We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside B&B

Riverside B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hulme End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside B&B
Save
You added Riverside B&B to your Saves list
Hulme End | Hartington, Hulme End SK17 0EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hulme End B&B and Inns
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A restful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned from two great days in the Peak District made all the better by an excellent host and a lovely setting. We can not fault the kindness and helpfulness of Roger, our host. Just what we needed and done with style, from the super breakfast to the local knowledge he did all that he could to make our trip relaxing.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a fantastic weekend here. The house is beautiful and the room we had was spotlessly clean and really cosy. We had a lovely en suite bathroom with a big whirlpool bath, which was a real treat on a cold winter's evening (or morning!).

Roger was a really friendly and helpful host who made us feel at home. He cooked a huge, delicious breakfast, made with mainly organic produce which kept us going all day and reccomended grat places to eat in the evenings.

Fantastic value for money and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Probably the best B&B in the world!

Spotlessly clean
Very friendly
Great breakfast
Quiet beautiful location
Pub in walking distance

We found this little gem on the web and booked a two night break to celebrate our birthdays.
Thank you for looking after us, Roger!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A weekend over 24/25th November with friends, the Peak District being approx. the mid-point between Lincoln and Wrexham. Despite the rain that had been pouring down over the days preceding this, we had an excellent time of relaxation and even managed a walk along the Manifold Trail when the sun came out on SUNday, although the river at the bottom of the garden was in full flow - by Monday morning it had subsided so that we only just see it from the 'breakfast room.' Our stay was excellent - the rooms, food and service from Roger just helped us to feel at home. Evening meals at local hostelries, from a wide menu, were very good and tasty !! The little touches of humanity from everyone we met and exemplified by Roger, made us sorry to leave but now determined to return on a longer stay in much better weather.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Riverside in September 2011 and embarassingly have only just got around to commenting (sorry Roger!). The B&B is lovely and Roger made us feel really welcome, pointing out where to eat and what to do whilst in the area. Roger also makes the finest breakfasts and Riverside would be worth staying at for that alone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Riverside for 2 nights, 30/31st October, as a base for a visit to the various caverns in and around Castleton. Having read other reviews on here I wondered if it would live up to my expectations. well, it exceeded them. We were in the Green Woodpecker room, which was spotlessly clean, and had lovely touches such as a tin of biscuits, some cards and games in the cupboard, and a corkscrew, which is something I always forget to pack.
Roger is a fantastic host - attentive but not intrusive, and is someone who clearly loves what he is doing, and takes great pride in doing it. The breakfasts were as wonderful as other reviewers have mentioned. We will definitely be back - at a warmer time of year to take advantage of the beautiful garden.
The location was great - very peaceful little village (although the road was closed nearby, so there was no through traffic. The Manifold inn was great for dinner, and the Peak area offers so much to do.

Room Tip: Green Woodpecker room has a massive (and very comfy) bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned home from a three night stay at Riverside and are very keen to write a review for this brilliant B&B. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tea, coffee and a little tin of biscuits which was restocked every day. Breakfast was superb with a wide range to choose from. The scrambled eggs were the best I have tasted, made even better by the fact that we could see the hens they came from from our breakfast table! The house is full of character and in a great location for exploring the peak district. Roger was a very helpful host a recommended some fantastic walks (and pubs). The nearby Manifold Inn is a short walk away and offers a great menu and range of beers. We cannot reccommend this place enough and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chaffinch room which was very satsfactory and has a jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Address: Hulme End | Hartington, Hulme End SK17 0EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Hulme End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hulme End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an unparalleled location on the banks ofthe River Manifold in Hulme End, near Hartington, our award winning B&B is the perfect location to enjoy a relaxing break in the stunning Peak District National Park. Everything you desire is to be found in this magical location that is Riverside B&B and is offered in abundance in a genuine friendly and efficient manner. The Riverside experience: once discovered, never forgotten. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.