We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside B&B

Riverside B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hulme End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside B&B
Save Saved
You added Riverside B&B to your Saves list
Hulme End | Hartington, Hulme End SK17 0EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hulme End B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Riverside B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Riverside in September 2011 and embarassingly have only just got around to commenting (sorry Roger!). The B&B is lovely and Roger made us feel really welcome, pointing out where to eat and what to do whilst in the area. Roger also makes the finest breakfasts and Riverside would be worth staying at for that alone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Riverside for 2 nights, 30/31st October, as a base for a visit to the various caverns in and around Castleton. Having read other reviews on here I wondered if it would live up to my expectations. well, it exceeded them. We were in the Green Woodpecker room, which was spotlessly clean, and had lovely touches such as a tin of biscuits, some cards and games in the cupboard, and a corkscrew, which is something I always forget to pack.
Roger is a fantastic host - attentive but not intrusive, and is someone who clearly loves what he is doing, and takes great pride in doing it. The breakfasts were as wonderful as other reviewers have mentioned. We will definitely be back - at a warmer time of year to take advantage of the beautiful garden.
The location was great - very peaceful little village (although the road was closed nearby, so there was no through traffic. The Manifold inn was great for dinner, and the Peak area offers so much to do.

Room Tip: Green Woodpecker room has a massive (and very comfy) bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned home from a three night stay at Riverside and are very keen to write a review for this brilliant B&B. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tea, coffee and a little tin of biscuits which was restocked every day. Breakfast was superb with a wide range to choose from. The scrambled eggs were the best I have tasted, made even better by the fact that we could see the hens they came from from our breakfast table! The house is full of character and in a great location for exploring the peak district. Roger was a very helpful host a recommended some fantastic walks (and pubs). The nearby Manifold Inn is a short walk away and offers a great menu and range of beers. We cannot reccommend this place enough and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chaffinch room which was very satsfactory and has a jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Riverside for 3 nights and it was a most pleasant and friendly experience. Roger is a host in a million so friendly and he always had a smile and a cheery manner. The room was immaculately clean and fresh.........and the breakfast was the best we ve had at any hotel or B&B, the eggs are from the chickens in the garden. Great location for walking or cycling the Manifold Trail too. Pure excellence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having chosen the Riverside due to it's close proximity to the Manifold Valley Folk Gathering (3 minutes walk), Dave and I were met by our marvellous host, Roger, and welcomed into his characterful (19th century?) home providing three double rooms, all with ensuite facilities. The rooms are pleasantly furnished and include modern T.V. and tea-making facilities.The hot water is instant and there are no uncomfortable noises from tanks, pipes etc. The floors don't creak and the beds are superbly comfortable with good duvets. The double-glazed windows are sash style and help towards a peaceful night's sleep. The hillside views from the breakfast room and one of the guest rooms are outstanding and the garden is full of flowers, hens and bird feeders complete with a wide variety of birds. Roger and Jane have thought of everything for the discerning guest and respond immediately to any request thrown at them. We stayed two nights and experienced the best breakfast on both mornings ever! The full English choice is perfectly cooked with quality organic products and eggs from their own hens and the cheese on toast (my choice on the second day) is scrummy. Roger is a great host with a great enthusiasm and friendly nature and although Jane is in the background, she showed her talent with super tasty jams and marmalades which complemented the home-made bread served each day.
I look forward to returning next year when the Folk Gathering, hopefully, takes place again. Thank you very much Roger and Jane.

Room Tip: ask for the double room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Riverside for 2 nights and it was excellent. Rog is a really friendly and accommodating host. The room was lovely overlooking the garden and river, breakfast was amazing. A great central location to stay in the Peak District with lots of walking nearby and a pub 2 minutes away. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked two nights at the riverside b&b in August to enjoy a little tranquility in and around the southern dales of the peak district. This b&b was located easily in Hume End just off the main street and there was parking available on site right next to the front door. We booked the Riverside as it comes highly recommended on Tripadvisor and our stay met the expectations set by the previous reviews. The room we stayed in was very well presented and provided two excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was cooked well and tasted great. Local produce is at the heart of the food at the Riverside and the eggs even came from their own hens! Roger was both a welcoming host and a very professional and swift front of house operator. The pub nearby (manifold) is worth checking out for food and drinks and there is an abundance of info available on local walks, wildlife etc. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Address: Hulme End | Hartington, Hulme End SK17 0EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Hulme End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hulme End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an unparalleled location on the banks ofthe River Manifold in Hulme End, near Hartington, our award winning B&B is the perfect location to enjoy a relaxing break in the stunning Peak District National Park. Everything you desire is to be found in this magical location that is Riverside B&B and is offered in abundance in a genuine friendly and efficient manner. The Riverside experience: once discovered, never forgotten. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.