is the location, it's quite far from pretty much anything not considering houses, a church and a school.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWE2012, Owner at The World's End, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us here at TWE and hope to see you back here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World's End

Address: Main Street, Ecton, Northampton NN6 0QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Ecton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ecton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The World's End 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the village of Ecton, on the A4500 midway between Northampton and Wellingborough, this boutique-style residence provides comfortable, modern rooms, alongside great food, beers and wine. The modern rooms at the AA 4-star Worlds End feature LCD TVs, tea/coffee, broadband internet access, under-floor heating and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Take time to relax in the bar areas, or enjoy a meal in the contemporary restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The World's End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World`s End Hotel Northampton
Worlds End Northampton
Worlds End Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The World's End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.