We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft sands among the rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Forbans, Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Royale
Neve Ilan, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soft sands among the rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found the stay at the Allamnda very pleasant. For a small and intimate hotel we found a wide variety of food. The easy access to the beach was an added advantage. We were also able to get additional services such as car rental at the hotel - so the fact it was a bit far from other locations did not trouble us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice Locations, lovely rooms. Lots of room for improvement!.

Due to renovations taking place I cannot rate this hotel high at all. The noise from breakfast till night (yes till 8.30pm) while having dinner we heard the constant hammer noise. That was our experience and would seem that we are not the only people. The website states nothing, actually all looks perfect, not the case at all. More than half the foyer area was under construction. No lounge area, workers walking around, no privacy at pool area (decking dangerous at places) and sometimes on the beach as workers take their lunch there.

I booked this holiday to get a relaxing week away from home. My Agent in Seychelles -Masons travell - have now offered a choice to add Euro150 per night and to relocate me to another Hilton hotel. This will include a supplement of Euro90 per person for the relocation cost.

Do not book this hotel until renovations are done!

Unfortunately a set menu(not a single buffet as advertised) and food not always hot, well, 2 out of 3 nights dinners were cold and we have another 3 days left.

In the room we booked we have a coffee machine which requires the use of pods, these are not complimentary! I complained , as I woulds expect that coffee in rooms would be complimentary coffee in a 4* Hotel, I was told that I could purchase the Pods from reception. The night I raised my complaint with my local (country of residence) travel agent I suddenly received assistance from the hotel and received complimentary pods for the rest of our stay.

Please see SeasonedTraveller423 review as that needs to be an attachment to mine (thanks SeasonedTraveller423 (Just don't know why the 3 star rating as I can't see beyond a 1 and that's pushing it)). I am so disappointed in paradise.

Room Tip: For families, stay away. Nothing for kids under 16 unless swimming is all they want to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Allamanda Beach Resort And Spa, is a 4* resort, which is located at Anse Forbans, Mahe, South of capital city "Victoria", Seychelles. A warm and beautiful environment to enjoy your holiday.
The resort has a superb beach, a beautiful lagoon, and the ocean scenery from room terrace take your breathe away.
The rooms are beautifully organized and vivid.
Quality foods with good services is plus point of the hotel. The staffs are friendly, well mannered, cheerful and very nice.
The ocean view bar is quite small with comfortable lazy chairs provided. Palms restaurant is good sized place to eat with a la carte, set menu and buffet. The hotel is under construction and changing in to Double Tree by Hilton but it is 100% home away home place to all the travellers, those who wants to make their holiday a beautiful memories.
Its a beautiful holiday destiny for family, couples, singles and everyone to spend your holidays.

cheersss...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Potential to be a great hotel, but still very much under construction. Better to stay when it's been finished. We would not have stayed here if we had known the work was not completed.
Beach was beautiful, especially at low tide. Pool area was poorly maintained with some dangerous decking which was broken and sticking up, assume this will be fixed as part of the refurb.
At the time we visited the hotel, due to the construction work there was no restaurant open which means you pay extra for a set menu which has 2 choices of food only in the lobby area of the hotel and breakfast is very limited. However you still pay full price for this food. Food was grossly over seasoned and at times inedible because of this.
Still under construction was the spa, gym, restaurants, lobby and some rooms. We had been informed by our travel agent that the construction would be complete by end March, the hotel states around July time due to delays. Guests are still paying full rates for only half the amenities.

Room Tip: Only go if the work is completed and the staff are trained to the same level as the Hilton Northolme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just came back from Seychelles staying 5 nights. The hotel was beautiful and very nice. Even if there seems to be renovation work going on and some dust every where and was not informed when the booking was done. Food was quite good also. The only thing that spoil our holiday was the staff especially the night receptionist and security. Once we came from the famous night club Katiooloo and it was about 3 am. The door was locked at the entrance and no one on the reception. We had to walk to the car park and go to the security there and still no one at the security post. We had to find a way inside so we walked up a slope and ended up in the kitchen luckily we had a torch as it was very dark in side the kitchen but we managed to find our way out of the kitchen by following the EXIT sign which lead us into the restaurant and still dark there. We continued to go towards the lobby and we then heard snoring and just there close to the BAR was the security and the night receptionist both fast asleep and did not even hear us. So we went to the elevator and up to our rooms. The same situation happened again the next Saturday before our departure we went dancing again and when we got back earlier this time 1am same scenario and the same 2 guys where fast asleep in the same spot. But this time we made some noise and got the security up and he saw us and just same good night Sir. This clearly shows the safety and security of the guest in the evening at this hotel is not secure at all when you have both security and night receptionist sleeping and not knowing who is coming in and out of the hotel. As we left very early that Sunday at 6am and saw the night receptionist on the reception at least an apology he could have given us for last night to him acted as if nothing happened. I would not recommend for safety and security reasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You'll be wowed when you arrive enter this very classy small-scale resort. The infinity pool overlooks the sweeping bay and immediately transforms your whole outlook, regardless of whether you just paid $40 for a taxi or $0.45 for the bus. The hotel has three stories and every room has an amazing view. The room was very modern and chic. Oddly, there was a fancy expresso machine in the room with information on how to "order" the coffee. We just ignored it. Although we were told that the hotel was "full," there was hardly anyone around at any time. (Perhaps the hotel wasn't actually full.) This hotel is certainly geared toward rather well-off couples or all-adult families. There were really no "activities" per se and most of what you could do beyond the pool and the beach required paying extra - the kayaks that sat unused, the snorkeling gear, etc. That said, we were never bored. Between the pool and beautiful beach, we were satisfied. I've read previous reviews about the spa. We never even bothered. The prices were so unreasonable, it was hardly relaxing to contemplate them!

The breakfast was pretty good. It is a buffet of breads, fruit, American sugar cereals, etc. But, you can also ask for cooked-to-order eggs and French toast and such. We felt so taken by the high prices in general that we essentially gorged on breakfast so as to hold us over to dinner. We were never at the hotel at mid-day so I don't know about lunches. Dinners are themed buffets that all cost $40 plus 10 percent service charge plus 15 percent tax - per person. The restaurant was almost always empty. Unfortunately, the only other option, is a 10-15 minute walk north along the road which is VERY dark at night. We ended up buying our waters/fruit juices snacks across the street from the hotel at a small store vice at the hotel where prices were outrageous.

All that said, the hotel was a lovely, romantic escape from whatever it is you are escaping from. We loved our time there though we were obviously not the clientel normally sought by them. We had no regrets. We knew that the Seychelles are pricey!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nice mid-size hotel with ~30 rooms, located on the beach. We stayed 1 week in October, first few days there were very few guests and we were the only ones at the pool/beach. Last few days the hotel was pretty full. The overall prices in Seychelles are pretty high, about twice the prices compared to Asia, which is my favourite destination.

If you have small children who can't swim, then you have a problem - the beach is clean and nice, but there are waves on more windy days. The pool is also nice, but its 1,5m deep and there is no kids pool. So you better have kids swimming equipment with you. The sun goes down on the other side of the hotel and mountains, so after 4pm there is not much sun left and no sunset either.

The restaurant have decent food, it varies each nice based on different styles (European, BBQ, Sea food, local dishes etc). The breakfast is fine for few days, but it becomes a routine in a week. The hotel has a ocean view bar, which had live music on few nights. There is also a SPA, but it was unreasonably expensive for us, so skipped that.

Overall - Seychelles have nice nature and beaches, but the prices are way too expensive compared to Asia. If you really want to go there, then bring hefty credit card and book one of those top-notch resorts on small islands with helicopter charter - gets you unforgettable memories. If you travel on normal budget, then there are other destinations for better price/value ratio.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd or 3rd floor, gets better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa

Address: Anse Forbans, Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Royale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.